We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate dining, California fresh, great wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack Rabbit Moon

Jack Rabbit Moon
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Restaurant and Bar serving American cuisine with a flair.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intimate dining, California fresh, great wine list”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment you are greeted a the door you feel at home. Comfortable, cozy atmosphere with comfortable seating and nice decor. Don't pretend you are in New York or San Francisco with regard to a spacious dining experience, remember Tahoe unlike the city is a seasonal resort area so there are many months of the year when business is very slow...nothing worse than dining in a huge restaurant with no one there. Note that in the summer you are free to dine outdoors under the bright orange umbrellasThis is a gem and should be appreciated for the unique food, sophisticated melding of flavors, great wine selection and certainly the friendly professional staff who are eager guide your experience. The chef changes the menu seasonally and goes out of her way to provide the freshest local produce available. I give JRM 5 full stars...can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Chef, Best Food in Northern Nevada”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a phenomenal place. Small, cozy with a short, but great menu selection, that changes seasonally. Also, a nice wine selection with a helpful, knowledgeable staff; can't recommend it enough, especially to a true foodie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Such a magnificent view and setting. Unfortunately food was not up to it with fish that was dry and parts still cold inside the batter. Wine sold needs anther few years in the barrell

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nv
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Expectation vs. Reality”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have found that expectations can enhance or ruin a new experience; in this case my expectations did not enhance the experience. My husband and I went there with another couple for dinner on a Saturday night. We walked in to the bar and couldn't seem to be able to spot the main dining area. Well, that is because the "main dining room" and the bar are one entity separated by the greeter's podium. The tables were so close together that you could easily hear, follow and contribute to the neighboring tables' conversations. I like intimate settings, but that is a little too close to other groups. If I were in a European country I would expect that, but I'm not and I don't.

The service was attentive and consistent with the lively atmosphere. The food was the winning point of the evening. Wow! Everything the four of us ordered was absolutely wonderful. I don't think words can describe just how delicious and unique each preparation was, and the presentations were awesome in and of themselves.

I would recommend to a friend to go to Jack Rabbit Moon, enjoy the fabulous food but do not expect a quiet, intimate, personal setting. Like I said, my expectations put a damper on my experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank godsbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“should be #1”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Make a reservation and go have dinner at the best restaurnt in Incline village.Great food great service and a well priced wine list.we have visited most restaurants in Incline,this is the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Rabbit Moon also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Jack Rabbit Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing