We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view is awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratosphere Tower

Stratosphere Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.99*
and up
Deluxe Las Vegas Helicopter Night Flight with VIP Transportation
Ranked #17 of 448 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sitting atop the Stratosphere Tower Hotel and Casino, this is the tallest free-standing observation tower in the U.S. and is encircled by two exciting roller coasters.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The view is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We've been to Vegas many times, but never up in the Stratosphere tower. Don't know why we waited so long. The view is amazing! We went up at night, and was really really impressed. Every visitor to Vegas needs to do this at least once. The tickets are pricey, but what do you expect for Vegas. You can spend as long as you want up there, so go when you have a little time, but I'd definately recommend doing it at night. We didn't ride any of the attractions...not that brave.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tncouple222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,983
    2,846
    967
    250
    136
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice views, thrill rides just mehhhhh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited the Stratosphere tower in early November. Just so you are aware... it is on the very, VERY end of the strip. We bought the unlimited ride wrist bands ($34). This includes the Tower Admission as well. We did the Big Shot first, which ended up being our favorite. This is a "sling-shot" type ride that is located at the very top of the building. You sit in seats facing out around a large column. Your seats are shot up the column, giving you quite a great stomach flip, as well as a great view of Vegas.

Next we did X-Scream. This is a pretty dull "ride". It looks sorta like a roller coaster car with about 12-16 seats. You are seated and then catapulted out to the edge of the building with an abrupt stop.

Last we rode Insanity. This ride, if you have ANY issues with motion-sickness, should be avoided. You are loaded onto a platform with a "claw" looking structure, each claw having two seats. The platform swings out over the building so you are suspended in mid-air above nothingness. This part was cool..... until it started spinning. Whoa.... you spin and spin and spin. If you love these kind of rides, you will really love this. If you get sick on spin rides, you will DEFINITELY get sick and/or nauseated.

After that ride, we decided to throw in the carnival ride towel. We were both really, really nauseated. We went to the 108th floor, grabbed a drink, and watched the SkyJumpers jump.

There is another bar that we heard has really great happy hour food and drinks. It's on the 107th floor, but it doesn't open until 4:00p. We didn't want to wait around, but I wish we would have.

As we were leaving, we stopped outside and watched a couple of the SkyJumpers jump. It was pretty cool watching from the ground.

If we were to come back, we would probably just go later and sit in the bar on the 107th floor, have some great happy hour specials, and watch the jumpers. The rides are pretty over-rated in our opinion. The only reason I gave this 3 stars and not 2 was because the view was really great. Would be awesome at night I imaging.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Stratosphere is a bit out of the way of everything else and sits between the main strip and the old town. Walking there is not very practical, and I'm not sure you would want to walk around there anyway, so you'll need transport. A cab from the main strip will cost you around $15-$20 dollars - if you get one then ask the driver to take the Las Vegas Boulevard route or they will take you round the back roads which is slightly quicker but further so costs $5 more (plus the strip ride is a better view).

If you're planning to ride any of the rides on the top, buy your tickets along with your tower entry as you can't buy the ride tickets up top and and they are expensive to buy on their own. Tower Entry is $18, or $23 with a ride etc.

We went in a group of six - the rides are good for adrenalin lovers, and one of our friends decided to do the free-fall jump. This costs $100 dollars (ish) and you can literally step off the side of the tower and fall to the ground (with guide ropes!). Great even to watch!

The view from the top is amazing, you can literally see for miles and it's a terrific view of Las Vegas. It's a bit surreal seeing helicopters go past flying at the same height as you are stood!

If you're in Las Vegas you should definitely go here for a couple of hours - I wouldn't plan on hanging around the hotel afterwards though as it's not up to much and there are far better places to move on to!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tower Cool, but Hotel-Yuck!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were staying at the Cosmo, so it took us a Taxi ride to get to the Tower. My first impression was a nasty smell mixed with a dirty hotel. Once we got our tickets and waiting for the elevator, we got to take photos. Which was great- because we purchased them later. It's options of The Vegas Sign/ The top of the Tower. The view was awesome, and we had fun watching the ride and daredevils jumping off the top. :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amymarie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“slightly quieter place on the strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

we stayed here for a couple of nights in november and I would highly recomend it as a place to stay. It is technically on the strip, but further down the strip (but easily accessible by the monorail) which means that it is that little bit quieter outside the hotel, which after a day on the strip was really nice to escape too. The rooms were excellent - we upgraded to have a spa and a king bed for an extra 25 dollars a night, which also meant we looked out over the street.
The view from the top (included in your stay) is fantastic, and they have happy hour with cocktails up there meaning you can sip cocktails while admiring the view.
the restaurants there are fantastic too... McCalls heartland grill does an excellent dinner - all meat (ribs are fantastic), Roxy's diner does fantastic pancakes (although the service was a little slow) and the buffet there is fantastic delicious value.
overall would highly recommend this place

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattie_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stratosphere Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing