We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, comfortable sleep, safe neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is transitioning from Holiday Inn to Best Western. Unfortunately, we didn't get any rewards points for either during the transition, but on the bright side, it is a very nice, pet-friendly hotel in a safe neighborhood, which is a very big selling point in the Vegas area. Definitely the nicest Best Western we've ever stayed in. A little pricey, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 784 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

It's now called the Henderson Hotel and Suites.
Clean rooms, comes with b'fast (hot and cold) in the morning until 10am on weekends, internet included, a business center with fax and printer included and a reasonable price on the weekends. Pool was small but adequate for our needs. Gym consisted of three treadmills, one stairstepper and one bicycle - which was adequate for my needs. It wasn't air conditioned tho - and that made it uncomfortable during my workout. No real views from any of the rooms so doesn't matter which one you get. Bedding was comfortable - seemed like new - and all the furnishing were in good condition. You also have a coffee maker in the room, hairdryer, ironing board and iron and refrig. The down side is that there are no real restaurants within walking distance except a couple seedy casinos down the road. If you drive a few miles, you can get to Sunset Station or a shopping mall (Galleria) which has restaurants. The manager and other personel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maboscel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The room is large, with fridge and microwave, and that is all the positive I can say. It is very noisy due to two doors between the adjacent rooms. You can hear even talk of your neighbors. It was smelly in the corridor like they have done disinfection. Really bad smell. The bed has some under sheet on the mattress which makes sleep almost impossible: it is hot and the sheet is sliding on top of it. The curtains may not be closed so the room is has light from outside at night. Pool is small and full of sand at the bottom. People come for breakfast and need to wait when a service person brings more food all the time because it is never enough for so many people. Hassle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaYumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I found this hotel via a Kayak search for a last minute trip. It was a busy weekend in Vegas, where even the Imperial Palace listed triple-digit room rates on Friday and Saturday nights, yet the rates here were tremendously low, made even moreso by the amenities. But beware, this is NOT a Strip-area hotel. It's a hefty drive, so book here only if (a) you have a car, and (b) you don't mind driving to the Strip.

The hotel is far from a glamorous location. It's on a main thoroughfare with industrial-looking places neighboring. A couple of very local (and small) casinos are close by, but little, if any dining. It's a small hotel, only 3 stories, and with (free) parking only outdoors.

While the second floor room I had faced the road, I heard very little in the way of street noise. The AC in the room was nice and quiet and it worked well. The room itself, even though according to the floor map was one of the smaller rooms, was very spacious. Quite a bit of floor space so there was no sense of feeling crowded. The TV is a decent sized flat screen and there's a card showing all the channels. A nice little bonus is that the TV stays on the channel you left it on when you turned it off (unlike most hotels which switch it by default to the "hotel" channel each time). There's free wifi and it worked almost flawlessly (I ran into a property-wide glitch the morning I left). Both my MacBook and my iPad connected easily and the speed was good.

There's also a free breakfast every morning. It's a nice step up from a continental-style breakfast, but it's not as fresh and robust as the one at Microtel. Still, scrambled eggs and either bacon or sausage, plus waffles or pancakes, sometimes biscuits and gravy, toast & bagels, juices, coffee, etc. One quibble: no fresh fruit, but hey, it's free.

The building looks relatively new. As mentioned in other reviews, the property used to be a Holiday Inn (and it's still listed so as of today on TripAdvisor), but it's not longer part of the Holiday Inn chain. You can still see the Holiday Inn branding behind the current sign. Not sure why it's not; this property would sure burnish the brand.

The room was spotlessly clean. Towels were nice and thick i the bathroom. Hot water came quick. Only a shower, no tub, but that's OK. Stone floors in the bathroom a give it the "upscale" look but are chilly on morning feet. A nice size counter in the bathroom allows to to spread out your ditty bag.

The mattress was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a long, long time. In fact, it made me realize that I need to replace my mattress at home, and I'd like to find the brand and model they use here, as it'd be at the top of my list. The people behind the check-in counter were always helpful and friendly.

It's about a 25 minute drive, under optimal conditions, to the middle of the Strip. While not the shortest, here's the fastest way: Go right, heading south on Boulder Highway, to Lake Mead Blvd., about a mile down the road. Go right on Lake Mead for about a mile, then straight ahead onto I-215. It's several miles to I-15, then north on I-15, where you can take any exit to where you want to be on the Strip.

Go less than a half mile north on Boulder Highway, go left on Sunset, take the first right past I-515, and a quarter mile down on the left is Costco, which has about the cheapest gas around (if you're a member).

The hotel itself doesn't have lots of luxury or upscale amenities. It does have a pool (although I never made it on my last trip). But while it's not an "upscale" place, it's bright and welcoming and simply both comforting and welcoming. My last night, I had stopped by Walgreens and gotten a pint of ice cream. I had no spoon. I asked the person behind the desk if I could go into the buffet and get one, and he replied with "yes, this is your home," (Or something to that effect.) The staff definitely seems like it wants to make their customers feel welcome. And that just adds to the great value this hotel already is. I just hope that the management of whatever chain decide to buy it changes nothing, including the fantastic room rates that more than anything engender the most loyalty.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I'm a Vegas local, had a friend come to town and needed a cheap nice place to stay. Stayed 5 nights had a good experience. It was quite, cozy, decent price and comfortable! Had a good stay there, would definately reccomend it and plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samantha702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This property is now the "Henderson Hotel and Suites." Front desk clerk told me it would probably be reflagged as a Best Western in coming months.

The property is fine for what it is. My room was clean and quite large, though the hallways smelled heavily of smoke. But if you're hoping for a "refreshed" Holiday Inn, you should probably go elsewhere, as the decor is somewhat dated.

If they do switch over, this will be a really nice Best Western. But it definitely wasn't up to the "new" Holiday Inn standard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Hotel was very nice. Pleasant staff at check-in and good with directions. Good breakfast - scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, french toast or waffles, cold cereal, juice, coffee, biscuits, fresh fruit - hours for breakfast were good (6:30-9:30 am I believe). Nice room, quiet, neighborhood was good. Didn't hear any street noise or the neighboring room. Always found a parking spot. Small workout area which I never used. Comfortable bed. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker in room.
No longer a Holiday Inn. They are trying to join Best Western.
They have 2 computers in the lobby to use for free. Only one computer will let you print your boarding pass.
My only issue was that it is a solid 10-15 miles back to the Las Vegas Strip - about 15 minutes give or take, but no traffic (Sunset to Route 93 to avoid the traffic). If you don't mind the extra time to travel, this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lalagirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henderson hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Henderson
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Las Vegas - Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel

Address: 1553 N Boulder Hwy, 9 Miles From the Strip, Henderson, NV 89011-4131 (Formerly Holiday Inn Henderson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Henderson
#2 Green Hotel in Henderson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
#3 Family Hotel in Henderson
#8 Business Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: $75 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Henderson Hotel!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Henderson Hotel in Las Vegas is very centrally located to most of the outdoor activities, Water Park, several casino's, shopping, attractions and evening entertainments whether you're a leisure traveler or on the go business traveler. Only nine miles from the McCarran Las Vegas airport and Las Vegas Blvd. The City of Henderson, offers all the necessary amenities.The hotel, built two years ago, offers 115 well-appointed rooms and suites featuring free direct connect high-speed and/or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 50 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A complimentary hot breakfast and in addition Best Western Rewards members receive a copy of USA Today newspaper daily. After a long a day guest can relax at our full bar in the evening. Guests can also take advantage of the outdoor heated pool and fitness center.For leisure traveler, this is your destination for rest and relaxation. Access to 12 golf courses, five shopping centers, many attractions, site seeing and outdoor activities for the entire family, all within 15 miles radius from the hotel, and of course many more beyond the 15 mile radius. Call and tell us about how you would like to spend your vacation and one of our experienced staff would be happy to provide more information on points of interest.For the business traveler, we offer the same tools, available to you in your own office: Free wired/wireless Internet access, private voice mail, work desk with ergonomically designed desk chair, fax and copying capability, two-line speaker phone and access to the business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Henderson
Henderson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing