We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, love it, love it”
Review of Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar - CLOSED

Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Love it, love it, love it”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I absolutely LOVE Firefly Tapas.

So let's get the negatives out of the way, first. Why not a "five?" Two words: noise and parking.

I've dined at Firefly three times. Each time I had 6:00 reservations. The first two times were on Sundays; last night was a Thursday. The parking has gotten increasingly difficult. Last night was CRAZY! Absolutely crazy. Valet parking was lined up with no valet in sight. Their parking lot was full. We know that one of their neighboring businesses tow vehicles -- even after they have closed for the day -- parked in "their" lot. Even the handicap spaces were full. We drove around and around two business strips trying to find parking before finally getting lucky. Our friends parked in the strip next door, hoping that the law firms and other such businesses wouldn't tow them because they were closed for the day. We weren't alone; customers were parking a block away and walking.

Secondly, the noise level in the restaurant is quite high.

Now, why I love it:

The food.
Start with the dates. They are stuft with bleu cheese and wrapped with bacon. They are rich, so share. Also recommend the apple manchengo salad; shrimp ceviche; camerones diablo; tiera y mar; potatoes brava; eggplant canneloni (orgasmic!); mushrooms; salmon toasts. Actually, we've liked everything we've tried.

It's a unique way to dine, constantly ordering another dish.
It's a unique way to dine, sharing dishes with your friends.

I've been there three times, have had two different sets of servers, both of whom have been extremely attentive. (Armando and V are both excellent waiters; their assistants are even better!)

I find the price reasonable -- for two couples, it's consistently come in around $120 + $20 tip = $140 or $70 per couple (which includes alcohol).

Try it, you'll love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We love spanish tapas and had been to the other Firefly locations but this new location is literally over the top - top of the hill overlooking Vegas that is. The food was excellent - service excellent. My advice to you is to order 1-2 items at a time - take your time like they do in Spain - savor the scrumptuous tapas and sip the heavenly sangria. Then when you are ready order a couple more tapas. We went during their drink happy hour. I honestly hate to tell anyone about this place - i want to keep it a secret just for me. OK...fine...go...because YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!! I can't wait to go back. We have been to Barcelona Spain and will be returning to Spain next year so this is as close as it gets. GO!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a Great Experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have been to Firefly, either in Henderson or Las Vegas, several times. As the full name states, they have Tapas and a Bar. We have sampled several different tapas on each visit. We have our favorites, but always try to order something new. This is not difficult, because they have over 50 different tapas. We have taken several friends to Firefly, and they all enjoy the place.
A drawback is the lack of parking. It's our experience that it is best to get there early, before the traditional dinner hour. This insures getting a good table and a good parking space.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennyMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come hungry... Loud but fun!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The prices aren't very reasonable and it adds up quickly. Great for large groups and parties. Atmosphere is loud and kind of drifts inside. Overall a fun time though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Try them all!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location, but parking is difficult. Valet service for tips. View is awesome from the deck, and there is a comfy sofa section for socializing. The sangrias are tasty, the waitstaff is swift, courteous, knew every item (there are many!) and we felt well cared for enought to make a repeat visit, everything again was great. Fave: Steak salad, mac/cheese, fries, ham croquettes. Happy Hour is truly happy happy happy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ETicketRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Tapas & Kitchen Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing