We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE OFF THE STRIP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay, off the strip with plenty to do. Once you've stayed on the strip a few times the shock and awe go away. We were shocked at how large the room was for a casino hotel very nice. If you can, ask for a higher floor so you get some view. The room was clean and well decorated. House keeping and other staff were very attentive to any needs even though this was a 4 night comp stay. Lots of good choices for food, and if you get tired of gambling go see a movie at the theater inside the casino or go bowling also inside the casino. This was our first trip to Vegas that we didnt go to the strip even once.The outlying casinos have plenty to offer if you want a bit of a slower pace. Overall this was a great stay in our 3500 mile road trip. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucke107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

we booked this because it was cheep and it looked like it was close to the strip , it isnt ! so cost us lots in taxis .the rooms were dated the bathroom was old but the beds were comfortable
The food was cheep in the hotel but the casino was old fashioned
When we checked out they charged us for the gym , which we didnt even know they had and when i complained that they hadnt told us about this charge or even that was a gym they said nothing
really woulnt recommend if you dont have children or are under the age of 70 !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEVERLEYANNE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I will start this review with a bit of a back-story. We never planned on staying here, I had actually never even heard of it before. We were in Vegas for our wedding & had a Groupon to stay at the Green Valley Ranch. Well the GVR had massively over-booked themselves & decided to bump all of the Groupon-users to their sister properties. I understand this happens, but the room was booked for the night before my wedding and the night of my wedding (so we could get away from the hustle & bustle of the strip where we were getting married) Needless to say I was insanely NOT IMPRESSED!!! (to be fair GVR did do a decent job at taking care of things & making sure I was somewhat satisfied, but I will NOT be staying there even with the promised free nights I've been offered) Back to the Sunset Station....

I arrived late in the evening with my mother & sister. I was very unhappy due to the events that had happened, but did my best to not take it out on the SS. I reached the front desk after a woman basically told the guy off (another happy Groupon person who was bumped) The gentleman was more than accommodating & very sweet when I busted out into tears for the millionth time that day. He checked his system & apologized he could not give us a suite as the hotel was at capacity due to the GVR mess up, I had not even asked for this. We went up to our room & found it to be very large and clean. We had a nice meal at the Italian restaurant (name slips my mind right now)

The next day I spoke to the GVR who then called a manager & managed to get me & my husband changed to a HUGE suite for our wedding night! It was beautiful and had a bar & living room & was just amazing! It was just the 2 of us, but it was so nice to have such a lovely space after dealing with so much stress!

Basically everything at the SS was beyond expectations. The Italian restaurant was delicious, the buffet was great for the price (free in our case, but I would gladly pay the prices they list), the staff was incredible & the casino had a wonderful vibe & we were able to stretch our dollars and play a long while.

We are happily planning on coming back next time we are in Vegas to enjoy a night away from the strip. Thank you Sunset Station for saving the day for our wedding :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent a night here just before New Year's, and got a great rate. Imagine our surprise when we checked in and got a an upgrade to a King Suite. The suite was HUGE, with amazing views from floor to ceiling windows in both the living room and bedroom (it's a corner suite), had 5 telephones, a wet bar with fridge, two large flat-screen TV's, three closets, a powder room, and a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, separate shower, his & her sinks & make-up vanity. There was also a living room and dining area. We did not want to leave when our check out time rolled around... If you can get an upgrade to this suite, it really is lovely, and I would highly recommend it.

Wi-Fi was included along with a paper in the reasonable "resort fee", and there is a Starbucks downstairs for the morning. We also enjoyed the "Gaudi bar", reminded us of our trip to Barcelona!

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snooksinK.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Visited family that live in Henderson on this Pre Xmas trip. First ,this station property is a great value. Had a king room that was clean and comfortable. Loved the Starbucks in the casino, very convenient for a cup on the go. Parking was free and easily accessible. Even though I knew ahead of time about the resort fees I think they are a rip off considering its winter and you cannot use the pool. However the Internet was free. Our housekeeper was very nice and gave us extra pillows and towels. This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a local experience but stay on the strip for the complete Las Vegas sensation.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe king or junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asaptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Away from the Las Vegas strip, in the southeastern part of town, is Sunset Station Hotel and Casino. This casino is such a good value, with hotel rooms as low as 20 dollars a night. As a local, I was wary at first because I didn't know if it would be old and broken down. Instead, I found the hotel room to be quite nice, the hallway quiet, and a good, relaxing getaway. Downstairs in the main casino floor, there are plenty of slots to be had, and the playing area is nice and brightly lit, not like some of the other casinos where everyone is figuratively and literally playing almost in the dark. In addition, there is a 24-hour bowling alley for the kids, a great movie theater, and a good selection in the buffet.There is a 24-hour-cafe, Grand Cafe, but I would avoid it in the future as they overcharge for orange juice and tea (2 dollars for bagged tea that I could make better, and 1.75 for a small cup of orange juice), and go straight for the buffet. I signed up for a player's card, and the morning buffet was discounted to 5.99, and the dinner was only 9.99. While the buffet isn't as fancy as the Bellagio or Paris (no blood oranges or brie cheese), the cooking is still quality, and the food still tastes great, with a good selection of American-style dishes, a carving station, a Chinese station, and pasta and pizza.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nvccsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I booked a package which contained one night's accomodations, 2 movie tickets, and 2 dinner buffets for about $80. While he took in two movies, I took in the penny slots. The slot selection is great, with many new machines I had not seen before, as well as the old standards. I managed to stretch my pennies into several hours of play and had a great time. I did well on one machine and then left it, and couldn't find it an hour or so later. A very nice attendant looked it up on a computer and brought me right to it. Love the music in the casino, too.
Our room was large, very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We ate dinner at the buffet and breakfast in the cafe, as we had to check out before the buffet opened. Both meals were excellent and the service was attentive. The desk check in clerk even helped us with our boarding pass. After having been to LV 20+ times, we much prefer the off strip properties, as we find your money goes farther and it is more personal. We hope to include Sunset Station in a future visit.

Room Tip: Ours faced away from the strip and we had a gorgeous sunrise view. We have stayed on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 456Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henderson hotels
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Las Vegas - Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: $61 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing