We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dirty, unsecure, overall terrible.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sin City Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sin City Hostel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, unsecure, overall terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We only stayed in the hostel for one night after transferring from another hotel due to expensive weekend rates. Just glad it was only one night. Anyone could just walk into the main entrance or the side door for the common area. There was little amount of info on places to visit and ways to access areas. The front desk staff were unhelpful and clearly didn't want to be there. We left our luggage prior to check in, which got left in a random outside cupboard, which despite having a lock felt unsafe.

Although located on the strip it is in downtown Vegas. Which took up to an hr on a bus (due to traffic) to reach the main area of the strip. The downtown area was dark and felt unsafe at night.

We booked into a "semi private room" which was a small room, located at the back of a 4 bed dorm. Our room connected to the bathroom which was shared with the dorm. However the connecting door could not be locked and our room did not have lockers to put iPod's in etc. The rooms didn't have air con, the beds were like sleeping on a park bench and the sheets clearly hadn't been cleaned as they were mucky and covered in hair. The floor hadn't been cleaned in months and dirty stuck to your feet if you didn't wear flip flops. The shower flooded the bathroom and the light wasn't bright you had to shower in the dark.

The breakfast described as a continental breakfast consisted of a loaf of bread and some butter put on the table. When checking out we were told our credit card had been charged for our stay even though we wanted to pay by cash to save credit card fees.

Overall I would not reccommend this hostel. I wouldn't even let my dog stay in it. The best thing about it was leaving. I just wished we'd chose to pay the weekend rate and stayed in the Wild Wild West for an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lissy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    18
    13
    25
See reviews for
1
6
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was the worst experience in my whole life of traveller around the world (25 years). This place is DIRTY, SMELLY, people is totally unkind and rude. AC was not working in our room and they didn't care. When we went into our room the bed was not ready. I had to discuss with this rude Brittany to get someone clean the room (note: it was 5 PM, room was supposed to be ready)
I had also the bad idea to book a tour with them (I booked with the room, before seeing this mess). It was the worst bus tour I have had. It looks like we were animals. The bus was HOT, dirty and unconfortable. They drop us at the area in the Gran Canyon and nothing more!!!!!! A perfect match with this hotel. Hope you are gonna close the business soon, sin city hostel!

Room Tip: Pick up another hotel. You will get a better room for sure, even in the streen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Under a false sympathy, this guys run a chaos where dirty foot smell follows you everywhere.
Street lights illuminate the room, something is buzzing all night long, and everything smells really bad.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ardielito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Poor. is cheap but still overpriced. I slept 3 nights in the double room and it was really bad. I would compare the experience with some hostels experienced in central China. Very noisy, very small. The loundry didn't work for all the stay. The room is connected to the male dorm TOILETTE, so be ready to listen and smell the toilet activities. This is obviously out of any sanitary regulation.

Room Tip: require a room not connected to dorm's toilette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerGioDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

It's simple and clean. The staff is helpful and offer a lot of fun! Totally worth the 12 dollars/night!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

My friend and I booked this place before we arrived and initially planned to stay for 3 nights but we decided to treat ourselves and pay a bit more for a better place after one night. Our room, though clean (4 bed female dorm) reminded me of a prison cell and had quasi no wifi reception but other than that the place was alright. Breakfast was not spectacular. What I can REALLY recommend is joining for Karaoke on Thursday and the Limo ride + night club on Friday night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernieSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hostel is a must stay if you're looking for cheap in Las Vegas. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and the free breakfast is tasty. It's a little way of the strip, about 1.5miles but it's easy to walk or there is a bus stop just by it so hop on and off! Great stay and very cheap $15 a night (around $17 with tax - but still a bargain!!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Thunderbird Hotel
#114 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sin City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sin City Hostel

Property: Sin City Hostel
Address: 1208 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89104-1313
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sin City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sin City Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing