We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice place if you like gambling and can tolerate smoke” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cactus Petes Resort Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Jackpot
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place if you like gambling and can tolerate smoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms at Cactus Pete's are great, particularly the recently remodeled Granite Range (3 story building) and make a nice stop for travelers. The casino has all the games you would expect, but is otherwise sub-par by Vegas standards, especially the air (non) filtration system. The Horseshoe is another story however. It's old, the rooms small and badly in need of renovation, or better still, demolition.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    137
    54
    30
    19
See reviews for
68
215
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I live in Boise, ID, a short 170 mile drive to Jackpot, NV (45 miles South of Twin Falls, ID). My wife is a hemodialysis patient who needs to be within range of her home dialysis center for treatments (otherwise, it's a lot of arrangements for a longer trip). While there are other resort/casinos with in a two-day stay of Boise, Cactus Pete's is our number 1 choice.

First and foremost is the hospitality and genuine "we are glad to see you" welcome we receive. This, combined with four-star amenities and some great room choices make Cactus Pete's a regular getaway for us. (My favorite are the 10th floor spa suites in the Towers.)

The selection of "slot machines" at Cactus Pete's is wonderful! I am not a table game player, so the opportunity to try my luck on a great variety of fun to play (and relatively inexpensive) machines is great fun. We are not big gamblers, but we always have fun. The machines pay well, and we have had some occassions when we have come home with more money that we left with. Even when we don't, it was a good time.

The Food at Cactus Pete's is outstanding. Great quality and attention to detail is always there, no matter if it is the Pizza Hut for a quick snack, or the Plateau Room for fine, gormet dining. (I was raised in the restaurant business, and I know what I'm talking about here!) The Desert Room is our regular stop, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The service is impeccible as well.

Entertainment at Cactus Pete's may seem a bit limited if you are from Las Vegas, but it is great fun. Our favorite band, Paul Revere and the Raiders, appear at least once a year. We never miss them.

We consider Cactus Pete's a great place to getaway to once every two-months or so. For 20 years and counting, it's been one of our favorite places.

Room Tip: I advise you plan to stay at the Granite Range or Tower Rooms. The Horseshu Hotel across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

outstanding rooms, at lease in the tower. huge towels, great shower, well furnished rooms. great beds, big HDTV. Very quite. Casino nice but machines are a little tight. They also have some pretty good shows.

Room Tip: Choose a Tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I injured myself and needed a Band-Aid and ideally some hydrogen peroxide and/or antibiotic cream like Neosporin. (I tripped next to the hot tub and skinned my leg quite badly.) There wasn't anything like that in the gift shop so we asked the front desk for a fist aid kit. They were rude and said security had to bring it up to our room. They were pretty quick, but they only brought us 2 lemon-scented hand wipes and 1 scented antibacterial hand wipe- neither I could use. You would think a big casino like that would have something more appropriate to offer their customers in need of medical attention. Or at least sell it in their gift shop for triple the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Horseshu is now part of the Ameristar chain with Cactus Pete's. The rate was alot lower and so we choose it. It is across the street from the resort and very nice on the outside. We have stayed at Ameristar's before which are usually outstanding. We noticed some of the Ameristar touches at the Horseshu with quality linens and amenities. The bed however....they need to upgrade the beds soon. Like sitting on a stadium bench, very hard. No box springs just a box. We would most likely stay at the resort next time until they got all the upgrades done at the Horseshu. You register at the resort and we got a players card first for a better rate. Since I am a veteran the players club host told me to mention during check in and I recieved another $10.00 off the room rate. One of the lowest cost rooms of our trip. Guess we can have that hard bed for one night.

Room Tip: Ask if they have gotten all the Ameristar upgrades done and have replaced the brick hard beds. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyRoadsTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The 2 Q room we had was so wonderful.. The sheets were so comfortable. Don't know what kind they were. There was plenty of room, big HDTV and the showerhead was fabulous! We almost stayed another day just to be so comfortable but, had to finish our trip. Really nice place.

Room Tip: 8th floor ..2 rooms from elevator. Heard no noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pffmwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Cactus Petes while on a road trip to California. After some initial difficulty finding the check-in desk, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facility. Our room was spacious and well-apointed. Staff were helpful and friendly. In the cafe, our server and the keno lady were both fun and added to our pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Cactus Petes Resort Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackpot hotels
0.1 mi away
Horseshu Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Four Jacks Hotel/Casino
0.3 mi away
West Star Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Petes Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Petes Resort Casino

Property: Cactus Petes Resort Casino
Address: 1385 Highway 93, PO Box 508, Jackpot, NV 89825
Location: United States > Nevada > Jackpot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Jackpot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cactus Petes Resort Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Cactus Petes Resort Casino in Jackpot, Nevada features a 296-room luxury hotel, as well as a 26,000-square-foot live action casino. Guests can enjoy one of five enticing dining options, go for a swim in the Olympic sized pool, or relax at the Jackpot 18-hole golf course. Don’t miss the Summer Outdoor Concert Series at Cactus Petes. This event is held in the 4,000-seat amphitheater and draws legendary musicians for all to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cactus Petes Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Petes Jackpot
Cactus Petes Hotel Jackpot
Cactus Petes Resort Casino Jackpot, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing