We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Sunset Station is in Henderson but worth a drive to visit the casino, and this trip we spent two nights there...what a great decision!

We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite, and we had a panoramic view of downtown to the south of Mandalay Bay...beautiful at night.

The room was spacious and included the king bed, sofa, soft chair, plus a table and desk chair. The bathroom had 2 separate sinks with a separate room for the toilet.

The staff was prompt and entire property was clean and well-maintained. There are many dining options, and there are several shopping malls in the area. It is a short drive to Boulder, Lake Las Vegas, and Hoover Dam, so it is a great value!

5  Thank TopekaDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 969 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2007

After our first visit to Sunset Station we were inundated with free offers. Many months later we booked another stay which included one "free" night (and two paid nights) as did many other members of our party. There was no one in the check-in line nonetheless it took one and one-half hours to finally get to our room. We were sent to the reward center which issues the offer, three people and 45 minutes later we were sent back to the front desk, four different people there including a so-called manager argued with us about our offer. We didn't have the brochure with us because it does not say to bring it. We were told we were liars about having received the offer in the mail. Lynn in the reward center came to our defense and after a humiliating time we received the offer we had booked and also paid for in advance. During and subsequent to our stay we have called the manager, written to the manager and president and have never received a reply. Other members of our party had also paid in advance but those rates were not honored at check in. There seems to be severe managerial problems at Sunset Station. Thank you Lynn and Young for your kindness, you should not have to apologize for your co-workers. It is a fun place to stay but remember nothing is "free".

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sacramento7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

I stayed at the sunset station for a few reasons. One it was cheap, another is that it was the last night of my holiday and I didn't want to stay on the strip so i found this place. The quality of the hotel room I stayed in was excellent and the check in was quick and efficient. You wouldn't find it difficult to entertain yourself inthe Sunset Station. The huge casino, Large pool, 72 lane bowling alley, 13 screen cinema, bars and lounges, kids club, Ampitheatre showing live music under the stars and also an indoor music lounge. The 10 restaurants offer a variety of food from all around the globe. The restaurant I ate in (Sonoma Cellar) was superb. The food was excellent, a little pricey but well worth it. In the morning, a trip to the buffet is a must for people who are in hurry. The food is of a decent standard and the price is more than reasonable. As you get in line for food you will be surprised at the choice of food you have, an Asian section(including Chinese and Indian cuisine), an Italian section (including pizza and pasta), American and international breakfast and a dessert section. There are other cafes in the hotel if you don't fancy a buffet. Checking out was as easy checking in. Overall, my stay was most enjoyable and I would definately visit there again. I hope this reveiw is influencial in your trip and that if you do choose to stay at the Sunset Station you enjoy it thoroughly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jonnylovestravelsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Our family spent a Monday night here before flying home. We stayed at the Orleans a week earlier and overall, preferred it. This seems like an older property. Parking was much closer to the room, basically because it did not seem real busy. There was no wait to check-in. No security at the elevators checking keys. The pool was also closed for resurfacing for the week when we arrived, which did not go over well after a 4 hour drive across the desert. The bathroom had a nice large counter outside of the shower area, but the shower head was at eye-level for me and I'm no basketball player. The beds were comfortable and high off the floor with extra pillows. The cable TV lineup was much better as well. We did have to set the A/C for 68 degrees to get what seemed to be about 75 in the room. The view was nice from the 15th floor room. They do hit you up for a $4.95 Amenity fee which we did not know about until we got there - even though the room was prepaid. This supposedly covers local calls, shuttle service, $1 kid bowling, exercise room and gift shop discount, none of which we used. We we're going to bowl until we saw that shoe rental was $3.50. The kids went to the arcade instead. I enjoyed the casino and had no trouble finding a $5 blackjack seat, but could not overcome my wife's slot machine losses. We did not use the restaurants as we ate at the nice mall across the street instead.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We stayed there for three nights. The air conditioner didn't work very well. The buffet was terrible for the price. The price was $11.99 a person. The cafe food was alot better and the service was alot better also. The Casino slots are not to be played. They have to be the tightest machines I've ever seen. My wife did win $225.60 on a penny machine playing .30 cents a play. They don't have any 9-6 vido poker machines either. We also visited there other properties, like, Texas Station, Boulder Station. We won't ever visit them again either. Same type of machines and tighter than a stretched rubber band. We did better at the Venetian in only three hours of play than we did for three days at these other Casinos. The floor personnel are not friendly and not very helpful. You can do alot better than these properties. Good Luck.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

We were on our way to Zion from Los Angeles and wanted to find somewhere to stay in the Las Vegas area that wasn't too expensive or crowded or smokey and was kid-friendly for our 8 year old. Sunset Station fit the bill. We got a non smoking with 2 queen beds and a nice view for under $100 for a Saturday night. We arrived at check in time (3pm) and went Cosmic Bowling at their huge bowling alley. It has video and music and lots of flashing lights - our daughter really enjoyed it. They also have a very nice Kid's Club where we left her for an hour for $8 while we gambled. The kid's club was safe and clean and fun. They also have a multi plex cinema right in the casino and a very nice arcade good for younger kids and teens. The breakfast buffet was really nice and the smokiness as we walked through the lobby/casino was not too bad. They have a lot of other food choices of the food court variety as well as some nice looking restaurants. The room was very clean and a decent size and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We booked our this hotel through VEGAS.com. Which saved us some money. When we arrived at the hotel I was surprised how big it was. It took us about 15 minuets to get there from the strip (using Highway 15 to Highway 515). It was very beautiful inside. When we checked in the front staff was sooo friendly, she even upgraded us to the petite suite. We had an awesome view in our room, which was huge. When we got downstairs the first slot machine we got to, we won all of our money back from our previous plays. The Sunset restaurant was very good and decently priced ( the two of us ate breakfast for $15). The next morning we went to the Feast Buffet, it was okay, wasn't the best. My husband and I loved the off strip action, we will be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blurple80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Las Vegas/Henderson
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
3.8 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: $73 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing