We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did an exchange with our timeshare to stay here. Many new renovations were recently completed and more additions are on the way. The day spa was nicely renovated with new saunas, changing areas, showers, lockers, etc. The pool was nice (warm as bath water) and we enjoyed the mineral pools. We were told that they will be redoing the mineral pools, which could use a facelift, but were very functional. The pool closest to our building wasn't open at the time, but should be reopening this week if it passes the county inspection. They were honest that there had been problems with the pool and that they wanted to make sure everything was good to go before they had the inspector come out. Once that opens back up, it will be even better! I do suggest you make sure there is a pool to use or be willing to pay $30.00 a person to use the pool and mineral pools thru the day spa! I highly recommend visiting Lake Tahoe and going on one of the boat cruises they offer up there. Beautiful area!!!

Room Tip: We were told to ask for a room facing the protected habitat so that's what we did. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Can't be rated as a hotel, cause it's a time share. If you come expecting a hotel, they will call you a renter. I've never been called a renter at a hotel. And, as a renter, you do not get access to the pool without a $30 per person per day charge. They don't inform you at any point until the towel boy (maybe 16 years old), tells you that "ewe" as a "renter" it will cost you $90 for the three of you to visit our pools at 8:30 PM. No mention that the pools close at 9:30. Also, evey time you step in the lobby, (unfortunately on the way to our room) some guy tries to get you on a one hour time share walk thru. I felt like I was in Mexico. Without the nice beach's. Please stay in a hotel. Not in a time share.

Room Tip: Find a hotel, not a time share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dave777wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerWindsResorts02, Owner at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Since 1862 we have served as a destination for those seeking to relax in some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere and to enjoy the geothermal mineral springs . While it is true that we offer interval ownership at the resort, we continue to serve a substantial number of rental guests as well. It is our policy to inform arriving guests of the Hot Springs rates at check-in - if this was not done, we apologize. The reason the Hot Springs usage fees are not included in the nightly room cost is to keep the nightly rates as reasonable as possible, since not all guests wish to use the Hot Springs during their stay. We have forwarded your posting to the Front Desk Manager and to the General Manager and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just spend two days at Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa. It was a girls weekend! The two bedroom we stayed in was amazing, we had a beautiful view of the valley and spent time on the deck watching the birds. We all had spa treatments, which were top of the line! The friendly nature of the staff and their willingness to help us with any of our needs was very much appreciated. We spent the afternoon in Genoa meeting and visiting with the local residence, all of whom were amazingly friendly and helpful. I can not wait to go back with my family in the next couple of months and experience the golfing in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MeeeeDeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

So since my previous visit last year there have been several changes at the property. They are planning many renovations and expansions of the property starting this summer but in the meantime we got a one bedroom unit in the Dillion's Building this time and were very pleased. It is on the far left side of the resort when looking at it. The double sided fireplace in bedroom and living room was very nice and the two flat screens mounted above were an extra bonus space wise it make more sense to do that. Our room was very nicely furnished and it wasn't even the nicest or newest building (we saw those rooms in a tour and they were even nicer than ours, and eventually they say they will all be like that). The bathroom included a walk in shower as well as a separate spa tub with two separate sinks. The full size kitchen had granite countertops and stainless steel appliances a bar area with 3 barstools as well as a dining area with table and seating for 6. Also newly added was free WiFi now throughout the property, something that was truly lacking before. They also accept pets now! Just an additional $250 room deposit but no fee for them per night which is nice. I will definitely come back again I really like the room this time but it is far away from all the amenities (spa, restaurant, gym, game room etc.) but good for exercise and until the other areas are remodeled or upgraded these are by far the better rooms over here. Come check them out.

Room Tip: Get a newer remodeled unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peppertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Pool was broken and we were not told. Nothing like showing up for a pool vacation with no pool. You could pap $30 to use the hot spring pool. Management would simply not budge on the price even though their advertised pool was broken. Won't be back. The rooms are pricey and the wind was annoying. Take a pass on this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Reyna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at dwr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a classic old resort, dating back to 1851. The natural hot springs at the site have always been the draw. The location, just down the road from the equally historic town of Genoa, and in a post-card pretty spot, is hard to beat. Lake Tahoe is 40 minutes away, and the town of Minden, with plenty of shopping and places to eat, is within 10 minutes.

But . . . the folks who are currently running this resort are all about their bottom line, not guests. First, although we are already timeshare owners, they hassled us daily to tour their new building on the property, even when firmly told no. We ended up sneaking in and out of the side entrance of our building. Second, the unit we stayed in was decorated for looks, not comfort. For example, there was only one bedside table -- and one lamp, total -- in our bedroom. Is it too tough to put in an overhead fixture? And because a spa bathtub -- but no salts or bath oil or other accessories -- had been jammed into one wall of our bathroom, the shower was tiny -- and made tinier but the decision to put in a seat and rails. There were few hooks and shelves anywhere. The TV/DVD setup was OK, but small and dated. The kitchen lacked elementary equipment like egg turners/flippers. You get the idea.

And, the prices at this place are absurdly high. 50 minute facials run $50 to $100 normally -- here, the price when on special is $210! Locals can't use the modest mineral hot tubs and small pool for less than $30/day The 1862 restaurant at the resort has entrees ranging in price from about $35-$45 -- a price not warranted by the quality of the cooking or service.

We are on the fence about coming back. We liked the location and hot springs/pool very much, but there are much more comfortable resorts into which we could trade as time share owners.

Room Tip: If there are four in your party, pay the $79 for a second bedroom/bathroom. The fold out sofas bend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bearwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at dwr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow, There are very few places that are so physically beautiful. peaceful and powerful. The hot tubs, the mountains, the stars, the sounds of the natural habitat (ie; geese, ducks etc. There is nothing that is more powerful than the feeling of connection with nature. WOW!

Room Tip: Ask for the valley side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeylaMarie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We're so pleased your enjoyed the rustic and natural setting of David Walley's. We hope you will return to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
4.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
5.8 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
5.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,943 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $92 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing