We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes "Good Enough" is all you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From where I live in the High Desert of California, it is cheaper and more practical to use the Las Vegas Airport than it is to use Ontario, or any other SoCal Airport. After a family trip over Memorial Day weekend, we were attempting to drive home from the airport on I-15. The traffic was so bad, I burned 1/4 tank of gas in my truck idling my way from Vegas to Jean. Initially, I pulled off at that exit for gas, but when the line for the pumps was all the way up to the exit ramp, my wife called the Gold Strike to see if they had vacancies, they didn't even take our name and told us to come on over. We checked into our $40 room on the 3rd floor. We found the cable didn't work and my three kids spanning ages 2-13 were rambunctious after being on an airplane and stuck in traffic. Within minutes we received a noise complaint. As it was 3:00 in the afternoon and I didn't view the complaint reasonable, I went to the desk to complain about the complaint....with no exaggeration, the clerk was handing me keys to a new room before I could finish my explanation.

The hotel itself is very old and could use some refurbishing. The furniture in the rooms seems like it was probably bought at liquidation auctions from other casinos. The Buffet was not the MGM Grand's but was better than Golden Coral, and was enjoyed by my family.

The Casino isn't huge, and the bar is cash only, but they have $1 Draft Beers, the common table games, and plenty of slot machines. There is also a small video arcade that was able to entertain the kids for a couple of hours outside of the room.

Is it the kind of place that you would make a point of visiting...probably not. Is it a place I'd go back to if the circumstances arise...absolutely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 268 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We didn't stay here, just went for lunch because we had a half-price coupon. Service was good, food was nothing special but OK and worth $8.99 for lunch. If you're going to Vegas, this might be a good lunch stop.
All machines are coin, no tickets. Only table game on the Tuesday we were there was blackjack with no one playing. I asked when the craps table would open: Was told 3 PM Friday.
We left without gambling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crapsplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The only thing this hotel has going for it is it is cheap. Room was large but furnished with mismatched stuff. Air conditioner sounded like a 747 getting ready for takeoff. Hotel was one quarter full but we were given a room at the end of the hall. The shower was made for vertically challenged and did not have enough pressure to rinse shampoo out of hair. Spend a few bucks more and and stay anywhere else on US15.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

stayed here in early september for two nights. the value was excellent since my friend is a high roller (beyond me why he would play here after my experience)& the rooms were comped using his players card. this place should not advertise they have a sportsbook. it is just a kiosk. 10 mins before the game starts the kiosk broke down. i didnt get my bet down. was on hold for 15 mins for someone to fix it. there is not one person taking ncaa football bets on a saturday. casino manager has no pull he said its beyond his control. beyond his control!? he runs the entire place. get a worker at the counter. oh well. kiosk cost me $$ so i decided not to play any slots or tables there. just watch the 3 tv channels inthe room. they should just implode this dump too as the rooms are a joke. ate at the over priced buffet (along with the 4 other people in the entire place) server was pedro and he was poor. he was too busy making up silverware and tables to refill my drink. they were out of ice also. why? no one is in the place.
of course i tossed cookies too back in the room. then next day had to drive 26 miles round trip to primm to get fast food. as gold strike buffet is only place to eat in jean nv.employees just there to collect a paycheck & waiting to transfer to vegas.never again gold strike. nothing gold about the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarHop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped in after missing the breakfast buffet time at southpoint. Boy was I mistaken in picking this place. Overpriced even at 8.99 as the selection was horrible. Fried chicken was dry, salad was drenched and decor was old.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielc912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are old and smelly. The bathroom was gross; clogged sink, toilet would not stop running, shower was stained. The carpet and furniture wear old. The bed was lop sided. We left after we decide that there was no way we could sleep there. By the way, the casino was lame, the craps table was closed. They only have it open four days a week. I can't believe this place will be in business much longer. We ended up staying 11 miles down I-15 @ the Primadona...it was clean, comfortable, and well priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Commo_2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Room condition was terrible. Very dated. Coloring on the wallpaper, TV did not work, no bathtub. I fell asleep with my hand over my nose so that I didn't have to smell the room. I was too tired to drive any further but I will definitely avoid this place in the future. Needs a complete rehab and a better ventilation system.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jean
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#47 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,642 reviews
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#51 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 1 Main Street, Jean, NV 89019
Location: United States > Nevada > Jean
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jean
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 812
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gold Strike Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Strike Jean
Gold Strike Hotel And Gambling Hall Jean, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing