We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Resort Close to All The Action” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mountain Resort Close to All The Action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Genoa, Nevada is in the middle of a renovation, as was this resort when we visited it in early 2013. The resort is within a half-hour of Lake Tahoe and even closer than that to many ski resorts. It is also within an hour of Reno and Carson City and minutes from Gardnerville and Minden. All of these locations have something to offer those that are looking to get away for a while and relax. Add in that the restaurant at this resort and the spa are immaculate and you can't go wrong visiting this place. I think that you will be pleased with the decision to visit David Walley's Hot Springs Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your post. We will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    105
    44
    26
    34
See reviews for
106
139
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Despite the history of management missteps, new leadership has improved the facility and upgraded several buildings. The restaurant has always been an excellent choice and has great ambience. We love the casual bar for a beer and a pizza. But our favorite part is soaking in the mineral waters with either the Carson Valley in the distance or the snow-capped Sierras behind us. Just a 15 minute drive over the Kingsbury Grade to Lake Tahoe. Great place to stay if you ski at Heavenly, Kirkwood, or Mt. Rose. Take a day trip to Virginia City or kick back at the nearby Genoa Bar and Saloon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReillyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your post. We will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Prior to going to David Walley's on a Timeshare Exchange I read several reviews about the property and had my doubts about what I was getting into. I have to report I was pleasantly surprised at the property. In the last 2 years a new management company has come in and completely renovated all of the units. Summerwinds has done a very nice job and continues to improve the property. They have made a nice paved walking path that is 1 1/2 miles to the historic town on Genoa, NV. There are also two restaurants one serves breakfast and lunch, the other dinner. I had a wonderful buffalo burger from the bar menu on my first evening there and a delicious skillet meal for breakfast one morning. The spa is very nice along with the hot springs. Very close to South Lake Tahoe you can get up there in less than 30 minutes. The young man from maintenance came one night to explain how we could watch a DVD on the flat screen TV and was gave us a very thorough explanation of how to work with the remote control. It was a great place to stay and would recommend it to others. Only bad part is it is a 45 minute drive into Reno if you plan to do anything there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bethelbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your post. We appreciate the comments and will forward them to the Resort General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been going to Walley's for about 10 years every year and always love the memories. They work hard to make the resort peaceful , comfortable and a real family/ singles experience to remember. The location is beautiful in the Carson valley foothills. There are so many activities to partake of around the area and the resort itself is awesome. The spa is a whole other story to enjoy!

Room Tip: Keep away from above the B building office. It can be busy but no matter what, you will enjoy the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was sold a promotional stay last year. When I contacted them to cancel it this year (a month before the 1 year was up), they refused to refund my payment, even though I wouldn't be using their facilities at all.
I was asked to write to their address seeking a refund by their customer service person when I insisted, which I did promptly. However, received no response (not even a courtesy sorry, no refund). Apparently, the only way was to write and post a letter, which seems out of touch in today's world.

I ended up paying them 136$ and getting nothing in return, and basically feel cheated. I'd definitely not recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Harish_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your post. We are unable to identify you in our customer files from the information you posted. If you will please call guest services at (800-815-6102) and ask to speak to the manager, we will address the issues you have raised. Please reference Trip Advisor when you call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

we have been coming to Wally's for several years now.....its a quiet hideaway in the carson valley.....the best of both worlds......25 minutes from Reno....25 minutes from Tahoe....2 minutes from the room to the pools....

not a high energy place.....a place to relax and center......not fancy....down to earth

and the food's great too....

we have enjoyed the hot springs so much ...we just purchased a time share.......and booked our next three visits !!!!!

shel & ellen
Salinas, CA

Room Tip: all the rooms are fine.... id avoid the hotel if can for the free standing units...Aurora is closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifejester123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the resort for a week and spent the week exploring the area - mostly skiing and hiking. There are several ski resorts within a short drive (less than an hour) as well as great spots to hike (Eagle lake was our favorite). It was wonderful to come back and soak in the hot tubs and relax back at the resort.

Everyone was friendly, the unit we had was clean. We had a few small issues at the beginning with a broken control on the fridge and the lack of a wine opener (tragic) and both were taken care of quickly when we called the front desk.

We have visited several similar areas for skiing and will definitely come back here year after year since there are so many things to do. On our days off the slopes we were able to hike, visit great tourist attractions (Virginia City is a must) and just relax at the resort. We did not visit the restaurant but did have drinks and food at the bar a few nights - very cozy!

We would highly recommend it, especially since they are continuing to upgrade the facilities - it can only get better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your post. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our resort and look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
3.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Property: 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing