We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice place with friendly staff. Very clean and the hot springs are wonderful. The location is good if you like the peace and quite. The town is very nice and driving around the area looking at the wildlife was fun. Not far from many attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    114
    48
    29
    38
See reviews for
119
145
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Dave and Walley's. The staff was great and rooms were clean and comfortable. They no longer charge for people staying there to use the hot springs. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. We are looking forward to going back to Dave Walleys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

They put a $250.00 deposit on your credit card for possible issues. The resort claims it will be held for three to five business days. Upon checking with our credit card company they say it will be in place for thirty days, or if released by the resort. You would think, if the pooch damaged the property that you would be informed the day you checked. We have contacted the hotel and left messages for the manager. This person must be severely over worked, as she has not returned any of our calls.

BEWARE OF THERE PRACTICES.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Buff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We used hot springs and sauna for a day. Fast check in, they provide towels, Very relaxing, clean pools, pleasant staff. One minus that ladies and gentlemen saunas are separate, so if u wish to hold ur hubby's hand u cant do it while relaxing in sauna :) recommend to all of my friends and will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Lana5g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bates City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at this resort. We traded one of our vacation weeks for it. The location is good -- not far from Lake Tahoe and Carson City, We chose to stay there and drive back and forth to Reno for a bowling tournament. The breakfast at Harriet's Cafe was good and the views were nice. Our room was okay except for the fact that the A/C could not keep up during the day and the room was very warm for getting to sleep. Also the WI-FI was not working on day 4 and 5 of our say and repeated requests did not solve the problem. If you like a rock hard bed then this is the place for you. The bathroom was very good with a large shower and great water pressure. I doubt that we would choose this resort again though. The property needs a little updating. The televisions were not flat screen or HD.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front side (above the lobby) look out over mountains and wetlands. The ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ione, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been an owner for several years. We have been asking when the tennis courts were going to be resurfaced and have gotten answers from shortly to not for a while. At the Blues & Brews event in Folsom at the DW stand we were told that they are shortly going to take out the courts.
I am very disappointed.
I am also very disappointed that Management did not bother to respond to my lengthy letter on my stay last year at DW's. I booked 1- 2bedroom suite & a 1 bedroom suite. I requested that the rooms be on the bottom floor & close together since we were all family. We had problems with the reservations and our requests were not meet. When we arrived only 1 hour before check-in time we were told that NO rooms were available yet & that we were on the 2nd & 3rd floors. I won't go on with all the problems but the front desk ignored us and it made our stay frustating.
I love this location and DW has so much potentional to be the hottest spot in the Carson Valley. But with service like this and average outdated rooms and broken down pool & as I read from Renters, the excessive charge to use the spa area especially when the regular pool is not open is a BAD management decision.
I will be staying again in a couple of weeks so I hope that most of these issues have been resolved. I want to stress that if management just give the people a canned response& not correct the problems eventually people will stop coming. As an owner I really don't want that to happen. I just paid a lot more money to upgrade with Trading Places so please don't disappointment me again.
Also, I want you to confirm if getting rid of the tennis courts is really going to happen.
Vera Ferguson

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VIPServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, WI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did an exchange with our timeshare to stay here. Many new renovations were recently completed and more additions are on the way. The day spa was nicely renovated with new saunas, changing areas, showers, lockers, etc. The pool was nice (warm as bath water) and we enjoyed the mineral pools. We were told that they will be redoing the mineral pools, which could use a facelift, but were very functional. The pool closest to our building wasn't open at the time, but should be reopening this week if it passes the county inspection. They were honest that there had been problems with the pool and that they wanted to make sure everything was good to go before they had the inspector come out. Once that opens back up, it will be even better! I do suggest you make sure there is a pool to use or be willing to pay $30.00 a person to use the pool and mineral pools thru the day spa! I highly recommend visiting Lake Tahoe and going on one of the boat cruises they offer up there. Beautiful area!!!

Room Tip: We were told to ask for a room facing the protected habitat so that's what we did. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
3.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
7.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
75 reviews
5.8 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Property: 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing