We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest WIFI ever in the middle of the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

As usual BestWestern is above average motel so there was no surprise here. Room was clean, beds comfortable but one big surprise was fantastic strength and speed of WIFI connection. I did not expect something like this in the middle of the desert.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 351 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

The extra large spacious rooms, beds are so comfortable, the terrific view of the lake, the peacefulness of the area, the friendliness of the owners makes this the very best hotel. This is a favorite destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a surprise for us when looking for a place to stay before it was too late in the evening. We were tired and hoping to find a place to stay that would be reasonable for the night. To my surprise a Best Western in the middle of nowhere. I least that's how I felt. The owners were so nice. The rooms were large and bed were very comfortable. One of the legs on a chair in our room was broken. They were up in about 5 minutes to fix it. We had a view of the lake from our room that we were able to see in the morning. That was a nice surprise. As a matter of fact, all the rooms face the lake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48MB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I are avid motorcyclist and at least twice a year ride over to the eastern side of the Sierras. When in the Topaz lake area we normally stay at a friendly little owner/operator motel near Coleville. However, the motel's associated restaurant is no longer open for dinner and the motel owners have added RV parking. These changes lessened the motel's appeal to us and we have been looking for alternative lodging. On a recent trip, we decided to give the BW Topaz Lake Inn a try. It was a great find. The desk clerk was extremely helpful. When checking us in, she voluntarily checked our BW rewards points and asked if we wanted to use our points for a free nights stay, which we did. She could tell by our riding gear that we were riding a motorcycle and told us which parking spot would be directly outside our room's window. She also told us about a foot path that we could take to the nearby casino and restaurant. Thus, avoiding the need to suit up again. The room was spacious, clean and offered great views of the lake. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was typical for most any hotel offering a free breakfast. I give it only a four star rating because dining within walking distance is limited to the casino. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the east side of the second floor offer the best views of the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite hotels to stay in on the way back to Boise. The specialty restaurant is very good, but prices have increased the last year or two so that the same bargain doesn't exist...but the service has been very good.. The view from the restaurant is spectacular, but the service was so so, however the food was good...unfortunately the hot sauce lid hadn't been cleaned in a long time.. The room we had was average, but what was not average was the appearance of the bed sheets which were not ironed and appeared to have been left there from the last occupants. We couldn't open the window for air because of the wasps located there early in the evening. Everything worked but the plumbing system probably needs an overhaul because of the challenge of holding the water temperature on starting the shower and the spray nozzles on top were covered in lime.
We didn't gamble, but we heard that the casino returns decent odds.
The hotel has potential, but it will require a show of concern from the owners who have let it fall behind many of their competitors. As for the location and the pool.....excellent!

Room Tip: Look before you leap. There are usually full and you don't have a great choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Topaz Lake was a good place to stop for the night. The room was clean, wi-fi worked well, and the bed was comfortable. We watched the sun set over the lake. However, the walls (and apparently floors/ceilings) are thin. A neighbor had their TV on loud, which was annoying, and during the night it sounded like someone was in our room because someone was walking (in heavy boots?) in the room upstairs.

Room Tip: Wonderful view of the lake from upstairs room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stopped there, which I had booked before hand.
The lady that I spoke to at the desk was very rude, until my wife, said a few words.

The room itself was ok, but lacked the few little things one might need. Not up to the standard of 3 star sorry. Not even a 1 star......The breakfast was really very poor, another male from the Inn offered me a waffle, so I said yes please, I sat down and took a bite, but spat it out and placed all of this item into a rubbish bin. My wife was extremely unhappy, we paid the bill and left with out the breakfast.
This male I spoke to was very poorly spoken, not able to communicate very well at all.
I should add My wife noticed the waffle maker when we arrived the night before, but only told me about it as we left, it was very dirty so she said, it was clean in the morning though.
I told the male how I thought of our stay... very poor

Room Tip: find another Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
21.3 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
243 reviews
19.9 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
76 reviews
24.8 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Topaz Lake Inn

Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410-7081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range: $87 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Topaz Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remolded rooms overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel's business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey's Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing