We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Certificate of Excellence
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
195 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spend one night.
The hotel is a basic hotel. Rooms are big with lake view.
Breakfast was very poor.
It's a place to sleep only if you have no alternative.
There is only one place to eat diner (which was good...)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    91
    35
    11
    13
See reviews for
83
115
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Unfortunately we stayed here during the wildfires on the western rim of Yosemite and the smoke from the fires had travelled all the way to Topaz Lake. As a result we had no view of the lake. Our primary reason for staying at this hotel was the proximity to Lake Tahoe without the Lake Tahoe prices. We were impressed by the hotel considering the low cost. The room was gigantic with all mod cons. It had a gym with good equipment (small but functional). The guest laundry facilities were clean. There was a hot tub but no swimming pool. We appreciated the nice touches such as vouchers for the casino next door where we had a decent and very inexpensive meal. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent and the freshly cooked waffles were a highlight. The only thing that lets them down is the receptionist whom we found to be efficient but not overly friendly. Also, as we were looking for sockets behind the bedside table we saw that they hadn't done a good job of cleaning that area. Overall, a very enjoyable stay and great for filling up with fuel right next door at what we found to be the cheapest price between Lake Tahoe and Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Heavy smoke from a nearby wildland fire. Tricky road down to the motel entrance. Steep road back up to the main highway. Great motel, large clean room, all of the neat stuff. Can hear the coyotes at night. Rooms have an exterior door. Bring tire chains if it is snowing, the steep hill may be a problem. Over looks Topaz Lake, this is high desert country. Will have to drive a bit to find a place to eat. If you want some action, it is not here...keep driving. No pool, not for the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are seasoned travelers and this was certainly one of the most unpleasant experiences. Very poor service from the start, inaccuracy of room charges, gave us an issue when we requested a room move because of the strong smoke odor causing illness to a child, did not want to provide extra linens for the family, room had broken light, no water pressure, and the a/c barely worked. Miserable folk all around there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our group of four stopped at the Topaz Lake Inn. We had adjoining rooms at the end of the second-floor concourse. The rooms were large and well equipped. Everything worked. The beds were firm enough that I didn't have to use my inflatable mattress that I bring everywhere. Breakfast was not too inspired, but it served. We enjoyed the space and the view. Rates were reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Topaz Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We found this motel by accident when we were looking for a hotel in Bishop. (Too expensive). Now we never miss a chance to stay here. The Patels are friendly and courteous, the room was so clean, and the view of Topaz Lake was pretty. And there's gambling in the casino next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room was a good size and clean. But the air conditioner did not cool the room down. The manager brought us a small fan which helped. But they need to fix this problem. The shower rod was almost falling off the wall and the water pressure was not enough to rinse the shampoo out of my hair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank hairbiz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
21.4 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
15.3 mi away
Woodfords Inn
Woodfords Inn
#1 of 2 in Markleeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410-7081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remolded rooms overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel's business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey's Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing