We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful!”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #85 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been to Vegas many times and thought I knew what I was doing. Luxor staff was very helpful with many things. Older place but clean and nice. Never knew that the hotel would take care of checking in at the airport for me. Also they let me check in early as I got there at 11:30 in the morning. This cost $20 but well worth it as I was traveling with my 90year old Mom. The steak house was ok but the people were nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb51Russell_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Barb51Russell_Pa,

Wow, thank you for your generous compliments! It is very rewarding to know that Luxor showed you an entirely new resort experience and has ultimately earned your loyalty as a result! We hope you can return again soon with your mother!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,115 - 14,121 of 31,456 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived late in the evening on a Friday, tired after a long journey, to find the hotel reception area very noisy from both rowdy guests and loud music. On check-in, we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor but the receptionist asked if we would prefer a higher floor. We said yes, but were then told there weren't any available!
We found our room right at the far end of the corridor, which initially pleased us because it was well removed from the noise. We went to seek out something quick to eat within the hotel but found everything very noisy. One restaurant in particular had a DJ playing urban/rap type dance music at deafening levels. We avoided it. On returning to our room, very tired, around midnight we were horrified to find we were right on the other side of the wall from the restaurant with the DJ. The floor of our room was actually vibrating with the bass/drum beats and the furniture was rattling. Hoping it would end soon we went to bed but after 3am it was still going strong and sleep was impossible.
Now seriously tired and disgruntled, we got dressed and headed down to reception to complain. Without any further ado we were moved to a room on the 5th floor of the east tower. This was fine and after re packing etc we finally got to sleep around 4am.
Next morning, Saturday, still feeling a bit out of sorts, we decided to chill by the pool, read and swim for a couple of hours. Alas, the pool area was absolutely crammed with people with no sunbeds available. There was a DJ playing music, again at deafening, distorted levels by the pool. The one swimming pool which was open was full of people standing smoking and drinking, leaving no room whatsoever for swimming. This, despite there being signs everywhere that drinks could not be taken within a certain distance of the pool. Another swimming pool (the one with the waterfall) was cordoned off and closed, while another was cordoned off and reserved for guests who were prepared to pay extra for the privilege. We headed back out and asked the pool attendant why the pool was closed and he said they didn't have enough lifeguards! Two life guards sat at the one open pool, despite the maximum depth only being 3.5 feet, but they did nothing whatsoever to enforce the pool rules. The waterfall pool never opened the whole week we stayed.
Things improved a bit when Monday came around because many of the weekend guests had presumably gone home. The music levels were turned down and there was room to get in the pool, although people still smoked and drank in it.
The hotel buffet restaurant was good and excellent value for breakfast / lunch / dinner, although there were often quite long queues and a seemingly over-complicated entrance procedure. Although our own check-in to the hotel had been reasonably quick we often noted very long queues at other times. The hotel also had some good restaurants and we particularly enjoyed our meal and wine in the steak/seafood restaurant.
Overall, the Luxor had some good features but the bad points were important ones and far outweigh the good. The first room we were allocated should, quite frankly, never, ever be let to anyone, and this had the effect of really spoiling the first couple of days of our holiday as we were over-tired.

Room Tip: If in the pyramid, get a high floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Charlie366,

We are upset to know you encountered several service shortfalls during your recent stay. Between noise disturbance and delays in assistance, we can surely understand your dissatisfaction. We hope you reach out to us at guestrelations@luxor.com so we can personally apologize and speak with you in further detail about your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Second time coming to Vegas - for Pool and Relaxation - and were a little concerned about the Pool atmosphere (Weren't sure what to expect and had heard negative reviews).

The Pool did not disappoint. You definitely have to get there on time if you want a good spot, but there were tons of people who saved chairs with their towels. It just gets packed mid-day.

We didn't spend the extra money on a cabana or anything but was still able to enjoy the music (which ironically was better on Monday than on Sunday). The environment was family friendly (yes there were adults drinking heavily) but everyone was well under control. It was not too MTV Spring Break/Club Rehab which is what we wanted to avoid (along with the prices)

Our only complaint was that the main pool doesn't open until 12 on the weekdays. We were especially surprised given it was a holiday weekend.

**TIP - Go to the far right pool and save a seat if you want to be next to the water, because it 100+ weather it's nice to be right there** And bring your sunscreen, when the sun reflects off the pyramid, it feels like your an ant under a magnifying glass**

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tbuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Tbuck12,

Thank you for sharing your detailed account of your poolside experience with us at Luxor. By the sound of your review, it appears you had a lovely time and were able to relax as you had wished. We strive to offer a range of options for our guests when venturing to the Pools, so we can accommodate each and every guests’ desires. Thank you for your considerate words, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a great time. Staff we encountered were very friendly, pyramid room clean and adequate. Possibly needs a wee bit of tlc, but all in all a great place to stay. The backstage deli is good if you only want coffee and toast for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear sandybee,

We are pleased to hear you discovered the immense value in selecting Luxor as your resort destination. Our staff will truly appreciate your kind recognition of their efforts! Backstage Deli is a delicious option for lunch, and per our guests’ request, we added an excellent breakfast menu. We're ready to satisfy every craving and help you start your day off right! We hope to host your next visit in Las Vegas.

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Despite having a Pyramid room booked months and months ago requesting the highest floor possible, all they could offer us was the 9th floor. I even played the "but it's my husbands special birthday" card but to no avail. Was offered the 19th floor in the Tower but we wanted a Pryamid room.

On entering the room we were not impressed. It just looked like any other hotel room but with a slopping window (which was extremely dirty) and some markings on the wardrobe. (This was our 9th accommodation on this trip and had had better rooms). Agree with other TA members that a fridge would have been a plus. We were woken by the neighbours showering at 4.30 in the morning.

I don't like waste in hotels (or at home) and can never understand why they take your soap away and replace it with a new one when it's still perfectly good to use!! We were also left a bath mat that had suspicious stains on.

I would just say the lady who served us at check out was very nice.

For anyone returning an Avis hire car to this hotel, good luck!! Signage was none existent and we had to park in the self park and go into the hotel to ask and the guy in the desk was not very "friendly".

All in all we enjoyed our experience but would not recommend the Luxor.

Room Tip: You get what you are given, special requests are ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear lovebug,

We are glad to see you enjoyed your overall experience, and were extended helpful service at the Front Desk. It is most unfortunate that we were unable to fulfill your particular accommodation request during your stay. Guest preferences are extremely important to us. However, we are regrettably bound by the limits of our prevailing room inventory. We will utilize your constructive comments to continue to improve the guest experience and our overall offerings.

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed for a week at end of May and was really pleased with the hotel nice rooms and great value for money . Great bars and good choice of food venues available only down side was location as at end of the strip .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildSide1990s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear WildSide 1990s.

It is such a pleasure to know you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our food and beverage options definitely cater to a wide range of taste buds, and we are glad to see you enjoyed them. Please let our staff know if you’d like to explore our transportation options during your next stay. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My sister, daughter & I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Luxor and it was wonderful!
The room was compted so we thought we would be in the tower. I happened mention to the lady that we had never stayed in the pyramid. She not only found us room there, but got us close to the elevator!! She treated us great........
I bought the all day buffet pass and it was well worth the $35.99. I was able to get coffee and fresh fruit all day. The food was good buffet style, not great but good. The service was good and the buffet was very clean.
The room was perfect, loved the decor, the beds very comfortable.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Lorraine T,

It is a true pleasure to hear how wonderful your Memorial Day weekend was with your sister and daughter! Our staff is constantly striving to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and it is very rewarding to see that we achieved our goal during your visit. The Buffet promotion is an excellent deal and we are happy to see you thoroughly enjoyed it. We cannot wait to warmly welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Kimberly M.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
MGM Grand Hotel and Casino
#81 of 264 in Las Vegas
19,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $66 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing