We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice old place with some old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice old place with some old world charm”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

my husband and I stay at the pass two nights a week for the last eight months since we commute from Pahrump to work in las vegas. The Hotel staff are very friendly and will to try and accomadate all your needs especially debbie and opal. The rooms are clean and yes they show some signs of wear and tear but lets face it this place was built in the early thirtys (i think) and its small and im sure the revenue isnt all it could be. You cant really complain for the price that they ask. I would never hesitate to recomend railroad pass to friends and family. Its an honest place and you get what you pay for. you want luxury? then go to the wynn and pay 500 per night. You want good honest to goodness value then stay at the pass, and the staff throughout the hotel and casino and resturants will bend over backwards to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. I love railroad pass hotel and casino.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michele4063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    48
    17
    33
See reviews for
43
67
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed one night, it was cheap, the room was clean and the staff was freindly. It is a typical small smokey casino. we ate at the friday seafood buffet $14.99 it was alright, the all you can eat pre-cut crab legs were real good. overall our stay was good it was an easy 20-minute drive to the car rental return in vegas at 5:00am. I would stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend OR
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Stopped here late one night on a drive to Phoenix. Room was pretty basic and not much to speak of. Property is old and shows its age. Air conditioner unit rattled and kept me awake. When I turned it off the hwy noise was just as bad. For the same price I would recommend a stay at the Hacienda Casino on the other side of Boulder City, close to Hoover Dam. Much nicer and newer for the same walk-in rate that I got at this one.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bend_Road_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Stayed here for one night before 10K race taking place on path behind hotel. Hotel is just ok. It would be equivalant to a "Super 8" or "Comfort Inn".

Casino was small and very smoky. Hotel was just ok. It was clean but nothing special. Carpet in rooms was very dirty! Bed and sheets were clean. Bathroom was big and clean. A little dated (think "80's"). If hotel were to replace carpet in the rooms and new window drapes, it would be good. Overall, and ok stay. Not bad but nothing to jump up and down about.

Scott

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank scott60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Older place and it does show it's age. Central location for purpose of the trip. People there we found to be all extrememly friendly, funny, and helpful. Our room was O-kay, bathroom could have used a bit of paint and glue at the baseboards. Lots of locals seem to go there since there was alot of first names in conversation with the workers. Small casino but never crowed. Lots of machines, a couple of tables. Would we stay there again? More than likely not, but we hardly never ever stay i nthe same place as we like to stay different places. If you are on a budget then give it a shot. Our room was worth what we payed in my opinion. After all how much time do you really spend in your hotel room when on a trip?

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank milotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Although internet reservation site showed rooms available, we were told only a Luxury Suite was available at $140.00 a night, due to a local convention. Once in our room, we found lovely views of the roof top ac units and extremely large floodlights, that is, what could be seen through our extremely dirty windows which were bolted and locked so you cant even get some fresh air in the room. We found dirty socks left in room, trash under bed, receipts from over a month ago in our bed, and the sofa sleeper mattress was ridiculously thin and springy and pinched us when we tried to lay down on it. It was just unusable, worse than sleeping on a box spring! The date on the tag was 11 years old! The curtains were a dingy brown,it was suppose to be a non-smoking room. You had to be 5 feet tall or shorter to use the shower unless you can do a back bend while you bathe. There was no hot water, but it was lukewarm. I guess its better than freezing. We conveyed this all to the hotel desk and promised a call from management which we never got. We left the socks and the trash with them along with the "gratuity envelope". We were promised again a call from the manager Autumn, and still never received a call 3 days later. We were told no charges were made to our credit card, and that the manager would only charge us a $49.95 rate after we spoke to her about the situation. We checked our balance 2 days later and found we were charged the $140. The whole experience was less than satisfactory and we will not be staying there again!!!! I agree to one thing about this hotel it is not worthy of any type of review in a positive way...

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — uncomfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you get what you pay for!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonsmokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

My husband and I were driving to Las Vegas for a couple of days following our son's wedding in Sedona. we had been on the go doing and running for me, the better part of the last 48 hours so prior to this I booked a room here for the first night, knowing it was more out of the way, and a little cheaper too. we arrive about 8 pm...had to stand in line a few minutes...but the clerk behind the counter was very nice and said a "mountain side room" would be quieter for us if we needed peace and quiet to sleep.
we did just that.
Now about the room..I had read some reviews on here really slamming this facility. Our room was large...very clean, enough towels and so on..there really nothing to complain about. this is an older building and needs some attention, yes, but for $39 we paid for the night...I sure cannot complain. they did have one elevator out, but that did not seem to matter any...we got where we needed to go. We got up the next morning had a HOT shower and went down to the Cafe. the food was good, came to the table hot, plenty of butter, jelly and so on...coffee was good. again..nothing to complain about.
My hubby and I live in the desert Southwest so we are in Vegas often...we've stayed everywhere from the "Stardust", "Circus, Circus", The "Trop", "Mirage", "Luxor"....to name but a few, and although this is not a big name place...and not even in Las Vegas...for a quiet night and nice people, you can't beat it.
I hope those that slammed this property, don't wreck it for others that want to try it. we saw nothing wrong here.

  • Liked — quiet and out of the way
  • Disliked — had one broken elevator and when we went to use the TV, previous visitors stole the batteries out of the remote.
  • Tips/Secrets — if you don't mind being away from the Strip...and need a cheap accomodation..this is the place.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vegas_Dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
344 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Boulder City
241 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
11.9 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Property: Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002-9346
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 85th year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; newly remodeled rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks at our DeSimone's Steakhouse. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing