We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Splurge" for the TOWER LUXURY SUITE...”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #75 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Splurge" for the TOWER LUXURY SUITE...”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

First and foremost, I have stayed at Luxor a total of 4 times now, and have enjoyed great stays 3 out of those 4 times. This last trip was a great trip. Granted, Luxor's rooms are NOT the newest and coolest on the strip, but they are VERY nicely priced, and they are fairly unique, as is the hotel itself. Here is my advice to someone staying at Luxor: If you are looking to do your trip on the cheap, then book DIRECT, and just get the MVP discount and DON'T CANCEL. Do a base pyramid room, and don't go for any upgrades- a weeknight should be like 100 or less. Now, another route to go is to get a SUITE at Luxor, and pay less than a base room at, say, Mirage, Caesar's, Paris, or Mandalay. This last trip I opted for the Tower Luxury Suite this last trip with my girlfriend. The room was double the base room rate ($160 instead of $80), which is still very reasonable when laid against the rates of base rooms at other slightly "nicer" hotels. The room was awesome- huge bathroom, GREAT king-size bed, and a big living room, with a little fridge that you can actually use. LOVED the room. Also, the pool here is great, the buffet is above average, and the gambling is reasonably priced. For partying, maybe head up to Bellagio, TI, Venetian, or down to Mandalay, but as a home-base, Luxor is a well-priced, still-cool-enough place to stay. Time for some flat-screen tv's though!

  • Liked — The suites, pool, and buffet
  • Disliked — check-in line, construction
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank classysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,337
    10,296
    6,317
    2,479
    1,585
See reviews for
5,892
11,474
1,358
2,809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights,
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

If your in vegas its an ok place to stay at. the room, hotel and staff are ok. if you are going with a close friend and your only gonna be there to sleep its not bad other then that is sucks

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dandola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Luxor must have been an awesome place when new. Stunning concept - and some really interesting design touches. Now, in places it feels a little tired. Also, from high up inside it's a weird layout. Just looks like those Hollywood western towns - all frontages and no substance - but get down into the interior and it's quite good.

We could have upgraded, didn't see that we should have to. Our room was a good size and clean. The en suite had a shower but no bath.

Location is really very good - I was concerned that being at the lower end of the Strip it would be isolated. In fact it was preferential since the tourist bus (very useful!) fills up so quickly that getting a seat if you were further up would be difficult at times. Also the trip to & from the airport was painless, and it was fairly close to an outlet centre (the buses go there too).

So it has interesting layout, some good restaurants, lots of things to do, and the bars are good. Watch for the timeshare sharks - they're everywhere in Vegas.

Vegas casinos seem to allow smoking, however I didn't go to gamble so I was keen not to spend much time on the casino floor.

Anyway, it's a good location and a makeover would sort out this fabulous hotel; I don't think it'll be long before it gets one.

Vegas is full of hotels and some are more interesting than others. This is certainly of the former group and all the better for it. That said, I might spend a little more and stay at the Venetian next time...

  • Liked — Concept
  • Disliked — Could use some fresh paint here & there!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ND4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I must admit I didnt know what to expect after reading mixed reviews about this hotel. Firstly our taxi dropped us at the side entrance for his convience so tell ur taxi driver to drop you to the main entrance if staying here. Luckily enough the reception girl was really helpful see we were dropped at the tower lobby and not the pyramid lobby and we were staying in the pyramid but the gir checked us in at the tower desk which she didnt have to do. Secondly our room was fantastic, it was spotless and had two double beds and plenty of living room also the bathroom looked brand new and shower was really good, beds and towels were changed every day. Generally the staff were really nice but the casino entrance was alaways had two staff on it trying to sell you a house!. Restaurant wise the Luxor has a great asian fusion called Fusia which has great menu and staff really nice too, La Salsa is Ok but nothing special just regular mexican food but giant margaritas are great. In the Mandalay Bay avoid the Noodle shop we had not even finished our starters and we had our entrees on the table and was overpriced. The Italian in the Venetian was great. Most of the hotels are linked which was really handy in the stifling heat. LAX nightclub in the Luxor was good but over rated in my opinion theres no seats unless you pre-booked them, drinks overpriced and every thing comes in plastic cups also the queue is massive it opens at ten so get there early. For any holdem players the Poker room in the Luxor is not great they run four tournaments a day and a constant cash game. I played or saw nearly all of the Poker rooms and I have to say Caesers was by far the best good standard and about 50 odd tables. If going to grand canyon pre-book and dont buy the first one you see, we got a great deal at a stall outside the fashion show mall with Sundance helicopters. All in all Vegas is just an unbelievable city and cant wait to go back would definetly stay at Luxor again.

  • Liked — size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stopped for a week at the Luxor in October 2007 and it was great overall.

The only real issue we had was that the check in queue ws HORRENDOUS, it took a good hour to check in, there are about 30 desks with only 10 manned!

The free safety deposit boxes are ace, the casino and resturants are nice and clean and the staff friendly.

Our room was a pryamid one and it was great, two big queen sized beds, nice big bathroom with powerful shower and great wash products that were replaced daily, there was aircon too.

It is also great because there is a free monorail to the Mandalay in one direction and the Excaliber in the other, and if you don't fancy those then you can use the walkways.

We'd go back there for certain, and if we do hopefully there will be a few more people on the check in desks!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyBooUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We stayed for 4 nites in the Luxor as part of a trip to the States and I must say this was the worst of the 3 hotels we stayed in.

We were in a Pyramid room, and OK we did decline the upgrade to a tower room ($20/nite) but the room was quite shabby. The worst thing though was definitely the air conditiong - a small maual unit in the corner. It needed to be on full to be effective at all, but this was very noisy, especially at nite, but if you turned it down to low power the unit vibrated which was even more annoying. There was also a damp patch on the floor below the unit and the room had a musty smell so I suspect the unit was also leaking.

The hotel itself is OK. Not a great location as it is at the end of the strip and a fair walk to the other hotels. We loved Vegas and hope to return one day but we would not be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

One of the big problems with Priceline is that you book what you hope will be a 4-star property and you end up with a dump like the Luxor. The whole place is run down and depressing. The rooms were crying for a renovation 5 years ago and now they are screaming and weeping for one. The room was dingy and thread bare. There was not adequate hot water. There was no bathtub, just a shower. The white towels were dingy although they smelled of bleach. The carpet in the hallway looked like it needed to be replaced during the Clinton administration, and the wallpaper was practically falling off the walls. The allure of the pyramid and inclinators has long since worn off. Do yourself a favor and stay at one of the newer, cleaner and more modern properties adjacent to the strip like Westin Causarina or the Renaissance (these actually cost less than Luxor). Or, spend a little more money and stay at Monte Carlo, Paris or the new Planet Hollywood. You'll have a more pleasant stay and won't be embaressed to tell frineds where you're staying. Shame on Luxor and Priceline for contending that this is a 4-star property. Maybe if they focused as much attention on the comfort of their guests as they did on the recent opening of the new LAX nightclub, someone may want to come back for a repeat visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwindt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,248 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Property: Luxor Las Vegas
Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#35 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vegas.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing