We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the LV Children's museum opened Mar 2013”

DISCOVERY Children's Museum
Ranked #113 of 461 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest educational institution for children in the Las Vegas area, this museum has interactive exhibits in the arts, sciences and humanities.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVED the LV Children's museum opened Mar 2013”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We make it a habit to got to as many children's museums as we can as our kids (5&8) love going at every city we go to. We liked the old Lied's Discovery museum before...we LOVE the new museum! There is so much for the kids to do! The new museum is now located very near the North premium outlets. There is a self-park area within easy walking distance. In front of the museum was a nice greenspace with a stage and whimsical "heart" sculptures all around.

Immed. inside on the right you see an odd cramped space for families to bring food to eat at...there is no food onsite. Past the registration counter, inviting fun sounding noises draw you in. There is an amazing play structure in the middle of the museum that lets you go up & down the levels but with so many things to do within the structure itself from music to airplane simulator to a huge inner ear & more! You can slide down tubes and climb up netting. Its a busy busy fun area. There are the usual elevators & stairwell as well of course.

The main level has a big water play area that lets kids play & spray & roll balls through the water tables. In the fantasy play area there is a pirate ship plays structure with workable air cannon! There is a stage area that you can dress up & work the curtains/lights/. There is also a castle to climb.

There is the mystery of the old abandoned mine to solve hands on and area to be creative with art. The kids loved the area with the grocery store, garage, java cafe, vet etc where they could earn money/paychecks and then deposit into a working ATM. It was nice to see the old nutrition exhibits made it into the new museum too. There are also gallery spaces for traveling exhibits to come in...we saw the Washington one.

We basically got there as the museum opened and left only when it closed and I dont think we managed to finish exploring as thoroughly as we would have liked. My kids loved it and as we go to Vegas annually, its guaranteed we will be going back again & again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cwil2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    50
    17
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Active Hands-On Experience for my visiting Granddaughter!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful new children's museum located next to Smith Center--easy to reach location with ample parking garage! The museum itself has 3 floors of fun, interactive, and experiential learning activities encompassing science, natural history, fantasy, etc. My granddaughter is a museum afficionado and she gave this building a major thumbs up! For the kids, the 3 levels are fun to go up as each level has interactive activities for them to enjoy as well as special "tunnels" that kids can either climb up or down to the next level. Not recommended for "seniors" or those who have difficulty in climbing though; better option is the "normal" stairs as well as the elevators. We spent over 2 hours exploing all of the fun hands-on learning activities and only took a break for water and the conveniently located restrooms. My granddaughter was exhausted after the visit but wants to go back soon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The new museum is definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a bit of trouble finding the new museum because the website is not updated quite yet and we were told that the address was not in GPS yet. However, it is across the street from the Furniture Mart which is quite visible from the Freeway.

The new museum is quite large and expanded from the former site. Our 12 and 13 year old granddaughters spent several hours exploring the different rooms on three floors. We were quite surprised that it held their interest so long. They especially enjoyed the "Jungle Gym" 3 storied structure as well as painting with melted crayon even on the walls.

The price has been reduced overall as it is $12 for ages 1-99. While we were there a long time, we did not see everything. This is only one of several attractions in Las Vegas that is Family Friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDodgers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place for children!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Close driving proximity to downtown Vegas and the Strip. We spent several hours there, many hands-on activities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 808-2-Disneyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They remodeled this place & took all educational aspects out!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just got back from the Leid Discovery Children's "Museum" and I must state that I was not at all impressed! How this place reserves the right to call itself a museum is beyond me! There was no science center, I saw nothing having to do with the solar system, dinosaurs, geology, the human body etc... Every single component that goes into making a true museum you guys lacked!!!!!!!! No wonder education has gone to crap! All the pictures you see, here are gone they've built a giant 3 story jungle gym contraption in its place. Do not let this place fool you save your $.



I was shocked to see that there is no system in place to protect kids. This place doesn't even care enough to invest in a simple numbered stamp system to ensure that kids leave with the same person they entered the building with! There is absolutely NO EXCUSE for this. A stamp system with matching numbers would cost less than $50 and could potentially save the life of a child! Even Chuck E.Cheese has this. Needless to say I will not bring my child back to play in this "museum" . His day care offers more learning opportunities than this place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JELISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DISCOVERY Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing