We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, quick, cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy, quick, cheap”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Easy, quick, cheap. Easy to get to the hotel, not a lot of traffic or distractions. However it is worn and the rooms are kinda threadbare. VERY Basic accommodations. Decent buffet, not a fantastic deal, but the room is $40 so what do ya want for $40

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarlowRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    80
    45
    39
See reviews for
57
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I feel that the rooms are clean and nice for what they offer, the only thing is that Wifi is not free and since I need to be on it at night makes it hard sometime to do my work. Food is good and the people are very caring for the guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shocky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazier Park, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We always stop at the Gold Strike on our way to or from Las Vegas. Love the coin slots. Rooms could use updating, but are clean. More food choices would be nice. The buffet is just average. Personnel are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfrazierpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Dirty. The stench was awful in the room. Did not want to know what was on the headboard. ICK. Bed had plastic cover on it. Was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Felt like I needed a shower AFTER I left. Not worth even the discounted price. Gambled on a penny machine, and won $4.......and had to WAIT 20 minutes for cashier to come and pay me out. And she was rude about it. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jean hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

On our trip to LA from Vegas, we stopped in on April 22/14 looking for breakfast and found a great deal for the breakfast buffet with lots of selection, it was very affordable. The chef working the grill area did a great job on my order. On the way back April 24/14 around 3pm, we stopped in again to use the restroom, which was very clean and to do some gambling. What really made my day was talking to the pit boss. He was a well dressed older gentlemen who took the time to talk to us and was a real informative and was a really nice guy. We will definitely make this a necessary stop every time we pass it by,
Canadian Travellers Bert & Rico.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guardamar del segura
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The I-15 south of Las Vegas on a Sunday night is like a car park.. Fed up with the traffic, we came off at Jean to stay at this hotel. The room is great for the (cheap) price. Big, clean and comfortable. Unusually for a casino hotel, there's actually a coffee maker. There's absolutely nothing around here, except a prison, so you have to eat and drink in the hotel. Drinks are very cheap. We ate in the steak restaurant.. Just ok, but we were glad it was there. On the whole a pleasant experience. By the way.. Slots seemed very tight, if that interests you. Wifi is chargeable and expensive. Non smoking room smells faintly of smoke.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, stay in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A last minute reservation needed just south of Vegas and booked at this hotel. I was apprehensive because there is not much going on in Jean and this appeared to be the only hotel. The hotel was far from full and is a large hotel. The people are very nice.
The room was clean and a nice size. The beds had to have been at least 30 to 40 years old and squeaked. The springs were coming up in the mattress. Of course we were not expecting anything fancy, but would have appreciated a comfortable bed and working t.v.

We checked in on a Saturday night and were quite hungry. Since the only food options were buffet or the steak house, we ended up at the steak house. It was almost empty and still our order took nearly an hour to get to our table. To be polite, I will just say that I stuck with the bread and potato as the meat was - well.... The server was really nice.

Gambling: At first I was annoyed by the fact that the machines still use coins and you had to wait for an attendant to cash you out anytime you wanted to move machines. I will say that it was a pleasant environment for gambling.

The best part: Easy on/off the 15. Nice to have a head start out of the Vegas area and we were able to avoid a heavy traffic day by getting an earlier start. Great location, just bring your own food and leave your expectations behind.

Bottom Line: Great location off of the 15 and perfect for those who need to get some rest and a head start before heading to their destination.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_traveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jean
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#48 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 1 Main St, Jean, NV 89019-1602
Location: United States > Nevada > Jean
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 812
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Strike Jean
Gold Strike Hotel And Gambling Hall Jean, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing