We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Certificate of Excellence
Santee, United States
2 reviews
“Very Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

this hotel was very nice and I enjoyed staying here. Nice view of the lake. Excellent breakfast, sat outside and watched the boaters on the lake. Very nice staff, very clean rooms. I only wish they had a pool. After a long drive it's nice to do some swiming. The spa was nice but cant swim in it. Very peacefull and beautiful. I recommend this hotel, walking distance to casino. Over all I would rate a 10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Verla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    93
    35
    11
    13
See reviews for
85
116
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location is excellent for travellers in north-eastern CA as well as NV, and is right on Topaz Lake. Easy access from the main road, ample parking. Service is prompt and quick and effective, if not "warm" or "hearty". the room I stayed in was HUGE, with an excellent king size bed, A/C and in-room fridge and microwave oven. All the regular amenities, plus excellent and free WIFi in the room. The bathroom is large and comfy. Everything is VERY clean and tidy, and well maintained. The included continental breakfast is standard, not exciting but everything is fresh, and there is decent selection of drinks, oatmeal, fruit and baked goods. My only comlaint is that for the standard I came to expect from best Western the expterior of the building is not up to par. Looks like a run-of-the-mill motel, but in reality it is a bit more, a bit better, for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank leehuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here because Lake Tahoe was full up and pricey, and used gift card to help pay. Front desk was iffy with guest card but accepted. Room was alright, but could have been better located. Long walk from elevator, kids smoking in the parking lot. A little view of the lake, cute quail family in the bushes, breakfast left some room to be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for one closer to lobby if you have trouble walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrivney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have stayed here one night while returning from lake tahoe with family and the hotel service is top of the quality.. Rooms are big and beds are clean and comfortable, this property also offers complimentary breakfast and Wifi. The hotel staff has been very cooperative even during the peak season. I would definitely recommend this place in value for the money you would pay.

Room Tip: Complimentary breakfast provided since not many restaurants around this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vamshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Lake Tahoe. Shyam was really friendly and helpful. The room was large and the bed was quite comfortable. We were provided with a nice breakfast with fresh waffles!

Only issue was that we couldn't find anywhere to have dinner in the area after 10pm

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avirud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Make certain you don't just drive to Gardnerville and start looking for the Topaz Lake Inn. They have a Gardnerville postal address but they are 25 miles East actually at Topaz Lake and what a view they have. They have a jacuzzi!!! Yes! And we were the only folk using it. Good temp, strong jets and very welcomed. The rooms were very good and up to the norm for Best Western and we liked the King bed - very comfy! We ate the continental breakfast with a biker group and it was fun though it was noisy when they biked in. We had a ground floor room. Not the best. They have elevators so I would suggest going up! We went to the nearby casino and had dinner. Very good food and drinks. Smoke free in the restaurant but we held our breath going through the one arm bandits getting to it. There was no patio seating and I think they missed a good chance to expand the restaurant outside as this desert lake is spectacular! We felt that this was a great place to return to some day. The nearly mile high lake is a gem and the hotel with adjacent casino a great stopover.

Room Tip: The upper floor is probably better as we got a bit of biker noise on the first floor as those sweeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillandKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you happen to be around Gardnerville, Nevada and need a place to stay, I recommend the Best Western Topaz Lake Inn. I booked 4 rooms recently and we stayed there for one night. The manager/owners are very friendly and helpful. They recommended Johnny's Roadhouse, but we decided on eating at the Iron Horse Cantina. The stay was quiet and restful and we had a great view of Topaz Lake. I paid another $15 for the third floor, but was glad I did. One of my friends were next to a room that had a dog that barked all night, thankfully that was not anywhere near my room (It pays to get a room on the top floor) The facility is very adequate. I had read online that some folks thought it needed some updating, but overall, the physical plant was clean and well kept. The really, really best thing about the stay was the peace and quiet of the area. Plus the motel is far enough off the highway, there's minimal traffic noise.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room on the top/third floor. It's worth it. All the rooms face the lake an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocustTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
21.4 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
15.5 mi away
Woodfords Inn
Woodfords Inn
#1 of 2 in Markleeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
Address: 3410 Sandy Bowers Ave, Gardnerville, NV 89410-7081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remolded rooms overlooking beautiful Topaz Lake, this Gardnerville, Nevada hotel is nestled in the Eastern Sierras, just off Highway 395. It is very suitable if you are going to Lake Tahoe,Yosemite, Death Valley, Mammoth or even Las Vegas if you are travelling from San Francisco area. It features a daily continental breakfast and rooms with free Wi-Fi and a cable TV. Our best selling point is its location in Sierra Mountains and great view of Topaz Lake.A microwave, fridge and coffee maker are provided in all rooms at the Best Western Topaz Lake. Each room features mountain and lake views, and includes a work desk and seating area.Guests can enjoy free access to the on-site fitness room and relaxing jacuzzi. The hotel's business center offers fax and photocopy services, and the front desk is available 24/7.The Topaz Lake Best Western is just 2 miles from Topaz Lake Park, and the Carson Valley Museum is a 30-minute drive away. Harvey's Lake Tahoe Casino is 37.8 miles from this hotel. Hotel Rooms: 30, Hotel Chain: Best Western. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Topaz Lake Hotel Gardnerville
Best Western Gardnerville
Gardnerville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing