We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sin City Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sin City Hostel
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2005

Sin city hostel was excellent for the money, the staff tend to keep themselves to themselves bar a few, this hostel pretty much means what it says - its pretty noisy as there are parties happening all the time here - so party people this is the place - and theres a pool table too! - location is at the end of the strip so its a fair walk all the way in there which takes about 25mins - best bet take the taxi...! 4.5 / 5 for me, 1 if you want some quality rest before midnight!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrninety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    18
    13
    25
See reviews for
1
6
72
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

This place is great, you meet a lot of people from all over the world, mostly from english speaking european countries, everyone is on a disposition of meeting new people and hang out, even the hostel staff, wich is surprisingly young,but there was one guy, a canadian guy named Seth that was very rude most of the time, he had a terrible attitude and whenever you asked him what was the problem he turned it against you, other than that the place is really cool, specially if you are travelling on your own and want to make friends for your stay in vegas

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

I stayed at Sin City Hostel a year ago for the World Series of Poker (I'm a poker pro), and it's like Vegas - it's a very great experience or a terrible one. Just look at the reviews - 5 star or 1. At Sin City, a small converted motel, the accomodations were fairly clean, the hosts were generally nice, and the location is in an interesting part of town on the edge of downtown Vegas and where the Strip begins. They have a small room to watch tv, a small kitchen, and the BBQ we had was a cozy experience. Right across the street you can see people getting married 24 hours a day at a 24hr chapel that was featured on COPS (US real crime tv show). The neighborhood is not the worst in Vegas, but has it's share of street people. Expect weird things to happen. The week I was there a guy who robbed a bank threw a bag of cash into the garbage right next to someone staying there and pretended he was staying there, he just sat down and had a smoke with a couple of the backpackers outside, then the cops eventually came by and drew thier guns and grabbed him, no joke! The same week, the only American staff member was found out to be a fealon with warrants, and slashed the tires of some guests before they carted him off. All the foreign staff there though were very nice (always hire foreign at hostels!), and since then when I went back once, I saw that they put up a gate for security and now screen all the hostel workers (the owner was new when she hired the American fealon, but apparently she's making an effort to keep a safe clean good hostel experience). This is the safest hostel out of the two in Vegas I know of, but both are in dodgy neighborhoods. I could stay at a luxury hotel for my time in Vegas but the young international crowd is cool to experience and I am booking now. When you eat in Vegas, eat the specials between 11pm and 7am - the oxetail soup at the California downtown is a must, steak or breakfast at Binion's, or the many steak and egg specials. Best alternatives to hostels is the El Cortez casino- twin bed rooms 25$ weekdays, the Gold Spike, or The Wild Wild West off the Strip. It's Vegas baby, with all it's blemishes!

Stayed May 2004
Helpful?
13 Thank WilliamLivonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2005

I've stayed at Hostels all over the world and on all continents and this is definately the worst one yet. It's not even a real Hostel. It's a run down old hotel in a dangerous ( cracked out ) part of Vegas. The staff are a bunch of teenagers that are just there to party in Vegas and they mismanage the place.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2005

This is the first hostel I ever stayed in, first trip away from home ever. I was scared out of my mind, until I got there. The atmosphere was jovial and comforting and Dax with his staff really take steps to make sure everyone has a great time during their stay. The remodel has improved the facility a great deal and then some. I look forward to my next trip to Vegas and this is where I will stay.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2005

An amazing experience, friendly staff. very clean and safe, vip into some of the best clubs, the limo tour and BBQ were alot of fun, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in vegas.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2004

I was staying in this Hostel during the thanksgiving break. It turn out to be very nice place (compared to cheap price). Staff was positively delightful. They organized free barbiques and very cheap limocruises.
The Hostel was clean. Every day the floor was mopped and toilets were cleaned systematicly. No complains.
The location is not too bad at all. The bus goes 24h along the strip.
I did not feel that the down town area is threatning at all.
Thanks for everything!
-Thomas

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Thunderbird Hotel
#115 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Nugget Hotel
#86 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,104 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin City Hostel

Property: Sin City Hostel
Address: 1208 S. Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, NV 89104
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sin City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sin City Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing