We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guy trip at Luxor”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #79 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sachse, Texas, Usa
1 review
“Guy trip at Luxor”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good place to stay overall. Travel agency missed up room reservations but front desk lady was very helpful in fixing. Upgraded to a bigger suite (that was nice) but didn't feel hotel upgraded service level

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,334
    10,286
    6,303
    2,477
    1,582
See reviews for
5,881
11,461
1,358
2,804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Tower Luxury Suite East Tower Review(along with hotel)

We had a Pyramind Suite booked and paid for but tried to upgrade on arrival. I openly tipped the girl $20 to help me with the upgrade and she audibly laughed when she saw it which was rude because I said I wanted to find out how MUCH an upgrade would be because(I wanted to go from the lowest room to the highest so knew it wouldn't be done for free). When I paid for the upgrade in the end she handed back the $20 and to the end of the check in she eyeballed the $20 as though I was going to give it back to her. After paying $$s to upgrade and her laugh at the $20 I was keeping that for myself.

We were given a Tower Suite on the East Tower on the 5th and were disappointed with the view, the floor and it's location. We didn't get the promised floor to ceiling windows(as promised on the website and by the check in assistant) and got a view of a sort of wall/perch above where the taxi's queue for the pyramid side. If you stood on the couch and stretched on your toes you could see the top of the MGM or Excalibur in the distance. Hardly worth upgrading to a strip view suite when you cannot see much other than a wall. The room itself was nicely appointed with an amazingly comfortable King Bed and great air con. The bathroom had a double sink, tub and shower. My wife didn't like the shower because it was far too powerful so the only way to keep it at a warm to hot temperature is to have the pressure really high. It didn't bother me to be honest and I would have described it a great shower. The toilet was weird in the sense that it sucks like an airplane toilet. The living area has a large flat screen, couch, single chair, coffee table, wet bar, fridge(empty), table and 2 chairs along with a Coffee Pot. It is Wolfgang puck Coffee and you get two reg and two decaf per maid service. Towels, I counted 22 towels in the rooms between the wet bar and the bathroom. Overkill one would think. There were 6 lifts in our tower and they were extremely quick so getting put anywhere above floor 5 would be a good suggestion. It goes up to 20. I noticed that along the corridor to the east wing from the casino/reception there were a few bedroom doors so if there were about 2000 people in the tower rooms then all those people are passing your door. DO NOT get a ground floor room basically unless you plan on drinking yourself to sleep.

I marked the Cleanliness low because the housekeeping for our room was not great. The floor was certainly not vacuumed during our 4 night stay and the replenishment of Coffee and Toiletteries was sporadic.

We didn't eat in the Buffet or any of the restaurants. We visited the food court upstairs which was fine and functional.

I was very annoyed when we arrived to check in. We came in the door and somebody with a Luxor namebadge asked "Are you staying for more than one night" and proceeded to drag us over to an events counter. After an 11 hour flight I asked directly if this was check in and he faffed around the answer stil trying to sell things with each answer. There was a large queue forming at the real checkin and he put us at least 5 people behind. I was quite annoyed that on arrival with large suitcases the hotel would try to con us into a fake check in desk(saying "he will bring you to checkin in a minute") to try to sell us anything and everything. The hotel evens leaves voicemails on your room phone trying to upsell products and services and has about 5 TV channels as well. The TV Channels I didn't mind because I could read them without somebody trying to force me into a purchase.

Getting to and from the Strip can be a nuisance. The Deuce or SDX bus does not stop at the hotel in either direction(goes up and down the strip to Freemount and the Outlet). The Monorail does not stop going to the hotel either. You have to get it from the Excalibur to the Mandalay bay and then get one back. Stupid really but sometimes when you are just sick of walking it is the only way.

We choose the Luxor because (1) our travel agent suggested it and (2) my father had stayed there but would I stay there again? No I would not and ONLY because of it's location on the strip. For comparable price and rooms I suppose the Flamingo would be suitable so might consider that next time unless I splash out and stay in the Aria and Cosmopolitan which looked amazing. Mandalay Bay is further down but the Luxor is far enough. People say "bring your walking shoes" when they tell you about Vegas and they are correct. You might look at a map and see a location one block away or so but walking directly is not an option. The sidewalk might go straight to a certain extent but then left right up a stairs around a corner down a stairs and you are stil only a few steps further than you were. It's all very annoying really. Some junctions you can cross at and others you must walk and walk and walk to get to an overhead crosswalk. Some junctions force you up a stairs and through a shopping mall before you can get back out on the strip down the stairs to continue your journey so if you stay in the Luxor and consider walking bear this in mind.

Room Tip: Tower, High Floor, West Tower(Strip), East Tower(pool, freeway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Luxor is well located as the focus of the strip moves southward. The inclinators are unique to this hotel and take a moment to get used to. The hotel is unique and the view on the inside is just as interesting as the outside. However, some of the areas need refurbishment as they are not to the MGM Resorts standards of their other properties. Rooms on the west side in the afternoon, where ours was got very warm even with the air conditioning set to its maximum level. Overall it is a nice property but not a great one in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's a mini-city inside (much like many other casinos of course). The food selection is somewhat limited - only compared to some other hotels in Vegas. You'd get bored with the few restaurants if you are staying longer than just a few days.
The rooma are nice and clean, and the "tower" part of the hotel has newer renovated rooms, as well as bathtubs (if you're into soaking). The "pyramid" part of the hotel has rooms with just a shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasha_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, FL
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sadly disappointed that I chose this as my hotel for my very first-ever trip to Vegas. The place is a strange mixture of super-cool and spectacular mixed in with decay and decline. The place is in SERIOUS need of a face lift, beginning with the (alleged) A/C system. It is air conditioning in name only. In truth, it is a noise box that cools about 1/5th of your room - the fifth that you rarely occupy. Complained to the desk about it and got a very snooty sort of response from the check-in manager, who I found to be rude, uncaring and condescending to this obvious NON-high roller. The buffet was pathetic - I've had better at Golden Corral. The non-optional resort fee is a ripoff, the parking is a block away, the odds/payouts at the casino are criminally tight, and if you aren't waving $100 bills around all over the place I felt they just considered you a nuisance. It has so much promise, and with some TLC, some capitol investment and some attitude adjustment it could be a great resort, but as it is, I found myself deeply regretting my choice and second-guessing the management capabilities of MGM, the parent company. Obviously would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

While I would have loved to stayed at a more luxurious hotel on the Strip, my budget didn't allow for that. We went for a girls trip, and got a great deal. I thought it ended up being a great location. Rooms were standard, no complaints. I did find it a little hard to navigate, and walked all over the place. But that's Vegas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I came to vegas with my fiancee to celebrate his birthday and we had a great time visiting the Luxor. The staff was great, the hotel was clean,the casino was clean and I love the walkways to visit the Excalibur and to Mandalay Shops. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,230 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#46 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Property: Luxor Las Vegas
Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing