We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "in" spot for now - food very uneven”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bite

Bite
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bite Restaurant & Bar is an American tapas restaurant in North Lake Tahoe.
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The "in" spot for now - food very uneven”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I expected great things - from the eager crowds even on a Monday night to the delicious sounding menu. Unfortunately the actual food was a real disappointment. A fresh spinach saute was the saving grace of an otherwise forgettable meal. Halibut tacos in particular were a poor choice. I should have learned by now not to order ocean fish 300 miles from the ocean. But frankly a restaurant with these pretensions should not have served it unless they could deliver.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    86
    29
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Casual Dining in North Tahoe”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We are just home from 7 days at Lake Tahoe, and we ate three times at BITE during our one-week stay. It was THAT good. The setting is casual and friendly, both in the bar and in the main dining room. We tried virtually everything on the menu and never had anything we didn't like. Especially noteworthy were the lamb chops, beef tenderloin, rocket salad (with fresh arugula and peaches), and the tomato soup. The only thing we didn't try was the sliders, and everyone around us was raving about them. I love the desserts--especially the "bites" of key lime pie and the mini ice-cream sandwiches made with house-made chocolate chip cookies. They also have an amazing pomegranite cocktail. The staff is really friendly, especially the owners. Loved this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best Spot on North Shore!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Awesomely wonderful place in Incline Village. So unassuming from the outside, but a wonderful atmosphere inside. Classy but still casual enough to fit in to the Tahoe scene properly. The menu is pretty dazzling -- an awesome range of small bites and a great little wine menu. I've popped in on nearly every trip to Incline Village and have never encountered anything I didn't absolutely love. We munched on the risotto balls to start (deliciously cheesy) and shared a mixed green salad which was perfect. The ahi sliders were a solid choice (though the goat cheese sliders are surprisingly amazing) and the vegetable empanadas and fish tacos were equally awesome. While I didn't really get to peruse the dessert menu, we grabbed the key lime pie bites which were out-of-this-world AMAZING and decadent (two bites is definitely enough)! You can definitely go with a group and share the goodies, but it makes an amazing place for a date! Perfection!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lavidashannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by the cover.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the outside this looks like a hole in the wall. Walk through the doors and be impressed. The lovely, well planned interior is something you would find in downtown San Francisco. The food is great. Fresh, flavorfull and perfectly portioned. We split a bowl of the heavenly gumbo and ordered separate mains. The scalops I had were perfect! I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Fun Find”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tahoe has so many good restaurants. Bite is definitely one of them. There are many interesting American Tapas on the menu, and some great comfort foods that the kids loved. We each ordered two things. That was more than enough. The prices are very reasonable. It gave us a chance to sample many interesting dishes. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormerBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bite also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing