We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was food.”

Le Cafe Ile St Louis at Paris Hotel
Ranked #337 of 4,874 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Strip
Cross street: Flamingo
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It was food.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had a number of hamburgers and salads and breakfasts at this restaurant. It is nice to see the gambling floor, but. Other than being convenient place to eat while waiting for your room to be ready or for a quick bite, it was standard fare with a French twist and was reasonable in price and was good food. I thought the ambience of a smoky casino, not so cool and you had to keep watch as if you were in a food court with your bag etc, you are out in the open. If you need to grab a bite, the food is fine and service is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GianGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    446
    239
    106
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very nice, we ate there twice. Once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both were good value. Great service. Maitre'D was a little snotty, only bad thing about the experience. Made us wait while she chatted with an employee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Cute!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This restaurant is near the main casino. They have seating where you can people watch everyone in the casino. Their menu is quite extensive and seems like there is something for everyone. Their French onion soup was very filling and their turkey burger was one of the best turkey burgers I have ever had! Very surprised on how much I liked this place since it one of the hotels more casual places and is a bit over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Dyne, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved this cafe. Met up for breakfast around 8 a.m. on a week day. No lines, no crowds. Wait staff very professional and friendly at the same time. Food choices were top notch and food preparation exquisite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An abundance of (salty) mediocre food...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The atmosphere and scenery are enchanting. But I think, (as with most theme restaurants), that the unique experience is often times meant to distract from lacking quality of food. I know this is a casino restaurant and that it would seem silly to critique any eatery here that sees thousands of tourists each day, ...but it's also Vegas, one of the top culinary cities in this country, (not to mention- themed after my favorite vacation spot). So here it goes...

FOOD: Medium-Large portions. We began with the French Onion Soup, the low end gruyere cheese was rubbery and tasteless. The soup however was high salt. It wasn't good at all. Edible, but disappointing. The table bread, however, was quite good. Crispy crust. I ordered the Steak Frites, my husband- the Au Poivre. My steak, which was a skirt steak, tasted more grilled than fried! I can tell it was marinated in a lovely, herbacious mix, but the char was so overpowering that it became bland and almost cloying in taste. It was a bit too fatty for my taste too. The fries were pretty good though! My au jus sauce, again very salty, kind of brought back some of the flavor. My husband's Steak Au Poivre was a little bit better. However, the "filet mingon" (which was so thinly cut and fatty that it may as well have been another cut), was under-seasoned, accompanied by and over seasoned sauce. All were edible, they just all seemed to be lacking a hearty, fresh soulfulness that the French cuisine embodies.

SERVICE: Forgettable. The hostess was nice. The waitstaff, speedy at first then completely absent later, did not know the menu well enough. When I asked what cut of meat my Steak Frites was, she did not know and did not even ask the chef for me. They are quick to remove empty plates, but lack a certain inviting warmth that a waitstaff should have.

ATMOSPHERE: Wonderful. You get to people watch while trying to convince yourself you're in Paris. It is a fun setting that really adds to the dining experience.

VALUE: Poor. You're paying for the atmosphere essentially. It's a bit pricey for such mediocre food, (another reason why I felt the need to critique this place) The food really isn't bad, just lacking in quality and skill. And $25 for a bland, charred, low-end skirt steak seems a bit unfair. I may have upped the rating to 4 stars had such a dish only cost $18.

This place is worth a shot if you're a first timer to Vegas, or the Paris Hotel, and anticipate a long stay. This is my second try at Cafe Paris and I've had two very similar experiences. If you're only a short time in Vegas, and don't want to waste a single night on mediocre food, then maybe overlook this place for now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShadOcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Ile St Louis at Paris Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Le Cafe Ile St Louis at Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing