We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Date Night locale”

1862 David Walley's Restaurant & Saloon
Reserve with OpenTable
1862 David Walley's Restaurant & Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 395 & 206
Description: A favorite place for wine as well as food, 1862 David Walley's Restaurant & Saloon hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu beef, and known for its intense marbling and unmatched taste that is only produced for fine dining restaurants. The dining is fine but the atmosphere is casual. Come and enjoy a cocktail in this historic landmark, and create a legacy of your own.Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" 2012 and 2013. Nevada Magazine Best Spa and Wedding Venue in Rural Nevada 2012.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Date Night locale”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

1862 serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an elegant dining room with picturesque views of the mountains and Carson Valley. The dinner menu includes unique choices such as rattlesnake ravioli (which we were not brave enough to try), baked mushroom and brie strudel, and a buffalo rib eye steak. They also offer a reasonably-priced prix fixe menu with a chicken, meat and seafood entree option, along with soup or salad and dessert. I enjoyed an organic chicken breast over penne pasta in a spicy cream sauce along with a super fresh spinach salad with goat cheese, strawberries and toasted nuts. Starbucks coffee was the perfect complement to the dense and rich banana bread pudding and gourmet vanilla ice cream. My husband ordered the prime rib special of the night which was enjoyable, but not something he'd choose again. He enjoyed the french onion soup appetizer which reportedly takes 48 hours to prepare and was quite tasty.

The service was excellent, and the padded semi-circular booths and upscale environment are conducive to conversation and feelings of romance. Perfect for date night.

Next time we'll plan to enjoy the hot springs too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blooeyz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Great All The Way Around!!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently visited 1862 for a date night. The ambiance is warm and inviting from the moment you enter. We were seated at a table next to the windows overlooking the beautiful valley and outdoor fire. The staff is fantastic exactly what you would expect for a classy restaurant like this. We enjoyed a delicious seafood bisque, and spinach salad to start. For our entrées my husband had the scallops and I had the pork porterhouse. We ended our meal with a melt in your mouth bread pudding. Add in a wonderful glass of wine from their extensive wine list and we could not stop saying enough great things about our delicious meal. If you are looking for a true dinning experience this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yum, local good food & great creations. The restaurant is also very pretty with views of the valley. After the spa we were all famished & what a treat our dinner was!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchetta_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go for the Spa, stay for the food!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Folr the 4th time in the past 14 months I stayed at David Walley's. What a wonderful setting, buttressed by the Sierra Madra Mountains and only 2 miles from Genoa, NV, the oldest town in the State. Discovered in 1862 by David Walley, these natural hot springs have drawn attention of previous Presidents as well as famous persons, like Mark Twain. Regrettably they weren't able to visit Happy Hour at the Saloon, or enjoy the delicious entrees that are produced in the Restaurant. Want a true experience? Try the Buffalo Rib-eye. It will bring you back as it did my guest and me. Also, if you want succulent shrimp and un-paralleled scallops, try the seafood offerings. Lastly, the staff is infected wih "Southern Hospitality," and I hope they never lose it. Courteous to a fault, and attentive to your every need, they anticipate your needs and could not be more timely. I strongly recommend each reader try Walley's soon...and often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodrow C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“They're back!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After their closure some time back, we kind of lost track of this restaurant. Tonight we went back, and had a wonderful meal. My wife and I had the Prix Fix meal which included soup or salad, an entree (salmon, steak, or Broiled Chicken) and desert (chocolate chip cookie and ice cream, cheese cake with raspberry drizzle, or I forgot). I had the cream of potato broccoli and cheese soup, the new york steak, and the cheese cake. More than enough food. The steak came with al dente vegetables that were perfect Mini squashes, zucchinis, and carrots and mash potatoes with a green pepper sauce. It was perfectly cooked, served hot, and tender. The cheese cake was, well, cheese cake. We had a bottle of wine with dinner, and the total was $98, not bad. Their wine list is extensive, includes California and European wines, and ranges from about $40 up. I assume the bordeaux's were very good, and magnums, as some of the prices were up to $3500!
The room was not crowded and for a thursday night, not as busy as they have been in the past, but the ambience is very pleasant. The dining room looks out over the Carson river valley and the hot spring pools that share the complex. I'll go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1862 David Walley's Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to 1862 David Walley's Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing