We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleazy best describes this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxor Hotel & Casino
Ranked #86 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from a tailor made holiday booked with Kuoni. We visited New York, Hawaii and Las Vegas. Have been to all these places before. New York and Hawaii hotels were very good, but The Luxor was below standard. Hotel reception staff unfriendly compared to NYC and Hawaii were all the service industry staff are fabulous. We got to our rooms (party of 4) arriving late evening to find that the rooms were unclean, very dusty, no tea making facilities and generally in need of updating. They were supposed to be pyramid deluxe! After complaining we were upgraded to better rooms were the bathroom floor looked filthy. We were told they were burn marks on the floor. We were not surprised looking at the average client staying at this hotel. It is in the tackiest part of Las Vegas. Also works were being carried out in one of the hotel thoroughfares and it is the first time I have ever not seen a work area cordoned off. Suggest you stay at The Venetian which is a lovely hotel and worth the additional costs. We took a cab straight to the Venetian and spent the day there. Luckily we were only staying two nights. Not being snobbish but when the website advertises it as 'Getting your lux on' and the do not disturb sign on the room states 'do not disturb as busy luxing' this says it all. One to avoid I assure you.

Room Tip: Pyramid deluxe rooms are horrid, corridor areas shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HertsDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hello HertsDebbie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations and invite you to contact us at guestrelations@luxor.com to discuss your stay in more detail. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,802 - 16,808 of 31,923 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We live in Las Vegas and always wanted to stay at the Luxor pyramid. It was fabulous - rooms very clean - staff very nice. Even the soap is a small pyramid. They have several pools - limited shade. We had a turkey club sandwich poolside which was great and our waitress, Nicole Atkins, was an absolute GEM. Would definitely go back - a very fun property.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 9th floor in the pyramid - you can see almost the entire inside of the pyramid for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi LVRoadWarrior!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your room and found our staff friendly! Many of our guests enjoy the pools and we are happy to know that you were able to take advantage of them during your stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great venue! Not overly crowded. Close to airport. Great beds and bedding. Love the resort theme / layout. Under renovations in the gaming area right now which might mean less choice for preference. T&T restaurant great as well as the Deli. Public House not such a success. Might have been time of evening? Would like for the Pyramid Cafe to have been open in the evenings.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the upgrade fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Trish T!

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Many of our guests enjoy the different dining options at the hotel and we are happy that you had great experiences at T&T (Tacos & Tequila) and the Backstage Deli. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve and provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

All ways treated good, when I stay here.
And the pool is the best when it comes to just relaxing. Also the housekeeping is the best. When I needed extra towels They were there in no time flat.The shops are OK. I like the 10.00 store the best.



Room Tip: Just relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzbadazzkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi mzbadazzkitty!

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff! The pools are popular with our guests and we are happy that you were able to relax by them during your recent stay. Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had read pretty much every review about the Luxor and I was slightly worried before arriving. However, after a quick check in and friendly greeting my worries were put to rest. The staff were helpful and gave clear directions to the correct lift that we needed to get to our room. Yes the layout is slightly confusing but anybody with half a brain and eyes can figure it after a few laps around the hotel.

The decor is tacky but you're in Vegas so it's to be expected and I loved it. The sheer size of the hotel is overwhelming and there is so much to look at. All areas seemed cleaned and well looked after. They are in the process of renovating some of the gaming areas but there is no extra noise or mess from this. The only thing that started to get on my nerves was the coconut scent they pumped into the hotel. A first it is pleasant but by the end of our stay made me gag.

We stayed on the 17th floor of the pyramid and the room was fine. It was in theme with the rest of the hotel. more importantly it was clean and a good size. There were two double beds, a small table with chairs, vanity, mirror and large tv. There is also a safe situated in the wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. The windows slant due to the pyramid so be prepared to knock your head a few times like we did. The bathroom was a good size with large shower. Everything the bathroom looked clean and well maintained. Yes the hall ways,carpets etc could do with a face lift but you're in Vegas to have fun not critique decor!!!

The hotel is huge and you can access both the Excalibur and Mandalay bay hotels either on foot or using the free monorails. From these hotels you have easy access to New York New York and MGM grand. There is a large food court, plenty of coffee places, burger bars etc for cheaper eating options. The more buffet is a good price if you are looking to spend less money on food. You can get a pass for unlimited use all day for $35 per person. The food is nice and there is plenty of choice. Have no idea why people moan about the quality of food. The few nights we ate there they had large crab legs, prawns, sushi etc on offer.

The pool area was nice and large with plenty of beds however due to the heat it was near impossible to sit out with out shade so we found some grass around the back which was shaded by the tree and we payed our towels out there. Some of the pools were closed for some reason even though there were plenty of life guards. His knows why they had so many as the water was 3 foot deep!!!

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family as it was good value for money. Yes it is at the fa south end of the trip but it is easy enough to get around.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jhill_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi jhill_1985!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff helpful and your room spacious during your stay! Many of our guests find the different dining options at the hotel convenient and we are happy that you enjoyed them. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Luxor but visited quite a few of the other hotels/casinos in LV. It did not compare favorably. First, the hotel placed us in a non-smoking room that had obviously been smoked in. Aside from the stench, the empty cigarette pack in the trash can was kind of a clue. Seriously. So, if they hadn't emptied the trash, what else hadn't been taken care of or cleaned since the last guest? The lobby casino was a dead zone compared to other hotels and pretty shabby. Riding in an elevator with an apparent prostitute and her john was kind of surprising given the number of families staying on the property. That was a special experience for my wife and two teens. No WIFI in the rooms at all but the front desk explained at check-in that WIFI was available in the lobby. Turned out that WIFI was only available in one little cafe tucked in a corner across the casino floor from the front desk and elevators. That was it for the entire complex. I don't know how parking compares to the other hotels but at the Luxor we had to park the equivalent of ~3 city blocks from the lobby. Once you park, you can readily just walk the strip, but this would also be true of any of the other strip hotels. Next time, we'll stay elsewhere. The neighboring Mandalay Bay and Excalibur both looked much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello sbinkc,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations and invite you to contact us at guestrelations@luxor.com to discuss your experience in more detail. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've been to Vegas before and were really excited to go back for New Year. Let's be honest- it doesn't matter where you stay as you don't spend a lot of time in your room! The Luxor makes a great first impression- the exterior and lobby are beautiful. The hotel has good facilities and is connected to the Excalibur and Mandalay Bay. The rooms were slightly old fashioned and worn down but are clean and have everything you need. We stayed in the pyramid and had good views of the excalibur.
As I said you don't spend much time in your room and we saw just about everything during our stay. Worth seeing near the hotel is the Shark reef at Mandalay bay, Tournament of Kings at Excalibur and The New York New York is worth a walk around as it's a great themed casino and hotel. The Luxor is quite a walk about from the monorail but if you want to see down the opposite end of the Strip, it's well worth taking a day pass down to Harrahs. Down this end of the strip you'll find Ceaser's Palace and Forum shops; The Bellagio, the fountains are a must see; The Venetian, a gondola ride is worth the money; The Miarge, where you will see the Volcano shows at night and the Secret Garden wild life Habitat; Treasure Island and much more.
Food in the Luxor was good value. We ate the buffet breakfast there twice and found it served a good selection. We only ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times- once in the Public House and once in Tacos and Tequila. Both served good food and drinks and service was good. We also saw the Chris Angel 'Believe' show which I have to say was a bit disappointing. A lot of 'distraction' techniques and a lot of talking and not enough action. Not like his street magic.
For eating out of the hotel I would recommend the Rainforest Cafe in MGM and The Eifel Tower restaurant at Paris LV (expensive but worth it- THE best food I've ever eaten!). As for the famous buffet breakfasts it has to be Caesar's Palace. We went there on NY day for a champagne brunch and it was well worth the money. We were a bit disappointed in the Bellagio's buffet breakfast- service was poor and food quality was no better than the Luxor considering the extra cost and how long we queued! The paris buffet had a nice atmosphere and good selection of food but I'm not sure it's good value for money.
Las Vegas is a must see place and we were pretty pleased with our choice of hotel for it's facilities and good value overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esme458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi Esme458!

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review with us. We are honored that you chose to celebrate the New Year with us! We are thrilled to see that you had a great experience and enjoyed the different dining options at the hotel! Many of our guests find the walkways connecting to Excalibur and Mandalay Bay convenient and we are happy that you could agree. Again, we appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#108 of 265 in Las Vegas
4,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Hotel & Casino

Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $77 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Vegas.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxor Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing