We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as repped”

Zest - Bistro & Bar
Ranked #399 of 4,840 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Formerly known as "Off The Strip" Same attentive management, same great service, same friendly staff, same delicious food, same tasty drinks.Nothing has changed but the name! Zest Bistro & Bar offers quality dining, a full service bar, and a private karaoke / cigar lounge in Southern Highlands. Eat where the locals eat at this gem in the Southwest. Family owned, serving your favorite American and Italian gourmet meals. Featuring creative cuisine that stacks up with the big names on the strip, with second-to-none service and a menu that's under-priced for the quality! We also have an outstanding To Go Menu and full service catering is available! Check out the menu!
Anthem, AZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as repped”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Puzzled by rating of this restaurant. It was very casual with a little sports bar feel to it and the tables are close together. The service is friendly and I understand why they ask if this is your first time because they want to give you a piece of free cheesecake if it's your first time. They are very nice folks who turn over the tables very fast so you don't have to wait long.

The caesar salad we both ordered was WAY to garlicky. I love garlic but this was way too overwhelming. Best to order the house salad. The spaghetti was actually the thinner spagattini. I would prefer the spaghetti as advertised. The Italian sausage was excellent but the meatball was tasteless and mushy. The marinara sauce was good but again too much garlic. The cheesecake was ok but not fabulous. Next time I will order the rigatoni vodka sauce with a side of italian sausage and the house salad and I will be much happier. Kind of pricy for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pokerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTS_Bistro, Public Relations Manager at Zest - Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi PokerKat,

Sounds like we hit the garlic a little hard for you, since the recipes are local brooklyn favorites sometimes they call for garlic a tad stronger than many people are used to. Our apologies.

Thank you for all of your compliments but It is really unacceptable to us that your visit was subpar and we hope you will give us a another chance and please, please please, let us know if anything is not perfect for you so that we can do something about it while you were there. We would have gladly remade your food to your liking or happily comp'd your dinner.

We care that every visit of yours is exceptional and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    120
    68
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NOT OPEN at breakfast”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The dining options on the trip advisor state that this restaurant is open for breakfast. It is not. We DID go for dinner and it really just average. This is a case of Trip Advisor being used to promote a restaurant in an over-blown manner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mplstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTS_Bistro, Public Relations Manager at Zest - Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
TripAdvisor has informed us that they have a problem with their website that lists that we are open for breakfast although we have never in our history served breakfast.

They have told us that they are working on this but so far we can not change this on our listing.

Our website clearly states our hours are 4pm - 11pm daily.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain AB Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just like going home!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were here 3 years ago, and absolutely had to go back. Rick treated us like old friends - the food continues to be amazing, serving size is incredible, and the cheesecake is absolutely the best I have ever eaten. Wish we could visit more often, but we will definitely be there for every Vegas trip we make. Thank you, Rick, family and friends for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just-plain-folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I read the reviews and we made the drive off the strip ( 20 min) hoping to get a great meal. Right when we walked in they asked if we heard of the restaurant through trip advisor....so I'm not sure if we looked that out of place or what... The waitstaff is very friendly but there was no children's menu ( even though this was supposed to be good for families) and the food is ok- nothing outstanding. We had eaten at the cheesecake factory the night before and for the same price you get a much better selection, better food, faster service and a children's menu. The decor is lacking and kind of odd two room set up. When we got our bill it was not itemized for all items so when I asked if we got the happy hour price for our drinks, there was no way to tell since there were only prices listed for the food on the order sheet. The waitress was trying to explain how the tax and drinks were all lumped together in one price but for a $100 meal it should be listed out - even Denny's can do that for a $20 meal, surely this place can. Bottom line, the food is ok, not worth the drive and making up the price for our final bill left a bad taste in our mouth. We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rojoeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTS_Bistro, Public Relations Manager at Zest - Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are very sad we aren't your cup of tea and hope you had a nice trip home.

We always look to welcome and make conversation with our guests when they enter the restaurant. It's who we are. Yet we do acknowledge many guests prefer not to be spoken with.

Most of our customers appreciate our non-franchise approach including our comfortable yet non-pretentious decor. Again, it's who we are.

For many we are more than worth the 15-20 minute trip from the strip. Maybe it would be nice if we were located in the center of Las Vegas but we have earned our way into people's hearts in beautiful Southern Highlands.

However, our system always generates itemized receipts so we are miffed as to your comment as to receiving a non-itemized receipt. Possibly our team adjusted your bill due to reflect comps in an effort to please you..?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Service and Food !!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Trip Advisor is not wrong about this place.. The food was superb and the service was even better.. We were greeted by one of the owners and he made sure our visit was wonderful.. The food was delicious and the staff was on top of everything.. We had a party of four and everything we had to eat was perfect.. My mom was with us and she can be very picky about giving praise to food but she loved this place.. Highly recommend !!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanAntonioCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zest - Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing