We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay ... Decent Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Rowlett, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay ... Decent Facility”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This review is based on a return visit I made to this hotel over the Thanksgiving weekend, 2012.

I occupied a standard room with one king bed. The room was of ample size, clean, and all furnishings were in excellent condition. The bed was comfortable and delivered a good night's sleep. The room was also very quiet - no noise carried into the room from the hallway or other rooms close by.

The room was furnished with the bed, a small round cocktail table with 2 side chairs, an armoire with a large, flat-screen TV. The lack of a work desk or a desktop counter was a bit odd, although the cocktail table could be (and was) used to set up my laptop PC. The round shape of the table, however, did not lend itself to spreading out any materials, so if you need a room that is conducive to business or working on your PC, you might request a room with a desk (assuming they have them) to make sure you've got ample space.

Access to the hotel is via elevators that are located a very long way from reception. Be sure to bring your hiking shoes! The elevators do have a security feature requiring the insertion of a guest room card in order to access a guest floor. The elevators are also quite speedy and I found no long waits for one, even during busy times.

Ample free parking is located outside of the hotel/casino, and there is a door into the facility from the parking lot near the elevators. You don't have to pass through reception to get to your room.

Location of the hotel is in Henderson, with easy access to the I-515 freeway and points south (Boulder Dam, Arizona). The freeway provides decent access to downtown. The Strip is not nearby; plan on a 20-25 minute drive to get to the heart of the Strip. McCarran Airport is perhaps 15 minutes away. This part of the Las Vegas area is residential and local business, so those who don't want to stay in the middle of all of the glare and glitz of stereotypical Las Vegas may find this to be a nice choice. There are plenty of shopping and dining options nearby.

I do need to mention that the cost of my room was comp'ed through the Station Casino's Boarding Pass player incentive program. This covered the cost of the room, taxes, and the hotel's annoying amenity fee, but not optional extras such as 24-hour wi-fi ($9.99/day, which I used) or pay-per-view TV channels (which I didn't watch). Any guest can enroll in Borading Pass, and credits are earned in the casino by playing machines or table games. The more you play, the bigger the rewards. The Boarding Pass can be used at any of Station Casinos' properties in the greater Las Vegas area, and I believe that there are 10 hotels and 18 casinos that honor the card.

Overall, this is a decent place to stay - nice rooms, clean.

Room Tip: If you need a work desk, be sure to ask for a room with one - assuming they have them. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    375
    185
    63
    54
See reviews for
292
285
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

granted, the rooms here are quite cheap - 40-60 a night and sometimes more depending the time, but basic hotel comforts, functionality and common sense should be present whether low prices or full prices for a hotel stay. I have stayed in a variety of places in Vegas, all varying prices and this was the worst situation ever. Surprising though because I recently stayed at Green Valley Resort which is owned by same parent company, and Sunset Station was terrible.

Check in was great. Front desk staff was great at "check-in". Often times, in many industries the customer service initially is great and then tends to go down hill. I was in the hotel for 5 nights and 4 of the days there was no hot water for a shower or even through the sink. Calls to the front desk and engineering went nowhere except one morning, the front desk person told me there was a serious problem on the 9th floor - which I was on. No communication that the problem was corrected or would not be corrected. Nothing. When calling to front desk numerous times, no one seemed to care or know what was going on.

Food was cheap at the Grand Cafe and consistently good. What was not consistent was the cost of food, given the fact that I ate the same meal each day for 3 days - 2 eggs, bacon and side of fruit. The first day - $7.53, 2nd day - $8.69 and 3rd day -$10.79. Very strange if you ask me. Not that a couple of dollars is an issue or a problem, but consistency would be nice.

Rooms were clean each day, like clock work and housekeepers were very friendly and nice. Rooms a bit outdated but what is to be expected at a property that does not care about its guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globbiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This property is starting to get a little worn. The wallpaper was peeling in some spots and it took several minutes to get hot water in the shower. The staff is friendly, although the service in the Sonoma Steakhouse was not quite up to par this last visit. For a great restaurant I expect the service to be at least as good as at IHOP. The resort fee is annoying, but I understand the rationale.

The workout room was pretty nice, with newer machines and everything was well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms were recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airstreamer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let me say that I had a nice experience at the Palace Station in Vegas some years back, and that this hotel had a nice ambiance and the rooms were big and comfortable, albeit no refrigerator or safe to be found inside. Having booked the room on Expedia, last minute, perhaps I am to blame for not reading the fine print. It was nonetheless most aggravating to be told by the front desk upon check-in that there was a nearly $17.00 per night resort fee on a room charge of $33 and some change!
All I could see on the Expedia voucher was that the taxes were included, as was complimentary internet. What irked me the most was when the front desk agent told me that the complimentary internet was "included" in the resort fee. How bogus is that?
If internet service is complimentary, then being included under the auspice of a "resort fee," does not make it complimentary. In my opinion, it's the ultimate wordplay and fine print ripoff. Sunset Station and Expedia should scrutinize this practice in the future, so they won't lose customers, as they have surely lost my patronage. I wonder if the "free" parking was "included" in the resort fee too?

Room Tip: No view of the strip from any room, so maybe better to stay on the strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Herb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My third stay at this hotel and look forward to returning. Great food choices, bars, movie theater, bowling alley, nightclub. This place has everything but the crowds of the strip. Lots of low limit tables and loose video poker machines. The best is the Gaudi Bar in the center of the casino. Freindly bartenders, and healthy pours, especially if your playing pkoer at the bar, and the architecture and design of the bar is a tribute to Antonin Gaudi of Barcelona.
I stay in the King suite that is 1000 square feet, with bar, living room, dining area, 2 bathrooms, and king bedroom. I would pay 2 to 3 times for this suite on the strip. The employees are outstanding, whether dealers, servers, front desk staff, housekeeping etc... Clearly the management is doing a good job. The only downside for some is the long walk to the hotel elevators, but I enjoy walking off some of the food I had at the buffet.

Room Tip: Go for the King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyguy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we stay at other hotels while in las vegas Sunset Station is my favorite hotel. The staff are friendly and it's always nice to see a familiar face. Our room attendant Linda was excellent.
I always ask for a feather pillow and even though we have a KS room they always accommodate my request.
Another favorite is the Asian Station at the Feast Buffet. We ate there 4 times and that was my dinner each time. The cooks are remarkable!!!!! I can't wait for our next visit.
The pool area is a beautiful oasis, the only thing is it could be heated for the fall months.
It is truly a resort stay with lots of shopping, movie theatre and of course gambling.
I tell my friends even if you don't gamble it's a great place to vacation.

Room Tip: This is our tenth stay in the last few years and i can honestly say we have never had a room that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When I visit a city, I don't want to pay a fortune just for a room I am not going to be in very much. I prefer to spend the extra money on a show or a good restaurant. This is the place. For a while I lived and worked in Henderson and used to go to the Sunset for the slots. I've been to lots and lots of casinos in Nevada, Illinois and Arizona, but I think the payouts are really fair here.
Avoid the main cafeteria; the food is only mediocre. I do recommend the Sonoma Cellar for privacy and good food. Service is excellent. Got discounts for shows in Las Vegas, and had a nice vacation away from my usual routine.

Room Tip: Choose your room at the east end away from the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shefjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henderson hotels
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Property: Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing