We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“saved the day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“saved the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2005

Our reservation was a friday stay but we needed a thursday also due
to the condidtions at the Biltmore. the manager was quick to help us
even though the celeberty golf tournament was that weekend. the
cottage on the beach was very nice. many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 23Texas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    557
    175
    80
    49
See reviews for
646
772
56
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

We stayed at the Hyatt July 17-20: Two parents, two grandparents and one 4 year old boy. We had a great time and will return the next time we're looking for a summer spot at Tahoe.

We had two rooms at $160 each (plus $12 resort fee) that we booked on Hotwire.The Hyatt is easy to zero in on Hotwire since it's the only top end resort in Incline Village. I've heard of even cheaper Priceline rates but I think you run the "risk" of winding up on the California side, say at Squaw, and we really wanted to be on the beach.

Occupancy was less than 50% so a little grovelling at the front desk got us upgraded to executive kings in the new wing on the first floor facing the pool. We didn't see the towers but had the distinct impression that the better rooms are in the new three story wings.

PLUSSES: The rooms were clean, large and well furnished. The exec king plus resort fee got us a free refrigerator (upon request) so we grabbed groceries at the Raleighs the first day and did lunches together in the room. Valet parking also free. Good wifi signal in the room if you have T-Mobile, or $10/day hardline DSL if you don't.

The two pools are fine, a touch on the cool side for a four year old, but we got him in every day and he's a hot water lover. Fine hot tubs and a mini-playground that's passable. Plenty of kids but enough free pool mattress and foam noodles for all to play with.

The beach is awesome- large, white sand, crystal clear water, and all the water sports stuff you could care (for rent). In mid-July after a heat wave the water was pretty comfortable for swimming, though Tahoe is often pretty chilly because it's so deep. Free beach chairs and cabanas that did not fill up.

The Lone Eagle Grill is a fine beach-facing upscale restaurant, a small step below the high standards of fine dining in the Bay Area. Be sure to make a reservation and ask for a window seat. Breakfasts at the Sierra next to the casino were OK and the buffet was a pretty good deal for kids at $9.

The Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival is about three miles down the lake on the east side. Good community theatre quality on a wonderful outdoor stage in Sand Harbor State Park with decent food (stall vendors). We caught two shows (Macbeth and Comedy of Erros) and enjoyed both. There's also a one hour afternoon kids program of the Tempest that we didn't get to. Book ahead online.

Minusses:
It's an 8 minute walk to the beach from the main hotel. Basically if you have kids this means you have to plan a trip to the lake as an activity rather than popping in and out as you can with the pools. If you have young kids and don't want to cross the semi-busy street ask at the front desk for the combination to the door on the overpass bridge. For a lot of money you can get the cottages down at the lake which looked great, but then it's an 8 minute walk up to the pools.

The casino is small and discretely contained so our young son was not overly exposed to it. But roulette was paying only 1.5 to 1 on red and black which amazed us non-gamblers.

Avoid Ciao Mein- a weird italian chinese fusion restaurant. Imagine ravioli with hoisin-sauced stuffing, etc.

Note to the management: There is ground cover between the first floor patios and the grass. It makes a nice privacy boundary for the rooms but it's a pain to get through on the way to the pool. Add a few flagstones.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank royroyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

My Husband and I stayed here in May of '05..Had a Club level room and were blown away by the view..The snow capped mountains directly in front of us and the lake to the left. The walk to the lake was lovely..Lone Eagle was pricey but very good..Next time, I'll try for a less expensive and perhaps less run of the mill meal..but overall, we were very happy with the service, the cleanliness and the location..Book early..We got a Club Level room for 200.00 a night!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dee2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2005

First of all: I wasn't sure what to think about the last reviews if the hotel is at lake Tahoe or not. My opinion: All Cottages (which are very expensive) are directly on lake tahoe including beach-access. The main-hotel is about 200 metres distance to lake tahoe (with easy access over a pedestrian-bridge). So it's very easy to go to the beach. In my opinion the people who are not satisfied with the distance to the beach are people who can't just walk 150 or 200 metres without taking they're car.
We got a upgrade from Regency-Club-room to a nice beachfront cottage. It was nice, but not worth the 850 USD they want to charge (we paid 270 USD for Regency Club). Cottages have their own fire place and balcony. Regency Club at main hotel just neutral/average as I've seen better Hyatt Regency-Clubs all over the world.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

My husband and I hopped in the car for a spur of the moment over night getaway to unwind from our stressful lives. We were lucky enough to get a room a this lovely hotel. The place is very clean, no smell of smoke, and has access to just about any activity you would go to Tahoe for. The decor is comfortable, there is a small casino, the views of the mountains from the 11th floor were fantastic. There is a nice pool and two hot tubs (one for adults only), a private beach, plenty of places to walk and explore. The spa is fantastic. We enjoyed a fireside couples massage. The Lone Eagle Grill served up some great dinner; try the Trio platter if you get a chance. There is also a floating pier bar open during the day. Overall, a great place to go for a peaceful, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeysMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2005

I had the best time at this Hotel in May 2005. It was super clean, had some great and varied restaraunts on site. I stayed in the new Spa Terrace wing and couldn't have been happier - I had my own private terrace overlooking the pool & could walk out from my room to the pool. It was my first trip to Lake Tahoe and I enjoyed being on the North Shore - it's quieter than the South Shore and the Hyatt's private beach is great. The Lone Eagle Grill served me the best meal of my life - The Lone Eagle Trio. The Golden Eagle drink was a great festive drink to kick off my evening. Also the restaraunt has a gorgeous view of the lake & live music. I got a massage, pedicure & hair treatment. The pedicure & hair treatment were great. I've had better massages - I got the Stillwater Signature massage and probably should have requested the Swedish. The spa facilities are some of the best I've seen - their relaxation room can't be beat. If you're going to Lake Tahoe, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

Visited this property after the renovation. The service was excellent and the new rooms couldn't be better. Even though the property is just about a block from the lakeshore, it is an easy walk to the beach, and it is all through hotel grounds. The restaurant (Eagle's Nest) is a great place for any meal, but specially Sunday brunch.
Stayed in one of the new rooms (not the tower). These are in a low-rise structure attached to the main building. They have patios or balconies and they are superb.
The casino, though small, is open 24-hours, friendly and with a variety of both table games and slots.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hacmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Incline Village
10.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
15.0 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
19.4 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
19.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
20.6 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino

Property: Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Address: 111 Country Club Drive, Incline Village, NV 89451-9305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular setting on Lake Tahoe’s north shore with 500 feet of private, lakefront beach. Surrounded by towering pines and mountain greenery; 35 miles to Reno/Tahoe Int’l Airport; 40 miles to South Lake Tahoe Airport. Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino was recreated in the classic style of a 1920s alpine grand lodge. Exterior renovations of river rock and shingles complement the natural environment with colors echoing the tradition and sense of history of the original homes built in the Tahoe area. Extensive river rock landscaping and two outdoor fireplaces add to the guests' sense of arrival at the "Old Tahoe-Lodge" style entrance. The resort's Grand Lobby boasts crafted stonework, creating a cozy setting amid the warmth of an oversized double-sided fireplace, rich leather chairs and high-beam ceilings. The 421 guestrooms, including 24 lakeside cottages, have been decorated with natural pine, distressed wood, and leather furnishings, reflecting the setting with autumn colors of moss, brick red and wheat. Included in our Lake Tahoe resort's $60 million transformation was the addition of the Spa Terrace, a new three-story wing adjacent to the main 12-story hotel. Offering 138 luxury guestrooms with views of the Sierra Nevada skyline, the addition provides visitors with private balconies and breathtaking lake views. The Spa Terrace replaces the resort's former Aspen Terrace and overlooks the resort's new swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Lake Tahoe Resort
Hyatt Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Incline Village
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa And Casino Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing