We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodations”
Review of Historian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historian Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here the last weekend in July 2014. We had no issues with the motel. The rooms were quiet and clean, and we felt the price was affordable. We really enjoyed the room decor and the beds were quite comfortable. The only thing we missed was a pool. This motel has no pool. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and we would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 462Law5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Historian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is the worst value I have ever experienced. My room was on the second floor facing a major thoroughfare. The exhaust pipes from the tractor trailers were at the same height as my room. They would idle all night long and not only could you hear them, and whatever music selection they were listening to, as well as smell the fumes. The buttons on the phone don't work and the soap dispenser in the shower was empty - kinda inconvenient when you are already in the shower. Waaaaaay over priced and when I asked the staff for a new room they looked my reservation up and after they learned that I booked through Expedia they literally crossed their arms and said because of that there was nothing that they would do. Even with a mostly empty parking lot they were totally unwilling to change my room. Save your money and find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. As you can see from our many positive reviews and high area rating; most guests do enjoy our hotel. If I understand correctly, it seems that your biggest issue was the location of the room that you booked. We have 4 Standard Hotel Rooms which are on the second floor facing Hwy 395. These Standard Hotel Rooms have a great balcony area, yet because they are on the street-side, we find light sleepers can hear the trucks and traffic; therefore they are also our best value. We do explicitly share this information to all guests when they call us direct to book and on our website for those who are searching online. We work closely with Expedia and other online booking sites to be clear about our room types and amenities; however they are unable to add such detailed information.

Your second complication was that you traveled over a busy weekend with a large local event. The fact that we could not offer you a different room had nothing to do with how you booked your room. We were simply sold out. We would have happily offered a Superior Hotel Room on the interior side of the building that would not have the noise issues due to traffic, but there were none available.

It is important to us that our guests feel the comfort and value of their experiences with us. We strive to deliver just that on a consistent basis. We are truly sorry the room you booked was not a good match for your needs and that you are not happy. We always recommend that guests check our website or contact the front desk prior to making a reservation for specific and detailed information so that we can discuss the best options and ensure that you have a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel even with its faults is better than the Holiday Inn Express (more expensive/pre-fab bkfst) or Carson Valley Inn (very smokey and noisy). I have stayed in both. Here are the positives and negatives.
Positives:
1. Good location if you want to explore historic areas, antiques, casinos.
2. Pet frirendly - fabulous dog park with picnic tables and beautiful green lawn just out the back door.
3. Better price from hotels.com than you can get directly from the hotel.
4. Quiet rooms in the back vs. rooms in the front on hwy 395 (you will pay slightly more for rooms in the back and hotels.com doesn't tell you that).
5. Shared table and chairs outside if you want to eat outside.
6. Owners incredibly charming and accommodating.
Negatives:
1. Shower doesn't vent well so it becomes a steam bath (unless you like that). Shower curtain, although new, sticks to you because the rod is not curved.
2. Some of the front desk staff are very unfriendly Example: With every question at check-in her
terse reply was a dismissal, saying "One moment, one moment". I found this to be the case when phoning
the hotel as well. They seemed angry, didn't want to answer your questions. They need hospitality training.
3. Mattress pad didn't fit the mattress (about a foot too short all the way around) so you slept on a lump.
4. Maids forgot to make up the room 1 out of 4 days and brought TP only when asked.
5. Wify, although free, was unbearably slow even though there were few guests in the hotel. May be due to lack of band width when two people in the same room are online.
6. Electric plugs for your computer are not handy to either the desk or table.
7. Breakfast is extremely limited although fresh. Menu is either yogurt parfait and/or oatmeal with raisins and brown sugar. NO decaf tea or coffee in the room or at breakfast - only regular.
8. Lots of bed pillows but they are all old and flat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are noisy but cost less than the quiet rooms in the back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank United50K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this hotel and before we arrived upon booking we were up charged for our room rate it took days to get them to realize this mistake this was the first time we have booked here at the Historian we stayed for 3 nights while we did the Candy Dance show in near by Genoa the rooms are really nice the beds are comfy the hotel lobby great... but if you want a good nights sleep don't stay here there are 2 bars next door the noise from cars and loud music goes on all night the bars in Nevada never close it doesn't matter where your room is they are in a L shape surrounding the parking lot its loud all night

Room Tip: there is no area where the rooms could be located where there would be less noise 2 bars are next do...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

It is important to note that your review was written about a stay nearly a year ago. It is difficult for us to pin point who you are and address your specific issues, but we do apologize if there were any issues in your billing and I am glad they were fixed.

Regarding the noise level, and our neighbors, we are centrally located in the heart of Gardnerville; surrounded by shops and restaurants. Most nights are calm and serene. However you mention that you not only stayed on an event weekend (Candy Dance) but that you were a vendor, too. We are quite clear when booking those nights that there can be music and event action until 10PM on some nights. We work closely with our neighbors and partners to create a fun atmosphere during these event weekends while respecting quiet times for our guests.

Please do contact us directly so we can understand who you are and earn your loyalty as a future guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We're snowbirds and go back and forth along Highway 395 from near the Mexican border to Washington.
And we most always spend out first night going north at the Historian Inn. It is on the main street but the rooms are in the back and it is quiet. The rooms are well appointed with large bath towels, plenty of soap and shampoo, even a mini-bar. There's even terry-cloth bath robes.
The place is always impeccably clean and the price is right...$80.
A couple of hints...the Basque restaurant across the street is not very good. The portions are huge but the food is mediocre. Instead, try El Aguila Real, a superb mexican restaurant just down the street. There's also a good Thai restaurant in a mall just south of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Realtyhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have used this hotel for a number of business related trips to the area. Would return here on personal travel without question. The well appointed rooms are excellent. The staff outstanding in every respect. Location is great. Once I park the car a great variety of restaurants, shops, and even laundry are within short walking distance. What brings me back nearly each month is the outstanding value for such great accommodations underwritten by great service each visit. Often I have to make adjustments in dates, additional rooms, etc and each time always met with cheerful assistance. Highly recommend the Historian at any point in the calendar.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both levels of the hotel. Find the bottom floor convenient for moving in and out of t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gryphonskymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Historian Inn has recently undergone a renovation and has a new owner. We stayed there for four nights in April 2014. Although the rooms are simple, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless and new. There was a microwave and mini fridge and free breakfast in the quaint little area near the lobby. Mostly the owner Kari was very hospitable and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
1.4 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
351 reviews
20.1 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
10.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Address: 1427 Highway 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410-5228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range: $87 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and great service in the heart of the Carson Valley! Pillow top beds, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, movies on demand, complimentary wireless and pet friendly. Just steps to shopping, dining (JTs is just across the street!), world class recreation. Call for Pet Availability Corporate and group rates available, ask about packages and discounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing