We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Ranked #99 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I spent two nights at the Fremont in January. It was before noon when I arrived and figured I could not get a good room that early, but on advise of the bellhop I checked at the desk anyway. I went to the desk and told the guy checking me that I was willing to wait for a comfortable, quiet room and that I know I am very early. He found a wonderful room with a very comfortable bed and the room did not get the Freemont Street noises in the evening. I was very happy with the room.

The rooms are small and the bathroom was WOW very small, however everything in the room was in very good shape and everything, bathroom included, was in good working order. The room appeared to have been remodeled recently. If my wife or my son was with me it would have been a cozy, but okay room, but the room would be cramped with three plus people. I have to give a special call out to housekeeping. While the room looked fine to me, but was missing wash rags, the housekeeper did not remember cleaning the room so to be sure she changed the sheets on the bed and gave the room a quick cleaning.

The buffet was good and much more affordable than the buffets on the strip and the Chinese place was decent and gave a good size plate of food. The Freemont Street Experience with the canopy and the various stages along with the other casinos in easy walking distance is a lot of fun. Good service, good room, good food, good time, I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    373
    230
    80
    50
See reviews for
162
423
125
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went to Vegas with a few friends and decided to stay downtown for a change. I have stayed in "old vegas" previously but never at the Freemont since it was remodeled. We arrived from the airport and the casino looked just as it has, there have been no real noticeable changes. We checked in and it went smooth, no problems at all and no long wait. It was the Sunday before Memorial Day so it was busy in the casino, but the room was $36/night. We went up to your room and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms had been remodeled and they were very nice. Everything appeared very clean and neat and there were no problems with anything in the room. We could hear people in the halls at the wee hours in the am, but its Vegas. The only problem were the beds, they need to be replaced. They are not high quality beds but after a day of walking around sightseeing, people watching, oh yeah and alcohol consumption, they felt pretty good until the next morning when you woke up with back pain. Everything else was okay tho, you do go to Vegas to sleep all day anyway. All in all, it was a good good place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scsuperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The service was horrible. First of all to find where to park is horrible, but then your car has to be parked by a valet so the money you would save on the room is used on tips. The room was okay but if you get the double the TV is old so we asked to switch to a king room which had a flat screen. Again the room was nice but small but the staff except for the bartenders are real rude. We are used to staying at the Flamingo where the service is exceptional. That's what happens when you try to save a buck. The food wasn't that great either except for the Paradise Buffet with the seafood buffet, that's was read good and a good value. I would reccommend if you stay downtown to stay at the Golden Nugget. It's was really nice inside and the pool was beautiful. I would rate the Fremont at a 2.5.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjnorth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at Fremont Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Fremont Hotel & Casino. We sincerely apologize that your customer service experiences with us has been unsatisfactory; this is not in line with our usual high service standards. Your comments have been forwarded to the Director of Operations as well as the General Manager. In the future, we encourage you to bring this to our attention immediately so we can rectify the situation promptly. In regards to the televisions, we are currently upgrading our rooms with flat screen televisions and WiFi. Again, thank you for your review. We know you have many choices for places to stay and hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Richardson, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have stayed at several downtown hotels, and by far -- this was the cleanest. The bathroom was spotless; carpet clean throughout the room; bed clean; not a spec of dust found. For the price, this was far-far more than I was expecting.
The staff was courteous; casino clean; and the valet parking (which is the only parking option) was fast. The rooms are within "walking distance" of the casino (which is not the case w/a hotel diagonally across from the Fremont).
Perfectly satisfied and give thumbs-up to the Fremont of Las Vegas...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galvanized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We love the Fremont. It's not fancy, but how much time do you spend in your room in Vegas? We feel valued when at the Fremont. The customer service is great. Join the Player's Club for perks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I go w/ my dad he is on the wrong side of 75, but is healthy and has a little difficulty walking more then 50 ft w/out stopping and sitting for 15 minutes. Freemont is right in the middle of the action for him. He can easily accesess 3 different hotels by just walking 25 feet. The staff are friendly to the older clients. The hotel is not large and confusing. The take out Chinese place, has hot coffee available 24 hours a day. Paradise buffet has oatmeal in the morning and the food is not fancy and unfamilliar. My dad always wants to stay at the Freemont Hotel and I like it too.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel UV Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you consider the $ you save by staying at this very reasonably priced hotel, and its great location for popping down to the Fremont St. experience, you may be able to overlook the tiny room size. They've done their best despite this limitation, including:
Free coffee maker and coffee upon request,
Two bedside tables with lamps and drawers,
dresser,
tub/shower,
closet w/luggage stand,
alcove with bench/luggage stand,
easy chair,
tiny tv,
queen bed.
No swimming pool, but access to California Hotel pool a block away.
No wi-fi available, even in lobby. There is a pay-for-use stand-up internet kiosk in the lobby, with prinitng.
I honestly don't know any reason to stay here, unless you can't find another vacancy. The price ($36/weeknight)is comparable with both the Plaza and Fitzsimmons, which have much larger rooms and are also on Fremont St.
Restaurants: We love the Lanai Cafe, cafeteria style food, specializing in Chinese platters ($6.99), and .99 shrimp cocktail as well as burgers, hot dogs and assorted American favorites. Take out or sit down. Also, Tony Roma's is here. And the ubiquitous buffet. Their cafe shares space with the buffet, so is crowded and the service suffers. Dunkin Donuts. A steak house. With their location at the center of Fremont St., you have dozens of great choices within short walking distance.

Room Tip: Tip #1: If you register for their b-connected player's club (free) they email their latest promo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,384 reviews
Golden Nugget Hotel
#90 of 262 in Las Vegas
10,737 reviews
Downtown
Main Street Station Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
California Hotel & Casino
California Hotel & Casino
#86 of 262 in Las Vegas
638 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremont Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremont Hotel and Casino

Property: Fremont Hotel and Casino
Address: 200 Fremont St, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5622
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fremont Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fremont Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fremont Hotel Las Vegas
Fremont Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing