We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE VIEW”
Review of Forest Buffet

Forest Buffet
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE THE VIEW”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The view was amazing. We were lucky enough to get a window seat being a platinum card member really pays off for its percs. The buffet was busy but they keept the food coming. My finance really loved the prime rib and mac and cheese. My 8 year old was over joyed with all the amazing desserts and of course the pizzas. I loved everything but my favorite was the sushi its not often you find buffets with decent sushi. Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    102
    89
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best dessert”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on August 1, 2013, for the second time. If you are lucky enough to get a window seat that is the best. Food is buffet food and is not bad. Had way too many choices. A lot of good choices. Our waiter was wonderful. Very friendly. Desserts were amazing and overwhelming. I should have started with dessert. Food really was good, but it is buffet food. I would eat here again. Price for two people was a little over 40.00. Good value. Give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Buffet with a WOW factor...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Unfortunately the WOW factor is the view..you get up on the 18 th floor and have an incredible view of the beautiful lake.
There is a huge window around the restaurant. The food...which is why you went is sadly, average. I have been here a couple times for quick food fix when I am not looking for " quality" meal. Small choices on salad bar, very few vegetables, usually they have fried chicken, onion rings, spaghetti, pizza, prime rib(sliced super thin) . A couple choices in their Asian section and
Multiple dessert. Pies on one side with someone making crepes, and cookies etc on the other.
The service was poor the first time, the second time was good. The alcoholic drinks are worth the costs if you like them tasty and strong. If you want to get a good buffet with plenty of selection....gonna have to drive to Reno..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smilinggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Standard Buffet Fare, Nice View”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited on a weeknight in July. No line to speak of, we were seated immediately after being paid. Our group of 10 did incur a $25 large party charge, which was not expected, in addition to paying a fair price for the buffet.

It was a typical buffet format with a salad bar including assorted pre-made salads, a fruit station, 2-3 soups, peel-n-eat shrimp (medium sized), an international (chinese) section, several chicken dishes with sides, carving station (excellent prime rib plus turkey breast) with side dishes, pizza station, sushi station (nothing special), pasta/italian station (nice mixed sausage in sauce) and a large dessert bar, featuring large servings (pies, cakes), small servings (eclairs, cream puffs, cannoli), warm (bananas foster, bread pudding), soft serve ice cream (standard buffet unit with vanilla and chocolate plus twist) and a crepe station (pre-made crepes filled and warmed by the attendant).

90% of the offerings were standard buffet food. Mostly solid. Those expecting gourmet would be disappointed. A few highlights: the prime rib was way above buffet average, well roasted, cut as requested; oriental chicken wings were very tasty take on General Tso's chicken and homemade pepper steak was very good. Others commented on the stuffing and the BBQ chicken. On the dessert side, the banana's foster was well prepared, but called out for a serving of real vanilla bean ice cream.

The kids especially liked the crepes and many choices of dessert.

The staff was attentive, plates cleared efficently and drinks refilled promptly. Occasionally needed to hunt down an extra piece of silverwear.

The highlight, of course, was the view from the 18th floor. The steakhouse that shares the floor faces the Lake, but the side views are nice from the buffet as well as the view of the forest going up the mountain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeFamily96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No enough food selection”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went there for dinner, the food was ok but us far of selection I have seen more marginal Casinos buffet offering a more diversification dishes. For the money that we pay it was not worth it. The three of us paid $ 60. The food is cheap. Very nice view from 18th level. I won't go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ileana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Buffet also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Forest Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing