We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option off the strip, if that's what you want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Green Valley Ranch Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I'm torn on how to rate this hotel.

On the one hand:

It's really nice. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy and the bathrooms are beautiful. The iPod docking station was nice, as were the speakers in the bathroom.
The pool area is absolutely gorgeous. I would have loved to have been there when it was warmer as I'm sure the pool is packed and really fun. The spa area is nice (though I didn't use it) and the workout room is huge, with tons of new machines. The staff was friendly, and the cocktail servers in the casino were quick. Breakfast in the main restuarant was good, and only about $18 for 2. the Irish pub was great with a friendly bartender and really reasonably priced drinks and daily specials. They also have an OHOP, an Italian restaurant, a movie theatre and several clubs. And there is a Whole Foods about a 10 minute walk away. The casino isn't that big, but it was never very crowded. The conference rooms were really nice as well.

On the other hand:
The sushi resturant was ridiculously overpriced. $10 for 2 pieces of salmon sushi? I know it's Vegas but come on. The buffet looked like more quantity than quality, and the halibut I ordered from room service was bland and overcooked.
But my biggest gripe was the shuttle service. I was told there was free shuttle service to and from the airport and the strip. I arrive at 5 on Friday - no shuttle until 7pm. Saturday the first shuttle to the strip was at 1pm. Monday when my husband left for the airport at 8am and Wednesday when I left at 6:30 there was no shuttle. The first one isn't until 9am. Over 4 days we spent over $150 on cabs due to the inconvenient and infrequent shuttle service. Plus, the shuttle only seats 14 people so more than once I saw someone turned away.

When I checked out, I noticed that I was charged $20 more per night than what was advertised for my conference rate. I emailed the manager and he refunded me the $100 so the customer service was very good.

I guess, if you are really looking to get away and relax, hang by the pool, do a bit of gambling, and aren't looking to hang out much on the strip or stick to a budget, this is great hotel. It's gorgeous and the pool area is beautiful. But if you really want to be on the strip and don't have a ton of money to spend on food and cabs, you might end up disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ktmae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2008

Decided to stay a couple of nights here as a change to the usual Strip properties, before moving to the Strip for a business meeting. Pleasantly surprised to find an upscale, smaller resort with nice rooms, nice public areas and tons of services attached to the resort.

ROOMS - Very nice sized rooms with upscale furnishings and large bathrooms. The Mediterranean decor of the resort continues in the rooms with dark furnishings and finishes. The tile in the bathroom gives it a bit of an old world feel, which is fine, but not as stylish as the more minimal design that many of the newer hotels are using. Bose Wave radios are standard in all rooms. Separate shower and soaking tubs, and separate water closets.

HOTEL PUBLIC AREAS - The hotel lobby and rooms are nicely separated from the casino and restaurants. If you just needed a hotel room and had no desire to gamble, you would never even have to see the casino. The lobby is completely separate as are the elevators. It's a short walk through the hotel to the corridor that leads to the casino.

CASINO/SHOPPING/ENTERTAINMENT - Nice sized casino frequented by locals along with those staying in the hotel. Surrounding the casino was an abundance of restaurant choices, including the resort specialty restaurants as well as The Original Pancake House, Fat Burger (EXCELLENT), a standard sit down coffee/diner type option and at casino buffet.

What was very nice with this resort is the 10 screen movie theater located below the casino. It has stadium , rocking chair seating and first run movies. Right out the exit adjacent to the theaters is The District. A mixed use shopping/living/entertainment district that is designed similar to a traditional American street of shopping.

The hotel pools were closed for the Winter, but appeared to be very adequate with upscale pool furnishings. The Spa was on par with any of the top spas found on the Strip.

Overall, I was pleased with the stay and while I might return if I needed to stay in the area, I prefer the Strip properties as there is much more going on. If you want a more relaxed stay in the Las Vegas area, this would be a nice choice.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

I attended a business meeting for 5 days at Green Valley Ranch. Wonderful hotel!!!!! They accomodated our large group with impeccable excellence! The rooms where beautiful and very well appointed (there are invisible speakers in the bathroom to listen to the TV or radio/MP3).

The service from all the staff was EXCELLENT!!!

I would definitely stay here again if I wanted to stay off the strip!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stefsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Maybe if you are a high roller this place treats you well, but if not then don't bother. The hotel is beautiful, the room wonderful, the people at check-in super, but that is where the service ends.

At the expensive Italian restaurant we consistently had to ask for service, wrong items were brought and no pen supplied with the check (had to go track one down from the hostess).

The Spa is a disaster. I came here specifically for the spa and it has been a huge disappointment. The staff are more concerned with socializing together than caring for the customers, there was no water or juices, they "ran out" of wash cloths to "ice", the place had dirty towels, napkins, hair brushes, etc... throughout, the sauna didn't work in the women's locker, the co-ed sauna was broken, there was no place to eat when food was ordered, food was brought to you in a plastic bag, no quiet lounge for after treatments, and the chairs uncomfortable. I have been here two days, have pointed out the problems to the manager (no action was taken on the second day), and 4 more to go...too bad I prepaid.

Bottom line, if you want to enjoy a spa with the resort, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank YWR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

All casinos seem to have a "theme" these days, and I would say GVR's theme is "wealthy rancher,"....sort of like the family on The Big Valley. It's a good looking and opulent place in that Las Vegas kind of way. Green Valley has a very nice casino, but since I don't gamble, casinos can get boring. GVR has a lot to do besides gambling. It has a very good gym (a bit better than most hotel gyms) and a spectacularly beautiful spa/gym (no extra charge) with a jacuzzi, sauna, and steamroom. The large pool has a sandy beach on one end of it. It has a large movie theater in the hotel that shows about 8 movies in a multiplex. It has a mid to high end shopping center adjacent. It's a short drive to Greensport Athletic Center which has indoor and outdoor tennis courts. There are a lot of nice restaurants, and a food court. A great place to relax for the gambler or non-gambler!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tennistime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

I usually stay on the Strip but I decided to stay in Henderson due to business nearby. The hotel staff are very friendly and made me feel welcomed. My room was average, bed was comfy. Liked the Boise stereo system in the room. The pools are beautiful. The casino was way too smoky for me. The hotel room walls are thin. I could hear conversations of anyone walking the hallway as well as those in other rooms.
I heard a dog barking through the night and when I asked if the hotel allowed dogs, the answer was "yes". When I explained that I heard a dog barking through the night, they were surprised that I could hear the dog from my location. I was in the East Tower and apparently they only allow dogs in the West Tower.
My disappointments were with the thin walls and barking dog.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank TravelingDivaFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

The Best Place off the strip. Short Cab ride from the airport and A+ service. Loose slots, great dinning and top entertainment.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kpinwnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Ranch Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Ranch Resort and Spa

Address: 2300 Paseo Verde Pkwy, Henderson, NV 89052-2672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Henderson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
#9 Business Hotel in Henderson
#11 Family Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: $112 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Green Valley Ranch Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Valley Ranch Resort is unquestionably one of the finest Las Vegas casino resort hotels, equally exquisite both inside and out. Attending to guests with impeccable service, wealth of outstanding amenities, and expansive pools and gardens, Green Valley Ranch has become renowned as one of the top luxury resort hotels in Henderson, Las Vegas ... in the USA. Green Valley Ranch Resort has all that you require from Exquisite Accommodations, the ultimate in relaxation and rejuvenation at The Spa, Award-Winning Dining, Non-Stop Gaming Action, Entertainment for Everyone, Meeting & Events, to our The Backyard with incredible scenery, sand-bottom pool and laid-back vibe, not to mention a great selection of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Valley Ranch Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Valley Ranch Hotel Henderson
Green Valley Resort
Green Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing