We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend at David Walley's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Auburn, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend at David Walley's”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We signed up for a weekend deal at a local home show to stay for two nights at a reduced rate. We have not been to the resort in 5 years and frankly I was worried due to negative reviewers however we did decide to book the special due to the incentives. We went with another couple who also had purchased the package.
It was amazing...the updates of the spa facilities and the overall improvement of rooms, decor and service wowed our whole group. Happy hour in the bar was fun with live music and an excellent bar menu (incredible gormet pizzas and appetizers) that enticed us to just eat dinner there the first night. The 1862 restaurant was incredible with excellent service, wine list and food the second night.
The new owners appear to be continuing to improve the facilities, the surrounding mountains are beautiful (even had a small snow flurry) and the wild life preserve behind the resort is incredible.
Do not hesitate to go to David Walleys- we were not disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Dillon building as it is all remodeled- but the other buildings are very nice also- and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Auburnboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of David Walley's! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    47
    29
    38
See reviews for
117
145
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We last visited this property in 2011 and were told of all their big plans! We did see where the pools had been worked on and all were in working order. The spa itself had been cleaned up. However, the steam rooms in both men's and women's locker rooms were not working. And, the room...was worse than last time. Room was hot and the heater was off (in the 20's outside)....wierd! Good thing it was hot though as all that was on the very uncomfortable bed was a sheet and very thin blanket. (I've thrown out better). TV was old and we had to have remote replaced...coffee pot didn't work right, front door stuck, room was dusty, clock didn't work, etc. etc. And, they wanted us to buy a timeshare, wow they really know how to market their product! When I mentioned the room they made note of it, had me fill out a form, but never offered to move us. On the plus side, we found that both restaurants were excellent as were all the staff, at least they have their act together. We were told and showed the cabins that have been started....sure they have...they are the MODELS! Show me some that have been built for use! I am fearful this place is going to go under again...timeshare buyers beware!!

Room Tip: Ask to be put in one of the newer rooms, but good luck with that as it didn't work for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CruiserAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at dwr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went as a family in October 2012 and had a wonderful time! The property in undergoing a renovation so when we were there our room was not renovated yet, but still very nice. The spa had there grand opening while we were there and is beautiful! We're planning another trip for March of this year. I can't wait until the renovations are complete...it'll be spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nivamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to David Walley's! We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a week in January after a heavy snow and cold front, and had a wonderful time. Our rooms (timeshare exchanges) faced the desert valley and afforded us a spectacular view of the white terrain. The rooms are dated and the housekeeping could be better, but the staff were friendly and the hot pools in the spa area were clean and very nice. Our ground-level room was perfect for easy access to the hot stream that runs behind the hotel buildings. It was frequented by heron, egret, R-S towhees, mallards, and I even got a good photo of a rare American bittern.
Nearby Gardnerville is pleasant and home to Cheshire Antiques, for those interested in such things.
We will seriously consider returning next winter (and having seen the area in the Spring, it's very nice then as well).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annandale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments about David Walley's Resort. We certainly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I can't say how much we enjoyed our stay at David Walley's. The spa and hot springs which were newly renovated were amazing. I particularly loved the scented steam room with eucalyptus scent was sooooo refreshing right after getting out of the springs. This little slice of heaven was perfect for our sore muscles after a day snowboarding on the mountain. It is located about 30 minutes from Heavenly and about 45 from Reno. It was a perfect spot to stay. They even allowed small pets as well.However, I would have purchased a time share if the bed's were not the quality of motel inn or lower. I am amazed that they have such fine amenities but did not focus on the one thing people would spend half their time doing.....sleeping. Also as a side note the restaurant on day 1 had amazing food yet HORRENDOUS service, day 2 not so good food....although the food at Harriet's cafe and service was to die for ESPECIALLY the Belgian waffles!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and honest comments of David Walley's Resort! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went with my family, we really got a chance to relax. Great room service, we needed an extra bed and it was brought to our room upon request. Hotel staff is very friendly and very flexible, but the actual hot springs staff is very rude. The view is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Great resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently my husband and I decided to venture over the mountain from Lake Tahoe's south shore craziness to find something a little more rural and comforting. We felt more than gratified when we drove down the hill and saw the big valley, surrounded by snow-capped mountains, that is the site of Walley's resort, 1862 restaurant, and hot springs. Although the wonderfully hot pools need some refurbishing, they are the right thing on a cold day. The resort staff was down home and friendly and responsive to all requests that we made. (The kitchen was especially ill-equipped.) Best of all were the magnificent panoramas from our picture windows and patio: gorgeous valley with grazing cattle; beautiful mountains all around; unbelievable sunrises and sunsets. And if this wasn't enough, we adored the quaintness of the village of Genoa and the friendly residents there. We will go back!

Room Tip: All rooms have views. We liked the ground floor with patio where we could barbeque and easily walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellyrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
3.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
7.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
71 reviews
5.3 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#6 of 6 in Gardnerville
83 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Property: 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing