We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #70 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a decent budget hotel. Expect expensive amenity fees and pricey bars and restaurants. As a few previous reviewers have said you get what you pay for. Room was ok, old furnishings bathroom was big. Housekeeping called very early in the mornings during my stay. Hotel is quite a long walk to the end of the strip. Cocktail service in the casino was excellent just make sure to tip the waitress and you can drink for free all night. Nothing special about the hotel I was happy with the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,021
    9,897
    6,036
    2,398
    1,511
See reviews for
5,623
11,037
1,314
2,696
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just got back from another trip to Vegas and another stay at the Luxor. I usually go to Vegas at least once a year and have always stayed at Luxor. Probably going on 15 years now. It's close to the airport, south strip so not in the middle of all the noise, crowds, hustle and hub-bub. A beautifully designed and unique hotel. I really like the "open pyramid" soaring to the top of the 30th floor. Pretty neat to see guests walking along the different floor levels while looking up.

I flew on an early morning non-stop flight from Baltimore and arrived in Vegas @ 9:45am. Short and cheap taxi ride to the hotel. Greeted and was offered to hold bags but declined. Check in time is stated as 3pm but sometimes and I do mean sometimes if you ask, they do have a room ready. Otherwise, just check your bag, grab a bite to eat and check back @ 11am. I approached a front desk gentleman who looked as if he was a supervisor and nicely asked if a room was ready but he seemed put out by the question and was somewhat dismissive. He told that they were sold out the night before but I found that kind of strange since there were only a handful of guests even in line to check out. No biggie, I checked my bad and grabbed a bite to eat in the Pyramid Cafe, my favorite! Place wasn't that busy and had a hard time getting waited on. Lady in botth beside us started complaining out loud. Waitress apologized, took out order and even brought us each a free bowl of soup while we waited for our sandwiches. Food was great!

Got the room @ 11am. Check-in was fast, easy, friendly, and they honored our request for a higher floor looking out the front. Room was neat, clean and a little more updated in decor since last year. Nice big flat screen tv, new desk furniture. Beds/mattresses were out of this world comfortable!!!!! Slept like a baby each night. The weekend in Vegas was noisy, busy, crude (spring break kiddies drunk and loud everywhere...), Nascar junkies in town also. I swear I will NEVER stay on a Saturday night ever again. Just too nasty....There must have been a contest for the "worst behavior by a human being" going on that weekend. Anyway, live and learn. Stayed for 3 nights, a short trip to celebrate my friends birthday. Had 6th row center tickets to see Celine Dion on March 11th but she had cancelled all of her shows until June due to throat problems. Attended the Daniel Tosh show @ Mirage.

I love staying at Luxor. I really feel like it's home to me having stayed there so many years in a row. It is nice, quiet, beautifully designed, and usually always a pleasant stay. Got a great promo rate, had a great time. The only suggestion I would like to make is if you like to play slots, the Luxor like many other casinos seems to get rid of more of them each year....so finding ones that we liked to play was a bit frustrating. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Sign up for their email promotions. Sometimes, standard rooms can go as little as $25 per weekday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtsnowman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was average if you are not trying to stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel. We stayed in the Pyramid Deluxe rooms and the elevators to get to the floors for this section are very weird. We were all sick by the time we made it to the 8th floor. The elevators lean to the right while going up. The beds were pretty good but the pillows on the beds in the room were the best I have ever slept on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmiejam53s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was my first stay in Vegas. I had heard through friends that Luxor was a great pick. However, I was disappointed. The room wasn't fashionably decorated; I see where they TRIED, but lacked the Egyptian vibe that I was looking for. The room was old looking--old carpet, furniture and fixtures. The bathroom was average; although there where no shelves in the shower. The airconidtioner knobs were broken, so it was hard to tell what the settings where--so it was either way too stuffy or way too cold in our room. Our room was on the second floor, right next to the casino, so it was noisey all night long...and of course NO view. There was supposed to be internet--but there wasn't. We had friends who were staying in MGM and compared to their room, I felt like we were staying at The Travelodge. I would have rather had stayed mid-strip, because it's a FAR walk to get anywhere. If you have the extra money, stay somewhere else! Lesson learned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smyers516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The luxor room was clean, and I thought the Egyptian theme of the hotel was pretty cool but overall I think there are so many other awesome hotels on the strip that offer so much more. The casino at the luxor is smokey and seems trashy and cheap. One day there was a half naked girl dancing on a table at like noon... Not cool if you are traveling with kids. There is also no sitting place at the lobby although I noticed this was a recurring thing in most Vegas hotels. That being said the hotel was cheap and would be good for someone on a budget. It also had some cool exhibitions upstairs. I absolutely loved Vegas. I would suggest the Mandalay Bay! It has the coolest pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed in the Luxor for a convention at the nearby Mandalay Bay. When I arrived at the hotel there was quite a long queue to check in but this moved quickly and check in itself was quick and friendly.

The room was fine for my need, had a little trouble finding the cable for the internet but once I had the download speed was reasonable. Beds were comfy and the bathroom has a good shower. I would say the furnishings and decor of the room makes it look a bit dark so you need a light on most of the time.

Overall the hotel was fine for my visit, staff were friendly and the price I paid was very reasonable. The casino was fun and the dining options plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munkey_Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

First, recognize what you're paying for. It's one of the cheapest options on the strip for a reason.

First, the rooms. The rooms in the pyramid are not that great. I've stayed near the mid level and was not too
Impressed. The decor is old. The bathrooms were not really cleaned well and the slanted windows don't help the view. Plus the automatic window washer slamming on the glass at 9 am isn't thrilling. Instead, spring for the tower deluxe rooms. Much cleaner, nicer, newer and more traditional in room size. Not quite perfect but it does have a bath and shower with better views.

The service is very poor. They really do not aim to impress thousands of guests each day mainly because they know the cheap price allows them to get away with it. The towers staff are much friendlier and less busy. House keeping isn't as clean as most, they have a tendency to come around at 9 am when most people are sleeping but they do accomplish a decent turndown service.

Casino concerns. Look it's Vegas. Be realistic. It will be smokey, it will be grimy and dirty, Its what you can expect with free drinks and 20,000 people rolling through each day. It's certainly not as smokey as the Excalibur but it's not nearly as clean as the Aria. Like I've stated before, it's about cost. Excalibur is cheaper and thus not as clean or considerate but walk to Mandalay at double the price of the Luxor and its a huge difference. The money will always dictate your level of comfort in Vegas.

Food is expensive, no getting around that. Spring for the Mandalay buffet which is much nicer but also more expensive.

Tip the cocktail waitresses a dollar for each drink and always stay away from the slots, worst house edge of all casino games.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#94 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Property: Luxor Las Vegas
Address: 3900 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing