We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best french fries in the USA”

Austin's Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best french fries in the USA”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great little hole in the wall place. I had the wonderful hamburger with bacon and cheese and the buttermilk french fries. We ordered an artichoke and spinach quesadilla for appetizer that I did not care for but the other diners had a fit over it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank texasyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    144
    56
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice and relaxing.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Went back to this restaurant twice, fantastic service and relaxing outdoor atmosphere. Food was really good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieInTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verrua Savoia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food ok, service management is not”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped here for lunch, while driving around the lake.
We took a table outside, under the trees. Informal and nice location. Road is few inches from your table, but you do not really realize it.
We ordered chili, chicken sandwich and fresh spinach salad. Quality was very good (four points).
Prices are ok (four points).
The lady who assisted us was kind but the service was definitively poor (two points). After being seated, we waited at the table and nobody showed up. After soliciting, a lady came, telling us she was not assigned to the table, but she was getting the order. After a while, a waiter came apologizing for being late: he was busy inside and took a bit of time to come to us. He would have assisted us with more timing. Never showed up again. The lady kept assisting us, complaining about the fact it was not her table.
Nothing to say about the waiters: they were kind. But this is definitively a lack of management. Absolutely inefficient. The table next to ours waited even for a longer time: we were on vacation, they were workers and needed to go back to their job...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monferrato_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big Salads!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Their salads are all wonderful and huge. I have visited this restaurant for years and always had a great experience. Get a piece of the cornbread if it doesn't come with your meal because it is to die for. Apple pie is homemade and so good that I have bought entire pies before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExtensiveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Steaks.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our party of 12 arrived for dinner. The restaurant was very accommodating. They have the best steak I have ever had. While there is not much room, it has a nice atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Preston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Austin's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing