We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Road Trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Star Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Star Hotel and Casino
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jackpot
Gilroy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Summer Road Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

When checking in the hotel did not have our reservation. We showed the person at the desk our print out receipt showing the room had been paid for as well as the contact information with the vendor we booked the room with. We were told we would need to use our credit card, and latter they would see if they could work it out. Not wanting to be charged twice from the lobby I called the booking agent and they called the hotel, in a few moments we were allowed to check in without our card being charged. No idea why the front desk would not have done this, as no one else was checking in at the time. We felt this lack of wanting to help set a bad tone and poorly represented the property. We did find the rooms to be dated, but clean and no issues. on the night we stayed only 5 other cars parked in the lot, so we had a quiet stay. Once front desk is properly trained and focused on the client the property can receive better reviews

Room Tip: Off the road so no noise from traffic. Stayed on 3rd floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am sorry that there was confusion at check in and the inconvenience to you. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    8
    3
    21
See reviews for
6
25
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomona
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Was in Jackpot City after a long drive , checked in at the West Star Hotel, stayed in the town for 2 nights , the room was very well kept and maintained and clean.The king size beds were comfortable . The staff was very friendly and even gave me extra pillows and towels late in the nite and of course cannot forget the coffee.

Since it was my first visit to Jackpot , the front desk helped me a lot with their good knowledge about the area , to sum it up It was a good value for money. I have to visit Jackpot city again in July and have made my reservations with them already. If you value your money and are looking for good sleep and decent place , then I would surely recommend this motel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank enarzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your review is so important to us as we work to offer great services and comfortable accommodations. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The walls in the bath room were dirty the ceiling over the bed had something on it! It was just yucky! The front desk wasn't knowledgeable about check in! Won't go again! This was our get away from the kids and I will go to cactus Pete's next time

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank agypsy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am so sorry that your accommodations were not as clean as expected. I will forward your comments to the manager so corrections can be made. We apologize for the inconvenience to you. We do appreciate our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

this place is horrible. I would not suggest anyone even with a animal staying here. We never slept all night. people running thru halls, banging on walls and at 3 am we heard two pops which sounding like gun shots and then the police arrived. we packed up by 4 exhausted and hit the road which made for a long day driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgia005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments, the items you mentioned are not typical of our facility. We apologize for the inconvenience of being disturbed with noise. Your comments are important so we know of this experience from the guest point of view.
We are a safe hotel, please give us another chance to show you we are a good place to stay.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Trying to save a few bucks for just a one night stay, we took a chance on the West Star based on previous reviews and were not impressed. Basically, we couldn't get past the horrible carpet in our room. It may have been actually clean, but was incredibly stained all over. The rest of the room was acceptably clean. Since prices are not online I called ahead, but when we showed up were quoted a higher price. Ended up paying $55+tax. Can't see how it could be rated better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank JorieLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Public Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have a new owner and improvements are ongoing. Your comments and concerns are very important to our success. We will address the issues that you mentioned.
We appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have stayed here in the past as they take dogs and stopped again out of habit. Pleasantly surprised as under new management and has been upgraded with flat screen T.V., refrigerators and free WiFi. Our room newly painted and spruced up. Pleasant staff and very clean. Stayed one night on way to Ca. and again on the way home a week later. Good value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your return visits. Our new owners and management is upgrading to make the property clean and comfortable with great customer service.
Your business is important to us and is appreciated.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great price, excellent WiFi reception, good continental breakfast, very friendly staff, very quiet, large room, very clean. A nice stop over on the travel to Las Vegas from British Columbia. Close to at least three casinos. Good grocery store in town.
Mattress could be firmer, TV reception a little snowy.

Room Tip: A room on the west side would be quieter but any room should be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at West Star Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will visit property again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackpot hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Jacks Hotel/Casino
0.3 mi away
Cactus Petes Resort Casino
0.3 mi away
Horseshu Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Star Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Star Hotel and Casino

Property: West Star Hotel and Casino
Address: Highway 93 & Poker St., Box 775, Jackpot, NV 89825
Location: United States > Nevada > Jackpot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Jackpot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Star Hotel and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your West Star Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Star Hotel Jackpot
West Star Motel
West Star Hotel And Casino Jackpot, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing