We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Loved their instructors!”

Diamond Peak Ski & Snowboard School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional instructors, low student to instructor ratio, gentle slopes, and a friendly environment provide an ideal place to learn how to ski or snowboard at Diamond Peak Ski Resort. Group lessons and private lessons are available for beginners, intermediate and advanced skiers and snowboarders. The Diamond Peak Child Ski Center offers group and private ski lessons and private snowboard lessons for children 4-7 years old. 3 year olds are accepted in private ski or snowboard lessons only. The Diamond Peak Ski & Snowboard School offers group and private ski and snowboard lessons for ages 7+.
Irvine, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Kids Loved their instructors!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Kids did two half days of ski school. Both days they had great instructors. They are intermediate boarders and had never gone beyond blue runs. By the second day they were not afraid of black diamond runs...... even though I am! We tipped the instructors $10-$20 and they gave us a $10 off coupon for the next day's lesson. I took an intermediate lesson which was pretty good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irvine-Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for training wheels!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Diamond Peak Ski School has been an important staple in the Tahoe and Reno/Carson ski communities for decades. The teachers are genuinely interested in the progress of their pupils and the mountain has managed to maintain that family friendly, homey, local mountain feel.

Much like the surfers seeking their endless summers, the ski instructors tend to be New Zealanders who are in pursuit of their endless winter by teaching in Tahoe while it is summer in their homeland. Delightful and engaging, Diamond Peak continues to be my hometown favorite because of the staff alone. There is no vibe here. The staff and patrons embrace the sport of ski and board because it is a great family activity.

All 3 of my kids went through the program and they continue to be avid skiers today, some 17 years later.

Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch out for holidays”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I sent a relative to the ski school over President's Weekend last year. The school seems to manage to accommodate everyone, but the lessons are compromised by groups which are too large trying to work in an area which is too small. My cousin (an adult) left the group and it is doubtful that her absence was noted.

The school has a good reputation but the beginners areas are small. I am sure that it would have been a better experience at a less "prime" time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TahoeScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Diamond Peak is perfect for families!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The school - and much of the resort - caters to the beginner and is the perfect venue for families learning to ski. The instructors are attentive, the slopes ranging from near-flat to as aggressive as any beginner would want, and they have a complete rental facility.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mes227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Go here!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you need lessons, this is a great place to do it. First, easy access to the mountain. Second, the beginner slopes are good, in terms of having more than one level to learn on. Third, the instructors all seem friendly and knowledgable. I got to know a half-dozen of them (three of us were taking lessons), and I liked them all. Last, can't beat the price here. No reason to pay a premium at Heavenly or Squaw Valley.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank marc f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Peak Ski & Snowboard School also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Diamond Peak Ski & Snowboard School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing