We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise charge”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed here in the past, but this time was different. We booked through Priceline for a great price, but were disappointed with the room. The beds were lumpy, the shower had someone else's hair in the tub, and we were charged $16.95 for amenities that were never used.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    375
    186
    63
    55
See reviews for
297
285
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is an okay place to stay.
Pros-comfortable rooms, convenient places to eat within hotel, movie theater inside hotel, easy and free parking.
Cons- very smoky (desperately needs better ventilation system), rooms need facelift.
If you can get a good price then it is worth the stay. If you cannot stand the smell of smoke everywhere, then this is not the place for you.
Last note- the Italian restaurant on site is awesome with great prices!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Sunset Station has found a place on our list of regular places to stay. It has excellent rooms with comfortable beds. The food choices are great both in and near the complex. If you are into gaming it has a lot to offer, but it also has bowling, movies and other fun things to do all in one location. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Great deals are available throughout the year. Try it - you won't regret it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

What does it tell you when a hotel cannot even provide two tiny bars of soap: one for the bathroom sink and another for the shower? This is the type of scrimping evident at this property. The beds were uncomfortable, the room was small and drafty and the supposedly freshly laundered towels smelled of cigarette smoke.


On the upside, guests must show their room keys to access the elevator, we did have free internet and the Grand Cafe is an excellent place to eat breakfast and there is a huge lot with free parking.

Room Tip: A higher floor will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I take several trips to Las Vegas each year (it is my favorite place to party!) and always stay at resorts on the strip. I got an invitation to visit the Station Casinos and decided on Palace Station in Henderson because I usually go there anyway to shop! I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were very professional, friendly, and just very pleasant personnel. The buffet restaurant was excellent with an omelet station, Asian cuisine, Italian, American breakfast items, salads, pastas, desserts! It was wonderful and with their rewards card only $4.99 per person. The room was spacious and very clean, and the property is well protected by security. You have to have a room card to even get the elevator to move. So, I felt quite safe after winning a nice jackpot my first night there!!! Had a great time, great shopping nearby and great restaurants, as well. You do need a car though!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeP617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We love coming to this hotel, after being on the strip a few times this hotel is a great alternative choice. The rooms are immaculate and the staff are always welcoming and friendly. Opposite the hotel is a very large shopping centre (the Galleria) with a great range of shops. Also to the side is a very large Walmart and as a Brit I love shopping in here. Its location is also very good for driving to the premium outlets that are scattered about through Henderson and Vegas.
Husband loves this casino as its never jam packed and he is able to get on the tables. Inside the hotel there are great places to eat and a Starbucks which was the start of our day. This place really is a jewel and Id highly recommend it if you fancy a change from staying on the strip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susankryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is apparently where the locals go so supposedly the payouts are better, the food prices are better, etc. We were traveling through the Vegas area on a cross country road trip with our dogs, so avoided the strip this time around (no nice clothes, too much hassle with the dogs, etc.). We went to Sunset on a whim.

It is exactly what you would expect from a "locals" casino on a random weekday evening. There was a lot of smoke, a lot of people who looked as if they should probably not be wasting their limited income on slot machines, etc. The cocktail waitresses also were obviously the waitresses who could not get hired on the strip. Just overall an "uck" factor here.

That said, we actually won a little money and had some fun killing about an hour. If you just want to gamble and have slightly better odds - and you don't care about the atmosphere - this may be the place for you. If you enjoy the nicer, higher end mega casinos on the strip you will not enjoy this place.

We did not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
3.8 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Property: Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Vegas.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing