We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime rib”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed December 4, 2011

They have a specially priced prime rib dinner that is large and delicious, but the buffet tends to be dried out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 200 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

Thanksgiving has come and gone again..as did I. Had a great Turkey Day at my sisters house...and had the usual Great Accommodations at "The Pass". As always...the staff were friendly and ever-ready to make my stay a pleasant one. The restaurant was great and the food fantastic...as always. This time ..one thing was different...the casino machines were nice to me! I brought my brother with me this year...and he really enjoyed himself as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side are quieter than on the highway side.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

First off, I want to say that is your traveling with your family and looking to spend more then 1 night this is not the place for you. But last Friday my wife and myself checked out of the Monte Carlo and went to McCarren to fly back to NJ. Our plane had issues and Continental said we can book another flight Saturday. Looking around for a cheap room it was hard to find. The Gold Coast (a 3 star) wanted 159.00 for the night. We checked in the railroad pass ($39.00). Old place but clean. Staff very friendly and polite. 3rd floor non smoking . We ate in the cafe and had to wait 10 mins for a table. We didn't expect much but a lady sitting next to us recommended the Grilled chicken sandwich with cheese. Well, let me tell you all. "IT WAS THE BEST" grilled chicken sandwich I have ever eaten! Second to none! The roll was homemade and toasted with a little butter. Cheap table games and cheap booze. Had a piano player who had talent. $1 drafts and $1 crap tables and $3 black Jack. We had alot of fun there. Next time we go to vegas, I will drive there just for that chicken sandwich!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, clean, non-smoking floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stopped here on Hoover Dam Tour, delux tour with lunch at Railroad Pass. Old, dark, dirty, ruin down and smoke filled . Not a destination.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripjunkie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I read all the reviews...Now it's my turn! Yes the "Pass" is NOT NEW. The carpets are worn both in the casino and in the rooms. But... how many places can you go (my sister lives in Boulder City) where the Registration Clerk (Opal) gives you hug because she is glad to see you...and the Gen. Manager (Curt) comes over to shake your hand and welcome you back? These folks might work in one of the oldest places in southern Nevada...but they know how to roll out the red carpet. I quit eating buffets when I was an OTR trucker but the fare in the Caboose was excellent. It's my home away from home... and all you dissatisfied people can just go elsewhere. Sign me up for frequent stayer benefits, I like the staff!

Room Tip: mountainside rooms only...unless you like bright lights all night.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We didn't have reservations anywhere in Las Vegas area as we arrived a day earlier than expected. Fortunately we found a vacancy at Railroad Pass as there was a convention in town and everywhere was booked. We didn't know anything about this place but it turned out to be an exceptionally good experience.

First, they offer a discount for CDL drivers....$10.00 off the room rate. We paid $49.99 for a regular room. It was very spacious, nicely appointed, coffeemaker and the regular amentities you get at other hotels. Then, for breakfast in the morning, we again got a discount for the CDL and free coffee. The service in the restaurant was great, friendly and fun. Food was very good and a nice menu. Not too pricey.

This is a gem for anyone, family, etc. but mostly for truck drivers...What a great marketing idea. Plenty of parking for the big rigs and many rvs as well. We'd stay there again and drive into Vegas for our fun.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This place is good for truckers, that sleep in their trucks, and come in smelly, and for drinks, and cheap food! Not good for families!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
7.6 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#4 of 8 in Boulder City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
8.2 mi away
Skyline Hotel and Casino
Skyline Hotel and Casino
#20 of 26 in Henderson
3 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002-9346
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 85th year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; newly remodeled rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks at our DeSimone's Steakhouse. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing