We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, but nothing exciting”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #81 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Luxor. Check-in was very slow. The rooms were clean, but the decor is lacking compared to other hotels on the strip. The location is quite far from most of the excitement. The best things about the hotel was the breakfast in the pyramid cafe, attentiveness of staff, and convenience of the walk ways to neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chamilton402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30,601)
There are newer reviews for Luxor Las Vegas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18,532 - 18,538 of 30,609 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

6 years ago I thought this place was amazing.

6 years on and its looking tired. The walkway from the lift entrance/exit to the floors seem to lean. The walkways along the room corridors seem to lean. In the room itself the fixtures and fittings have aged while a huge flat screen TV has replaced the CRT. Room had aircon, but no fridge. The bathroom shower had a slight leak and the fluorescent tube had a bit of a strobe effect. Internet was available at a charge.

The good points were comfortable beds, no noise, the 2 free drinks vouchers in the booklet they give you on check-in. It’s quieter down at the southern end of the strip. The SDX or Deuce bus stops were across the road from the entrance, so travelling up and down the strip was quicker than walking, and good value for money with the 24 hour or 3 day pass. As the Luxor is one of the closest to the airport the transfers usually drop off first/pick up last. Executive Las Vegas seemed the cheapest @ $6:00 per person per trip.

Newer hotels have popped up around the Bellagio, and seem to have more to offer, while there are new shopping malls around Treasure Island.

If you can get a good rate at the Luxor it’s probably value for money, if you want glitz and glamour then it may not be for you.

Room Tip: South facing to see Manadalay Bay
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripperhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the Luxor for 3 days as a base and had a deluxe king room overlooking the airport. The room was clean but well worn, still for the money we weren't complaining. At the south end of the strip and linked to Excalibur and from there onto the strip it is a great location. Themed throughout which was interesting. Given free tickets to the Carrot Top show when we said we were kiwis. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room overlooked the airport which was interesting. All rooms seemed quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Launa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved the room, the room was large and roomy, beds were comfortable loved the fact that I could sit in the jacuzzi tub and look out over Las Vegas. When we arrived at the hotel we were told we were going to be upgraded to the Tower which my husband declined, he wanted us to experience the Pyramid's unique elevator and the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the west tower for a quick weekend getaway. Check in was very quick and we were given a room with a king bed. The room was great and clean. We had a safe in our room which we were thankful for. The pillows were really lumpy though. The floor did smell of smoke, but it doesnt really bother me. Everyone we talked to the worked at the casino were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is not the best location on the strip, but its right down from MGM where you can grab the monorail and travel up and down the strip. The spa at Luxor gives some of the best massages I have ever had. And they give out door prizes in the sports book for Monday night football. Food is somewhat pricey but what do expect. I recommend making the trek to Walgreens for Sodas or any other sundry items you need.

Room Tip: Stay in the towers there is less smoke and the rooms are newer. The pyramid rooms are directly above...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First off, I cant believe some of the reviews "needs some work, blah blah blah". I can only assume this is from people who want to pay as little as possible yet want the Bellagio! The hotel does not need ant work at all, it is fine as it is. For the record, myself personally, if I could have got the Bellagio for the same price as the Luxor, I would still choose the Luxor. This is down to personal choice because the Bellagio and the surounding area are just so busy that you cant walk anywhere without being barges around. The luxor and its vicinity is relatively quiet compared to centre strip. The hotel itself was great. Rooms were clean, pool was amazing, staff were very helpful and the food was great (except the all day buffet, the food was garbage, very greasy etc and would suggest avoiding it, its not even great value for money). I tried the $20 dollar trick, got a free room upgrade and the receptionist even gave me my $20 back! Waitresses were great whilst playing the slots, would bring you cocktails, wine or botles of bud for $1, which beats paying $7+ at the bar! Great location too at the south end of the strip. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights in a king tower room. Room was clean and modern with a tub and shower. Very quiet. check in was quick and easy at around 9:00pm. Parking is free but is a hike to the room. Valet is available. We had a great rate at around $50/ night plus $18/ night "resort fee".We were on our way to Bryce and Zion canyons so we used Las Vagas as a jumping off point. As some other have said the hotel is at the south end of the strip. Buffet at the hotel is ok but more cafeteria than upscale. For the price this was a great place to start a western vacation.

Room Tip: In our experience the tower rooms are more modern and are at the quiet part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scpenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,638 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $76 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelPower, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing