We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing resort with lots of wildlife to watch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort with lots of wildlife to watch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a spacious two bedroom Dillon condo at the end of the resort property. The unit was very nice, although the kitchen work area is tight for two people to prepare a meal. There was a whirlpool tub, a washer-dryer, and excellent wi-fi in the condo. From the patio, we observed bunnies, birds, and one day, three deer. The patio was comfortable with a very nice view. The staff was helpful, fresh coffee available in the lobby along with three fast computers. While the hot springs did not " cure "me of my aches, it was pleasant to sit in one of the tubs and chat with others. The property is very nice, and Lake Tahoe is less than 30 min. away over the Kingsbury Grade. Carson City is not far and worth a visit. Go to the visitor's center, get the walking guide and walk "the blue line" (literally ).

Into golf? Try the beautiful views and challenging Sunridge Golf Club about 15 min. from the
resort, reasonably priced,too.

This is a very nice resort for families with pools and a playground. However, the tennis courts are locked up as they are unplayable, and we were told they were going to be taken out.

Room Tip: We loved the Dillon area, but most of the rooms elsewhere appear to be equally spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tennisplayerbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    107
    44
    27
    34
See reviews for
109
141
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. 1 Bedroom apartment with a great view of Jobs Peak. Just FYI, they are trying to sell time shares here and really encourage you to take the "tour". If you are on the first or second floor, you will hear the toilet flush in the bathroom above you, other then that the rooms are great. Nice pool and hot tub. I was disappointed that they would not let me check into the room until exactly 4 pm. They said NONE of the rooms were ready and then suddenly at 4 pm, all the rooms were ready. If you are a non-smoker, be sure and request a non-smoking room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had an incredible experience at David Walley's. The rooms were beautiful. We reserved a 2 bedroom and actually ended up with 2 units that were connected. The first had a main room with a leather couch that converted to a sofa bed, a beautiful dining room, and a kitchen with all stainless appliances. There was a closet off in the kitchen area with a washer and dryer, a flat screen tv in the living room area, and a beautiful fireplace that went through both into the living room and bedroom. The bedroom had a king bed, dresser, the fireplace and a huge closet and again, a wall mounted flat screen tv. The bathroom had 2 vanities, a jetted tub, and a glass shower. It was very big and just beautiful! The second unit, which had a door attaching it to the kitchen, had a huge bedroom with a king sized bed, a kitchenette, 2 entrances (a sliding glass door and another door) as well as a bathroom. It was all decorated beautifully and very clean. There were 2 different pool areas with 3 hot tubs in the one without the springs, and several in the area with the springs. The ground were beautiful, there was a place to eat, a playground, volleyball, horseshoes, all kinds of things to do. It was incredible. Carson City was only about 15 minutes away with all the groceries and anything else you could ever need and Lake Tahoe was about 20 minutes of a beautiful ride away. We loved everything about this place. With our timeshare, they did a through cleaning of the room midway through the week, and unlike other places we'd stayed didn't even ask us to clean anything before we left. We felt like we were in the lap of luxury. I can't say enough good about this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Familyof660922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

After reading all the reviews, we were REALLY hesitant when it came to swapping our Maui timeshare for Walley's! But what a wonderful surprise! The staff was welcoming, helpful & courteous! Everything was immaculately clean. We had a lovely living room (with fireplace); nicely appointed king bedroom; in the bathroom we had a huge whirlpool tub & shower (and there’s no need to drag along a hair dryer, ladies) The kitchen had all the amenities that anyone could ask for: full sized refrigerator, electric stove, pot & pans, cutlery, dishes, dishwasher, washer/dryer, coffee maker, etc. The only complaints we found was that it had very limited storage space in the kitchen, not enough clothes hangers – and, make sure that you bring your own TP (if you like soft 2-ply – 1-ply & scratchy didn’t do it for me!) Within a 10 minute drive, you have a COSTCO, Trader Joe’s or Raley’s at your fingertips…some huge shopping centers are also available for your shopping delight.

The snow covered mountainous scenery was magnificent & the grounds well kept & quite beautiful. The underground hot springs and relaxing massage at Walley's spa “hit the spot”...Easy access to gambling & restaurants (Carson Valley Inn, in Minden), skiing (Tahoe, Incline, Boreal) or just plain sightseeing (don’t forget to go to the Genoa Museum and “Nevada’s oldest thirst parlor” est. in 1853 just down the road – and the Railroad Museum, Nevada Museum and old Capitol Bldg. in Carson City.

We'll definitely be back (and often)! If you want a relaxing vacation give them a try -- you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: You have a choice of looking at the magnificant mountains or the wildlife habitat off your private d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRPittsburg_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We as owners were told that Trading Places would be sinking a large amount of money into the property once they had taken over, so far there are notable improvements but surface overall - the biggest minus is the remaining riffraff that the previous management had let take control of this resort, the location is gorgeous and the facilities were at one time truly enjoyable but left unmaintained for several decades - we plan in using our credits in RCI for the next few years and see if they follow through with their promises.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Begley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

the views from wallys are breathtaking, the sorronding areas are so great and the views are so fantastic, that i dont really mind what the rooms are like, its just good to be there. not to mention the hot tubs. it would be cool to have one of the buildings designated for pet owners, so i could bring my well behaved K9 friend along for the trip. it would just be cool. 20 bucks a night or something reasonable, anyway i love wallys hot spring resort, makes you feel like you in the old western days. it feels like your in the 1890s .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fair oaks, california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I came again here because I had brought friends to look into the timeshare possibility. They all loved the place, but the pool area still needs remodeling/upgrading. I really love the place too, but hope the pools will be redone soon, because they are aquite outdated with hoses pulled around.... and locker room is in dire need of remodeling also.... most lockers have a hard time staying locked. ... also privacy is an issue.... two men walked in twice in the same day inthe womens locker .... not too good......

Room Tip: just about any room is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vampires23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
3.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
7.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
6.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ridge Tahoe
The Ridge Tahoe
#4 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Property: 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Location: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing