We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Large menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Wok Restaurant

China Wok Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Large menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are so many choices that it is nice to take advantage of the specials full meals that they offer. Lots of food offered for the price. The best deal is their lunches where you can get soup with the meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good standby for lunch..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We eat lunch here 2-3 times a month. It's a locals place and when you're a local you get good, friendly service, including being told what sort of food is good for you and, occasionally, a discussion on the current political situation in either Taiwan or the US. The food is good, average Chinese.. We like the pot stickers (not very good for you), the spring rolls (hot and crispy), the won ton soup (full of stuff that's good for you) and the 'happy meal'. The latter is easily big enough for two and we usually take some home as well so for $11.95 it's a good deal. The house fried rice is also filled with shrimp, beef etc. and one serving is plenty for two people. The place is a little bit run down and the restroom is rather so-so, but overall we enjoy the place. Just be patient if the service is slow - relax, it's probably a Chinese thing that's good for you!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahuku, Hawaii
1 review
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Quirky owners. They were arguing over some personal issue with their kids or something. They kept yelling at each other in Chinese. Food was ok.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Short on service but food is decent. 1 Goodyear star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I picked this restaurant because it was right across from the Hyatt where I was staying.

The location was ideal for the road warrior who wanted something other than hotel fare. But does location offer a real alternative? Let's test it out.

I came in at 5.30 PM sharp. It was a late October date, in between seasons. There was one local who was waiting for a take-out. The owner took five minutes to seat me in, and another five minutes to offer me tea. She was the cashier, host, concierge, waitress, and maybe cook too.

I picked three gold-standard chinese fares, an egg roll appetizer, a hot and sour soup and a sweet and sour chicken. It was like asking for a Big Mac. There is an expectation of what you should see and taste whether you order it in Lakeland, Florida or Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

There was a 10 minute wait before the food arrived. I only saw one other table and a drop-in customer who ordered take-out. The hot and sour soup was hot but generic. The broth was average and the bamboo shoots were cut micro-sized julienne. The egg rolls were burning hot, crispy and good. The sweet and sour chicken was decent, but generic and not memorable.

I could have been offered a second cup of rice, but it was assumed that what I had in front of me was enough. Same goes for the tea. No refill. Oh, it was not jasmine or green tea or oolong, just plain whatever.

The tab came to be about $20 + tips. The owner surely deserved the tips because she seemed to be overworked.

Final words: Food is standard Chinese fare, generic with no real standouts except for the egg rolls. Service is iffy. With a larger-sized crowd this could present a real problem.

This restaurant would do better as a drive-in and take-out instead of a full menu business. Marketing tip: reduce the menu list and increase the turnaround time. For this I would give the Wok a one Goodyear star.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lapster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't go hungry, you''ll starve waiting for service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was the worst service i've had in years. It took 45 min to get our appetizers and soup. Another 30 for the entree. The food was good but we were so hungry anything would have been good. They weren't very busy either. We were so disgusted, we don't remember how much it was.+

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gottrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Wok Restaurant also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to China Wok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing