We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good muffins”
Review of Bread & Butter - CLOSED

Bread & Butter
Restaurant details
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
924 reviews
782 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good muffins”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I previously visited this bakery/restaurant on an earlier trip this year for a Danish, but this was our first visit for dining in. We each decided on muffins; orange/cranberry for my wife and blueberry for me. Each was light and delicious. As I was preparing to clear off our dishes, owner/baker Chris Herrin quickly came to the table to take our plates. He ended up sitting with us for about 10 minutes, providing us with a quick summary of his past work experience and plans to open another restaurant in two months.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good pastries and treats”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I love trying out bakeries - decided to pick up a few things. We got a croissant, a chocolate croissant, a chocolate chip cookie, and an oatmeal cookie. These were packed into a plastic box to go. We were staying at a hotel as we were visiting town. The croissants were both very good. I think we ate half of each one the day we bought them, then put them back into the plastic box for the next day. The oatmeal cookie, while large, was not too crazy sized. It was good - we ate about 1/4 of it on day 1, then back into the box. The chocolate chip cookie - that was insanely huge. It must have weighed 1/2 a pound. I think we managed 2 bites on day 1. Day 2, we took these things down to the pool for breakfast. We ate the other half of each croissant - both were still good, and 1/4 of the oatmeal cookie - still good, and a few bites of the chocolate chip cookie. Day 3 - finished oatmeal cookie, few more bites of choc chip - then decided it won.

So - for those of you staying in hotels -- with the plastic to go box they provide -- the cookies will stay fresh a few day, and you can get the croissants for the next day. I wouldn't try the pastries much past day 2 - but the cookies - should be good to go.

They had a bunch of things that looked really good, so I will go back again when I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bread & Butter, a terrific bakery and restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This bakery and restaurant creates fresh and delicious items such as pastries, breads, bagels, sticky buns, assorted danish, muffins, bread pudding, pretzels, waffels, burritos, to name only a few. We get their pretzels every time we visit - large, fresh and not too salty. Everything is fresh and tasty. Order at the counter and they'll serve it to you at your table. Take a bucket of napkins and silverware to your table, as well as a carafe of icy cold water from the side 'help-yourself' counter. Outside seating is also available on sidewalk. Many assorted root beer sodas for the root beer fans. Located on South Eastern and Sunridge Heights Pkwy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookinbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“worth a try or box up some of the fresh pastries”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

ordered breakfast the concept of there menu is awesome, tried the waffel sandwich, 2 belgim soft in the center crisp outside with sliced ham scrammbled egg with cheddar cheese...all this is topped with a white gravey......sounds yummy but the food was just ok. The coffee beans they use are really good, but they did not know how to make a mocha. There bakery case looked awesome great place to pick up some fresh homemade pastries

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 23sjgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bread and Butter is the Best”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had lunch at Bread & Butter with a large group of women. We were wowed. Chris bakes the bread fresh, and the sandwhiches are delicoius. The turkey, ham all with very different sauces. Yummy! The salads wer very creative and we all enjoyed the selections.His pretzel bread is outstanding and the portions are very generous. Then there's dessert, oh yeah you gotta save room for this. Brought home some baquettes, stuck in the freezer and was able to nibble in this for a couple of days. Excellect place for breakfast or lunch. We heard he's opening another restaurant in the are for dinner. Will let you know what we think.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjmalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing