We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, Nice ... But Not Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Henderson
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Overall, Nice ... But Not Perfect”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This newer hotel in the Station Casinos family of casino/hotels is a newer facility and, overall, the rooms are comfortable and nice. Very clean and well maintained. Rooms are similar in style, size, and comfort to what you'd find at a newer mid-tier hotel such as a Fairfield Inn. But there were a couple of things to note. First - the room did not have good lighting, which wasn't helped by the fact that the one lamp (other than the one near the bed) in the main area didn't work, because the wall outlet lacked power. Second - there was no desk or work area - just a small round side table with two chairs. This seemed odd, although the table could do duty as a work desk - if the light on the table had worked. The bad wall outlet is probably just a minor maintenance issue and not typical of what one would experience in this hotel. Beds were very comfortable. My wake up call came as scheduled but while i was in the shower; since I didn't answer, the operator called back later to double check that I was OK. I thought that was a nice touch. Hotel guest room tower is a fairly long walk from the casino and the hotel reception area, so get your hiking shoes on. Overall - not a bad place to stay. This hotel is not near the strip - it's off of I-215 in Henderson, about 15 minutes from McCarran Airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    370
    182
    61
    50
See reviews for
284
275
67
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the last week and had some good and bad experiences. The annoying fee which supplied nothing but a newspaper ( the internet was never working) and no one seemed to know what else I paid almost $17.00 per night for. The pool wasn't heated and there was no hot tub.I would have been happy to pay the fee had it just been part of the charge for the hotel, but this made the rate seem like a rip-off.
Overall, I would say we had a nice time. The slot machines were quite tight,and that seemed to be the general feeling of those I spoke with. The food was very good, well priced and plenty to split with two rather small eaters. We asked for,an received an upgrade to a junior suite with a fantastic view. Tons of great shopping nearby,and not too far from the strip.
The down part is the hotel needs some work as it is showing some age. The bathroom fan never worked, they were always out of coffee cups and the maids were never able to find any for us. I guess we could have gone to housekeeping, but my husband just went downstairs and bought coffee from Starbucks. Hmmm, maybe that is the idea.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, you probably need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just got back from staying at Sunset Station for a whole week and a half. I must say, I was very pleasantly surprised.
I've never stayed that far off the strip before (Orleans the farthest) and was a little concerned about the distance to and from the rest of the action. Rest assured, wasn't a factor at ALL. Didn't even need to leave the hotel / vicinity barely. So much to do in and around area itself.

As far as the hotel is concerned, it was VERY clean, maid service was prompt and friendly, rooms were nice except I wish there was a flat screen tv instead of an old tube tv. That and a coffee maker would be my only comPlaints of the room itself.
All in all, if they update the tv's, put a safe in the room, this is easily a 4 star hotel.

Good job Sunset!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyTravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I like staying here when I visit my parents once a year. They rooms are clean, nothing fancy but nice.
Room service is okay as well. They need more food choices though!
What I didn't like was they did away with their airport shuttle service again. Yet they charge a ridiculous $16 a day facility fee! it includes a free news paper & internet. I do not need either. Only a air port shuttle please!
Employees are frustrated they have no coupons to give guest (but sad they have been promised new coupons from :headquarters" 10 months ago!) & they recognized what bad customer service it is to charge an extra $16 a day for services not used.

Loved the oyster bar restaurant! Try the clam fettichinni!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crileyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The room was booked for two nights just outside Vegas for business. I barely left the hotel. I had a good time there regardless of the money I lost at the tables! The drinks are all compd' if you're gambling at a sustained level. Slow play the bar tables while you chat and enjoy the drinks with a friend. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms were all nice from what I saw. Buffet was good but I waited unknowingly in line as guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetxcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have stayed here many times, sometimes good, sometimes not. This time we had a really nice, somewhat redone room on a high floor. We were told they are redoing the rooms to a degree and that is good because the hotel was beginning to show its' age.The fellow at check-in was really very nice and may have upgraded us due to our long wait for a room. We love the location because it is not on the strip yet is just off a major highway with easy to access to many of the other casinos we like. It is fantastically located across the street from a great mall. There is lots of good shopping around. Just down the street from Total Wine. Many restaurants are very close by. There is a new Red Lobster across the street. They are redoing the restaurants here and we really have never been disappointed in any of their meals. They have brought back their cafe whic is a good thing; the Mexican restaurant is fabulous as is the Italian. Their breakfast buffet is really great with a fantastic variety of foods.There are many fast food eateries around the casino so you will not be disappointed no matter what you want to eat. The rooms are reasonably priced and sometimes they have specials. The only downside with stations resorts is their resort fee. Stations is $14.99 per night whether you want it or not. Some of the others are more. This is something that has become more common in Vegas. The gambling was good this time with some new machines. Even though the hotel was almost sold out, it was very quiet. I don't think you will be disappointed staying here for a medium priced hotel. The staff was very friendly on all levels.

Room Tip: Ask for a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpad108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

we enjoyed our weekend. Good food on site - friendly staff - clean rooms, not fancy by adequate. Close to downtown, but not too close. Lots of shopping if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
3.8 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Property: Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing