We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow, There are very few places that are so physically beautiful. peaceful and powerful. The hot tubs, the mountains, the stars, the sounds of the natural habitat (ie; geese, ducks etc. There is nothing that is more powerful than the feeling of connection with nature. WOW!

Room Tip: Ask for the valley side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeylaMarie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We're so pleased your enjoyed the rustic and natural setting of David Walley's. We hope you will return to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 337 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to the 4th Annual Genoa Cowboy Poetry Festival in Genoa last weekend. Though we live only an hour north in Reno, we thought it would be fun to stay over, enjoy the spa and walk or ride our bikes to the Festival. Upon arrival we were treated to a timeshare "pitch" which we needed to decline in order to get our parking pass to park on the property. Then we got in our suits and walked to the nearest pool and found it closed for repairs. So we walked 200+ yards to the spa and were surprised that it cost $30 to enter - no mention of this on the reservation or the website. The young man let us in but there was no place to get a towel. The young man then said we would need to pay $30 each for a towel - ridiculous. Finally we went to the bar for a cocktail and to the diner the next day for breakfast - could not charge anything to our room!

Room Tip: If you make a reservation make sure the "free" pool is in service - you would think with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Floyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We appreciate your honest comments. Your concerns will be forwarded to the company who manages the spa. We hope you will consider staying at the resort on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Walley's last week, sharing a two bed apartment with my mum and dad. Overall we had an enjoyable stay.

There were good points and a few bad ones. Let's start with the good.

Location. Set in Carson Valley at the bottom of the Sierra Nevada, the scenery was stunning. To one side you have snow topped mountains (due to the time of year I guess) and in front of our apartment was an area of wetland surrounding the Carson river. This was crammed with a variety of wildlife - hawks, eagles, deer etc. The historic town of Genoa is within walking distance and this is fascinating and worth a look though you need to go further afield for proper shops. Minden is five minutes drive and has most of what you would need. Also, just over the mountain you have the beautiful lake Tahoe which was quiet while we were there but I imagine you'd be pleased of more remote positioning of Walley,'s later in the season.

The hot springs. These were great. We got in the habit of nipping along first thing in the morning for a soak as the sun was relentless during the afternoon. It was really indulgent to relax in the bubbles and spot deer in the mountains. Access to the spa area was included in our booking - I wouldn't fancy paying $30 a head otherwise, nice though it was.

The rooms were OK. A little tired maybe and could have been better equipped with crockery etc. In general the staff were helpful and managed to track down the additional bits that we needed.

The negatives for us were the options for dining on-site. We had breakfast at Harriet's cafe which was nice enough but it was frustrating not to be able to charge our meal to the room and pay up on check out. The same was true for the bar. I also had an extremely difficult time ordering a gin and tonic. I was told that sparkling water was the same thing as tonic! I could go on.....

Being a vegetarian I found the food options limited but that's not all that uncommon.

An enjoyable trip. I'd consider going back if it was closer to home.

Room Tip: You want to be facing the valley rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_Gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We're glad to hear you had a lovely time and appreciate your honest review! Please consider staying with David Walley's again should you visit the area in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in to enjoy the hot tubs and left. $30 each to use hot pools including kids. So $120 for a family which proved excessive. We did not stay.
Staff were ok but for these prices need a great deal more than a towel, a locker and ability to re enter that day.
The hotel is located close to Lake Tahoe but is isolated and remote. It appears very new and lacking in history despite its 1862 Moto. It was clean but rather utilitarian and had no atmosphere which given the entry cost was hugely disappointing.
For a couple it is perhaps good value but for families is to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We appreciate your honest comments. Your concerns will be forwarded to the company who manages the spa. We hope you will consider staying at the resort on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our year is incomplete without a trip or two at Walley's Hot Springs! So many good things going on both at the resort and the area. The place is exactly what we look for in rooms for a good nights sleep, soaks in the hot tubs, a great restaurant/bar and the little cafe serves a fantastic breakfast! Staff is excellent and quick to respond to any requests. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in the Carson Valley. With Lake Tahoe only minutes away, it is the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: request a 3rd floor room near the hot tubs overlooking the wetlands and in view of Jobe's Peak!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you - what a great review! We're happy to welcome you back every year. We'll see you soon at Walley's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We bought a groupon for the hots springs and dinner, then decided to make it into a little get away by staying the night. As always we enjoyed spending some time in the hot springs - very relaxing. Then had dinner - food was good - not quite as good as we had previously and service was a little lacking this time - may have been due to a late reservation. The wait staff was more preoccupied in getting all the tables set for the next day. We enjoyed our room - no complaints. And we really enjoyed walking around in the morning - watching the geese, we even saw a deer jump through the little creek. Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and for staying at David Walley's! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We bough one of those get you in the door deals at a Car Show in Reno. We thought "Get away for the weekend hear their sales pitch and go home". Well we were sold as soon as we drove up. The place is prefectly located on the back side of Tahoe and a stones throw from just about everything worth doing in the area. Lake Tahoe itself, Reno, Carson City, Virgina City, half a dozen ski resorts, Genoa (First city of Nevada and home of the Nevada's oldest running bar) and even Minden and Gardnerville (check out he public pool in Gardnerville for the kids, awesome). After hearing the sales pitch and the many things it offered we went for it. We have not been disappointed yet. There is a bit of a learning curve if you never been in a time share or ownership to be exact, so ask questions. The property is spectacular. The views are breathtaking and the whole area is peaceful and calming. The room themself are very well done and are currenly under renovation, hard to believe they need up dating. The propety itself has been under going many renovation and the staff is constanly keeping us update on whats going on. On many occation many staff members have sat an talk with us an explaning whats going on and what is planned. We have gotten to know many staff members and look forward to seeing them each time we go over. The staff has always been quick to respond when ever we had a problem or concern 24/7. We are there about once over two to three months for three to four days or longer. Accually headed there next month for four days. The price is great and they have a few different price points depending on your need. The resturant is top of the line and should not be missed. The bar is small and quaint prefect for your needs. The spa reminded me of your old trips to Calistoga and the mineral pools. Five to chose form and one large swimming pool. We never leave with out hitting up the pools, even in the snow and those cold winter nights. If you haven't gone yet, you don't know what your missing. Place fills up faster that you think so call a head.

Room Tip: It's usually better to call ahead so you can see what is available to better meet you needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We thank you for your great review of David Walley's! We love our owners and look forward to seeing you again next month!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
4.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
249 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
80 reviews
5.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: $105 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing