We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Ranked #16 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the great deal”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

As with a number of other reviewers, we got a deal on priceline at this place for $85 and were pretty excited about it. Clearly Trump is trying to lure guests to this remote and mostly empty hotel and then backloading the price with additional fees.

The $15 'resort fee' = total scam. When asked what this was paying for, we were told "the water in your room, the coffee and access to the pool & fitness club". That's right, the water and the coffee, the same things that the super 8 provides for free. Fitness area was outstanding. Pool was closed! Could not get them to reduce the fee becuase the best of the 'resort' ammenities that we were paying for was not available. Also managed to charge me $14 for a 30 second call to Canada.

Location: great access to the mall, reasonably good if you are considering going downtown, terrible for the strip. It's close to Wynn & Encore but so far from most strip resorts that you'll spend the money you saved on the room on taxis in no time.

Service: excellent. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris_from_Stoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,509
    2,428
    811
    397
    323
See reviews for
2,145
4,538
404
1,426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

$15 a day for valet parking, this is a joke. What other hotel in Vegas charges for parking? I think the $15 is a scam. If it really costs the hotel $15 for the services they claim to be providing, add it to the daily room rate. The valet service is horrible. We returned for an afternoon of shopping at the outlets and could not even pull in to the hotel entrance there were so many empty cars sitting on the drive. When I was finally able to pull in, I had to flag someone down to take my keys and give me a ticket. Going out Saturday night was worse. The cars were still backed up on the drive. It took 45 minutes for the valet to pull our car up, and he had a nerve to look at me for a tip. The service and attitude of the people at this hotel is horrible. I will never stay again.

Oh wait, don't forget the train at 4 AM in the morning, or the horrible pillows. Stay away.

The one positive, the bell captain was excellent. He went out of his way to answer questions and provide recommendations for places to go and eat in the areas we were going to be in around vegas.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cmg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

A friend and I booked a "5 Star Hotel", for $79 per night, through HotWire. Unlike some, who have done the same, and expected the Venetian, Palazzo, etc., we figured it would be the Trump. We were correct.

The hotel is nice. It is clean, and certainly stands out, with it's sparkling gold color, in the sun. The rooms are nice, and certainly not a typical hotel room. I don't think, however, that the hotel warrants 5 Star status.

Upon check-in, you are hit with a $15 per day fee, which is called a "resort fee", and includes use of the pool, the fitness center, and receiving a newspaper (of which you have several choices), in your room, each day. I do not agree with this fee, especially since it is hidden until check-in. Most 5 Star hotels include such services, for no additional charge. I was disappointed at being charged this fee, after not receiving the newspaper during our first day, and finding that the pool was drained, and down for maintenance. How do you charge someone for "use of the pool", knowing that the pool is drained, and down for maintenance.

The hotel is noisy, at night, due to the train, and I believe, also, the monorail, which is probably the "whistling" noise that some describe. The train and monorail run late at night, and early in the morning. If you are not a hard sleeper, it may cause you issues getting to sleep.

The location of Trump, is not really on the strip, even though it is advertised, on HotWire, as being "central strip". It is a good 5-7 minute walk, to get to the strip. It also involved a walk down a side road, with no sidewalk, which can be dangerous, considering there is traffic, especially at night. Not safe for anybody, especially children.

We had no problems with room service. Our room was cleaned both days, of our stay. The bar at the Trump has a very nice staff, and great drinks. Definately try it out. We did not try the restauraunt, but the menu is limited, and pricy. It also isn't a menu that would appeal to children, if you stay with children at the Trump.

We had no problems with the staff, but our check-in, and check-out was a bit cold. We were not met with a very "welcoming", and "glad you stayed with us", type of attitude. More of a, "here are your keys, this is your room", now be on your way, at check-in, and a "here is your bill, now be on your way", at check-out. Considering the "5 Star" rating, you would expect to be greeted at check-in, as though you are appreciated a little more, as well as thanked at check-out. It wasn't as though we were treated rudely, but it just wasn't a warm, welcoming attitude, that you would expect at a 5 Star hotel.

In the end, I can't say I wouldn't recommend the Trump, but I think you would have a better experience, and stay, in the heart of the strip, at other hotels - where you'll actually spend less money. The last time I was in Vegas, I stayed at the Monte Carlo, which was much cheaper (especially when considering no $15 "resort fee"), and very nice, as well. It was actually, "on the strip". The Trump is also a place of residence, as many of the condo's, and rooms are actually owned by people. I think this may play a part in not getting the full "hotel" experience that one might expect. It is also, because of it being a residential building, that it doesn't have a casino. I am not a gambler, and didn't mind this. Others may enjoy this as well. For the typical Vegas traveler, however, the Trump can seem a bit removed from the typical Vegas atmosphere. In the end, I guess it all depends on what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Large room/bathroom, clean, overall nice hotel
  • Disliked — Not on strip, $15 resort fee
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ChrisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed 2 nights over MLK weekend and was not too impressed. I stayed in a regular room and the room was ok. Kitchenette was neat and the bathroom big but overall nothing special or deserving a 5 star rating.

Of the 4 elevators that went up to our floor 3 were out of order the entire weekend. this caused several long waits going up and down. With a 5 star rating you would have thought that more attention would be paid to fixing issues immediately.

The valet also was not appropriately staffed or trained because even after calling down for my car, and taking 10 min to get down to valet, i still had to wait another 10min for my car. The worst part there was only 2 of us waiting for cars.

lastly, i understand that January is winter time but it was close to 70degrees and the pool was drained. The fitness center was ok. Not sure what my $15/day resort fee was used for but i figure they should have just told me it was $15/day to park since there was no self-parking.

The hotel website had some really great deals, under $100 a night, which you cant beat for a 5 star hotel. But what this created was your typical group of vegas bound young fun loving people staying at the hotel, not the best atmosphere for a 5star hotel. I had a couple of encounters with the high 5'ing drunk kids you find on the strip.

For a few extra dollars i could have been closer to the strip and probably had a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rastonian92603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We loved this hotel. There is no casino, which for us a huge plus because it did not have that pervasive smell of smoke from cigarettes you smell in all the casinos and you could not hear the constant noise of slot machines upon entry. The entrance is very elegant with lovely a lovely aromatherapy smell emanating throughout. We felt extremely secure at this hotel. We heard a number of stories whilst in town of people having been robbed in their hotel rooms or drugged and ended up in their hotel rooms. The staff ask for proof you are staying at the hotel before allowing you up the elevators. The room was beautiful with every amenity you could wish for. We had a full kitchen, which we didn't need but it was wonderful to be able to put wine or beer in the fridge and have proper bowls to serve snacks in while we relaxed in the evening before seeing a show. The hotel is so close to everything you want to be near. The view from the room was spectacular. We did not have to be out all the time in order to enjoy the nightlife of the strip we could see it from the window. There is only one criticism I could possible mention and the Trump Organization could not be held accountable for it, but it is a shame that there is no proper pavement from the hotel during the short walk to Las Vegas Boulevard. When we return to Las Vegas we will definitely return here.

  • Liked — The feeling of being special. It was elegant and decadent
  • Disliked — The soap was particularly drying
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed here in July...thought being Trump that we could expect a quality experience, but sadly, so far from the truth. It starts with the additional fees for parking - it is ONLY valet and they charge you about $17 extra, per day. Although the valet guys were nice enough, it was sometimes quite a wait.

The pool hours are ever changing and are not accurately reflected in the hotels' information book (when asked about this - they said the book was outdated - which is hard to beleive since this hotel only opened 3 months prior to our arrival).

One night when arriving back to the hotel, it appeared as though someone had used our toilet and clogged it!!!! This was reported and security came to check it out. The same night, our extra pillows were missing and it took OVER 2 hours to get the pillows, after a snarky reply from the front desk that we should check the cupboards (this was our 6th day here - we certainly knew where the extra pillows were).

The day we were checking out, we had requested a LATE check out - security came banging on the door (ignoring the do not disturb sign) at about 9am to have us fill out a form about the toilet complaint!!! A bit later, now up and getting ready to leave - SOME RANDOM GUY WALKED INTO THE ROOM, apparently checking in, however I was in the bathroom changing at the time.......Hotel security and front desk staff said it must have been a mistake when they gave someone the key to our room before we had checked out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Although some nice flash....this is all it is. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!! Stay somewhere, where they know it vegas an treat you accordingly!!!!!

  • Liked — Nice rooms, expensive treats and extras
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Stayed at Trump Vegas during Christmas. Hotel doesn't have self parking, so you need to valet ($15 per day). No problem with that. But, you need to wait 45 minutes to get your car back. That is not okay. Not many bell men are available too; need to get my own luggage to my room. So much for a 5-star hotel. The morning we left, there were over 100 people waiting in the lobby to get their cars. So, be careful if you have a flight to catch. Better off park across street (Nordstrom) if you are going in and out. Can’t find any onsite management to discuss the issue.

  • Liked — Great spa.
  • Disliked — Valet parking takes forever.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
23,572 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
15,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,504 reviews
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
16,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Las Vegas

Property: Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Address: 2000 Fashion Show Drive, Las Vegas, NV 89109-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#12 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 1282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering over The Las Vegas Strip, the Trump International Hotel™ - Las Vegas is a non-smoking luxury resort offering 1,232 graciously furnished hotel suites and 50 magnificent penthouses. Boasting the finest views of The Strip, the hotel lies where Las Vegas Blvd meets Fashion Show Drive, adjacent to the best shopping and finest casinos in the city. The Spa at Trump® offers 11,000 square feet of sumptuous serenity, ensuring that each guest’s experience is a memorable personal event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Vegas.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Trump International Hotel Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing