We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dinner”
Review of Wild Alaskan Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Wild Alaskan Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village
Transit: TART Mainline - Incline to Tahoma
Description: Wild Alaskan Restaurant and Bar is a casual dining experience in the heart of Incline Village. We offer a friendly atmosphere fit for large groups, families and couples. Come enjoy our cozy fireplace during the winter and our outdoor patio seating during the summer. Our specialty is seafood, however we have something for everyone! We serve wild salmon from the Copper River in Alaska. A customer favorite is our Wild Thai Seafood soup. If you're not in the mood for fish, we also have a wide variety of other options including sandwiches, tacos, wraps and entrees. Try our teriyaki rice bowls or thai curry made with your choice of seafood, meat or make it vegetarian.Also, be sure to stop by our Happy Hours. That's right; two Happy Hours! Enjoy drink specials and specially priced menu items during our traditional Happy Hour from 3 to 6 p.m. Then come back for more drink specials from 9 to 10 p.m.
Independence, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stopped in for dinner attracted by the name of the restaurant and the reviews. It must have been a bad night as our experience paled by comparison to the other reviews. The appetizers were good and nicely presented on the plate. From that point, it was a different story.

server was the only one on duty and she was trying hard to keep up with the increasing volume of customers. The requested medium well to well burger came out rare. The macaroni and cheese side was right out of the generic box. When the burger finally came back, it was still near medium but closer to medium rare.

The teriyaki bowl was good but nothing special; a bit overpriced for the meal.

The server did comp one of the appetizers which we appreciated but if would be unlikely we would return on another visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch on our trip around Lake Tahoe. Turned out to be a vacation favorite! Loved the crab melt sandwich! Great staff, great atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funvacations4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went in for dinner with my sweetheart, you may know her as the most beautiful woman in the world.
I'm a lucky guy.
I had the Halibut, she the Coho Salmon.
It was outstanding!
It is easy to overcook fish, but these entrees were perfect.
Wasabi coleslaw has just the right amount of kick, goes well with all their entrees.
We also tried and loved the Thai seafood soup, really good.
Enjoyed a couple glasses of Argentinian Malbec with dinner.. Yes I know red with fish, sue me. It was very good too.
Service was terrific, just the right amount of checking on us allowed us to have quality time together!
Casual dining with an easy no pressure Tahoe vibe.
In a small town you have to be good to last more than a year or two. Wild Alaska has stood the test of time.
Will be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot for a home style meal, hospitable environment and fabulous fish”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the sesame salad starter and grilled salmon and crab cake entrees for dinner (approx 50usd 2pax not inc tip) the waitress was very accommodating with dietary requirements and the service was efficient. The atmosphere is half pub half restaurant but the decor is thoughtful and has the comforts of a warm home restaurant. Menu includes Thai fusion flavours, build your own soft tacos/salads, grilled fish and loads of sandwich and wrap options. Convenient location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xinmei55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Two visits in two days”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our first lunch here was pleasant as the food (salmon burger and salmon wrap) came quick: ten minutes! Good food, large portions, good service. On getaway day we decided to eat here again, this time much to our surprise it took forty minutes to get our food! Similar order as our first visit. No explanation was given, none was requested, just quite surprising. Still pretty good food but due to the slow service of the second visit at a similar time of day I rate this just a ***.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Alaskan Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing