We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COMFORTABLE BED !!! VERY clean ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historian Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“COMFORTABLE BED !!! VERY clean ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Book this room last minute... What a great little place ... Very clean and extremely comfortable bed...we will most definitely be back ... Also very pet friendly !!!! .... Loved the decor!!! Room 111 Cute little park/grassy are across the road ...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, General Manager at Historian Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! We look forward to hosting you again soon and please remember to call and book direct with us for the best rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    4
    7
    14
See reviews for
20
31
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is probably the nicest affordable inn in Gardnerville area. They offer a very basic breakfast, which is nice, the little on site market has some essentials and unusual gifts, quite a few from local or area merchants. Very nice owners. Very clean. Mattress is VERY comfortable and we slept well. Only drawback is highway noise, so ask for room that does not face the highway. All rooms have small fridge and microwave. There is a local saloon next door, the Buckaroo and the locals can be a bit boisterous after bed time, but this was not an issue.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapaDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleHospitality, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently attended a wine tasting hosted by the UNR IEEE Student Branch at the Historian Inn. They were very accommodating and friendly. It was a neat little place, the room the wine tasting was in was setup nicely. The only bad thing was on one wall where an air conditioner unit or something use to be was just a metal box that went straight outside! Not a great thing when is was freezing cold outside. After we stuffed some towels in part of it the rest made a nice little cooler for our bottled water!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BedlamPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay. The office was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The bedding was very nice. Merchandising aspects are a bit unique with food and beverage in the room with you, each listed with its price. Robes are for sale. A straight forward approach but a little gauche. Sparse breakfast. We felt safe.It was quiet and clean.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LopakaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a welcome surprise in the Carson Valley! The rooms are just remodeled with western accents but yet modern amenities too. Service was great and if you want to buy a momento of the place, I recommend highly, they are reasonably priced and nice looking. You get the 5 the 4 star treatment. Location is great and the food around you is good too.

Room Tip: Up stairs are best. Only two floors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobs512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A really pretty hotel in a lovely town. The rooms are stunning, well decorated with all the amenities and proper sized towels in the bathroom - something sadly lacking in other hotels! The bed was very comfortable so we slept really well. Breakfast a little on the sparse side - just coffee and yoghurt, but it is free so you can't complain.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was impressed with Historian Inn because it was apparent that they are very customer-service oriented and really care about their guests' experience. Almost everything in the hotel room was perfect (we stayed in a Superior King). The bed was so comfortable and I love that it had a bunch of pillows on it! Also, I'm really glad the air conditioner was strong enough to fend off the heat at night. The free Wifi was also great to have. My only criticism about the room was that it was a little dark.

Apart from the room, there are a lot of neat goodies in the shop, so it's definitely worth looking around a bit while you're getting breakfast (which was also very good)!

I'm glad we stayed here. Its location is good if you want to drive up to Carson City, Reno, or Tahoe, which is what we did.

Room Tip: I imagine you'd be happy with any room, but we chose one away from the street and it was nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
1.5 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
19.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
5.3 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Property: Historian Inn
Address: 1427 Hwy 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and great service in the heart of the Carson Valley! Pillow top beds, luxurious linens, flat screen tvs, movies on demand, complimentary wireless and pet friendly.Just steps to shopping, dining (JTs is just across the street!), world class recreation. Call for Pet Availability Corporate and group rates available, ask about packages and discounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing