We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Slow Service”
Review of The Slanted Porch

The Slanted Porch
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Fallon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slow Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food here was very good, but the restaurant was quite busy and there was only one woman working the counter which caused us to wait quite a while in line.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ireasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb Nevada small town restaurant!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great little gem in Fallon, NV. I have had their food before at a catered event, and it was just fantastic. They are very big on using local ingredients, and supporting other local business. Their food combinations are terrifc and very creative. I recently returned to have a drink with my husband, and we watched entree after entree come out of the kitchen, and they all looked fabulous. Our meal was just as terrific. Great staff too - friendly, fun and seem to enjoy each other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenoTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great locals place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have has many good meals here. Can be a bit crowded at lunch. Specialties at lunch are a variety of really good sandwiches. Has bar service available. People come here to relax, have good food, and see friends. Dinners have been good except for one night I got a tough steak. Since then I heard they changed beef suppliers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nvpete01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, Nj
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Time!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I arrived during Happy Hour on a VERY hot day and sat at the bar. We were greeted by some of the nicest employees we've come across. Good beers at great prices and a salad with a delicious, homemade blue cheese dressing made for a nice way to 'chill out'. The people we met at the bar were so very nice to talk with, too. By the time we left, the dining room was practically full, and it was early. It seemed to be quite popular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nono52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Small town Nevada has not been where I have expected to find source-conscious or healthy, well-prepared food in a bistro environment with excellent service, but the Slanted Porch offers it all. Host to a Farmers' Market in its parking lot, the Slanted Porch offers on its menu what they can in the way of locally grown produce, so I opted for the spinach salad with locally grown spinach. It was wonderful! The basalmic vinegrette was perfectly seasoned and the waitress gladly made adjustments to my order to meet my lactose and pork free diet. The salad was a generous enough portion to serve me well as lunch and priced under $10. Some reviewers have complained about the prices and portions. We are retirees who travel frugally, but we value good quality, locally sourced foods when available and have regretfully observed that Americans are used to paying less for food and more for medical bills than the rest of the developed nations. That out in the open, we prize hidden treasures like the Slanted Porch (found through a search for "healthy food in Fallon NV") and recommend it whether your desire is a healthier menu or a tastier one. It's moderately priced and worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaigirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slanted Porch also viewed

 

Been to The Slanted Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing